brand new eyes

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 218

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