Boxer

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 292

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonB.
    Jun 23, 2008
    10
    Yes, I like this album even more than Radiohead's Rainbows. Best album of the year.
  2. KyleM
    May 23, 2007
    9
    album of the year so far, easily
  3. tanner
    Jun 12, 2007
    10
    very thoughtful setlist and great all-around show. I'll stump shamelessly for The National any day.
  4. TristramC
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    These guys are in Minneapolis tonight. I came on to get tickets. It sold out. It sold out because as good as Alligator was Boxer blows it away. I was just foolish enough to believe these guys were still my little secret. Only better cd i've heard from this year is Copia by Eluvium. Quietly, one of the best tracks of 2005 was '...Soho Riots' off Alligator. Elsewhere on that These guys are in Minneapolis tonight. I came on to get tickets. It sold out. It sold out because as good as Alligator was Boxer blows it away. I was just foolish enough to believe these guys were still my little secret. Only better cd i've heard from this year is Copia by Eluvium. Quietly, one of the best tracks of 2005 was '...Soho Riots' off Alligator. Elsewhere on that album that moment wasn't even touched. On Boxer they are everywhere. The National are compared with Interpol quite a bit and I can hear it but imagine if in place of Interpols angular rigidity there was Leonard Cohen's fluidity & lushness. Yeah. Its great. Expand
  5. WookieC
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    It seemed that after Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers and Alligator they couldn't get any better. They could.
  6. Jul 3, 2011
    9
    just amazing. best album of them.
  7. XooX
    May 22, 2007
    0
    This band, and album, sucks.
  8. CalvinD.
    Jun 4, 2008
    3
    no bad songs on this one, but in a whole, it's just very boring. some people may refer to this as "cohesive"...every song's structure is the same, and since they're alway building up on one single line, it's time to hit the forward button after 2.5 minutes into each song. mistaken for strangers is a good example of how good a song can start and how boring it can no bad songs on this one, but in a whole, it's just very boring. some people may refer to this as "cohesive"...every song's structure is the same, and since they're alway building up on one single line, it's time to hit the forward button after 2.5 minutes into each song. mistaken for strangers is a good example of how good a song can start and how boring it can become. the drumming is to loud the whole record through too. Expand
  9. ShaunB
    Jun 12, 2007
    5
    Some decent songs here and there but none of them are really great, not memorable. I still don't know how this has an 85 on metacritic, considering there's been better albums that have come out in 07 that deserve that kind of grade (Of Montreal, Feist, Field Music, Andrew Bird, to name a few).
  10. AlekseyI
    Jun 6, 2007
    10
    Simply the best
  11. SamG
    Apr 29, 2007
    9
    brilliant
  12. feriatus
    May 23, 2007
    10
    Riveting.
  13. AndyW
    May 4, 2007
    9
    I wasn't too keen on first listen, but after a while the songs just get to. "Mistaken For Strangers", "Slow Show", "Guest Room", and plenty of other strong tracks. Possibly, one of my top 5 favorite albums of this year
  14. ArthurD
    Jun 1, 2007
    8
    A pretty sound effort but not a patch on "Boxer". The new songs are a lot better played live which makes me think the production was maybe a bit tame. "Mistaken For Strangers" is easily the best of the bunch, but it's not anywhere near the standard of "Mr November" or "All the Wine" from their last CD. As for the muppets who have "reviewed" the album without even listening to it, do A pretty sound effort but not a patch on "Boxer". The new songs are a lot better played live which makes me think the production was maybe a bit tame. "Mistaken For Strangers" is easily the best of the bunch, but it's not anywhere near the standard of "Mr November" or "All the Wine" from their last CD. As for the muppets who have "reviewed" the album without even listening to it, do us a favour and sod off over to Amazon. Expand
  15. LS
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Superb Album. A bit calmer than Alligator, with the tracks more like the calmer Daughters of the Soho riots etc. An absolute must.
  16. jessem
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    These guys are amazing...It's taken me months to get into every one of their albums, but the payoff is staggering. With this album, they've even begun to self-reference their own work, creating this mythology that's incredibly engaging and powerful.
  17. GuyH
    Jun 8, 2007
    10
    This album is simply superb. 'Alligator' was good but this sounds like a perfectly formed album. By far the best album I have heard this year - The National should now be considered as members of that elite group of truly special bands.
  18. PhilipB.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Excellent album. Get's better with each listen and hasn't gotten old yet.
  19. Dan
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    I just got this album, and it has literally blew me away - right from the first listen. Outstanding!
  20. JaddyP
    Aug 3, 2007
    9
    The strangest thing about this album is that there is nothing remarkable about it but somehow it is a very remarkable album. The individual parts are all nothing spacial. The drum are OK and the guitar work works well but it isn't outstanding. The vocal are nothing special. However the sum of all this is a music that is well structure and grows and grows and grows. Pleasant surprises The strangest thing about this album is that there is nothing remarkable about it but somehow it is a very remarkable album. The individual parts are all nothing spacial. The drum are OK and the guitar work works well but it isn't outstanding. The vocal are nothing special. However the sum of all this is a music that is well structure and grows and grows and grows. Pleasant surprises all round. I highly recommend this!s Expand
  21. Elli
    Oct 9, 2007
    8
    I had such high expectations for this album. This is a good album but nowhere as magnificent as its predecessor, "Alligator." This album takes a while to appreciate and it has a slower pace than "Alligator." My favorite songs are "Fake Empire" and "Slow Show."
  22. BrissaR
    Oct 9, 2007
    7
    Alligator was more upbeat and there was a greater variety of songs/tempos. Boxer is more contemplated and the songs drift into each other, i.e., it's more monotonous. If you are a fan of the National than you should buy Boxer but don't get your hopes up too high.
  23. javierm
    May 14, 2007
    9
    gana con cada escucha, es cierto como dice aqui abajo el compañero. Estamos ante un album que contiene el gran himno del indie de este siglo: Apartment Story. La pegada de la bateria es brutal! Alligator es su obra maestra y esta su gema.
  24. PerG
    May 22, 2007
    10
    A grower for sure. Keep listening to this album and you'll keep it close for life.
  25. AdamB
    May 22, 2007
    9
    Not quite as good as Alligator, but still amazing. One of the best of the year for sure.
  26. GillG
    May 23, 2007
    6
    Nothing great, but some decent tracks to to check out. The lead singer has a very strong, confident voice but other than that there's nothing that really blows me away, it's just alright. I recommend other better NY bands like Interpol and TV on the Radio who are amazing. Anyway, a 6 from me.
  27. PraC
    May 24, 2007
    10
    This album has set the bar for all releases in 2007. Not only is it the best album of this year, it's one of the best this decade. A brilliant work from one of the best and undoubtedly the most underrated band in the world.
  28. MusicMaven
    May 24, 2007
    9
    They've bulit on the progress of their excellent previous album 'Alligator' to the point where every song is a multi-layered gem. Most are mid-tempo numbers that aren't quite rockers or ballads, driven by inventive drum patterns and framed with expressive guitars. These provide a sympathetic backing for Matt Berninger's deep, evocative lyrics. The album grows They've bulit on the progress of their excellent previous album 'Alligator' to the point where every song is a multi-layered gem. Most are mid-tempo numbers that aren't quite rockers or ballads, driven by inventive drum patterns and framed with expressive guitars. These provide a sympathetic backing for Matt Berninger's deep, evocative lyrics. The album grows stronger with each listen, and is surely one of the finest of 2007. Expand
  29. Mark
    May 27, 2007
    8
    Good album...
  30. nathalie
    May 29, 2007
    10
    this is the most beautiful album i have heard all year.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. The National hews too closely to established formula on "Boxer," content to revisit previously explored territory without expanding its sound.
  2. Here, most gestures remain a bit too consciously panoramic—elegant enough for comfort but often not chancy enough to be breathtaking.
  3. A patchy, flawed effort.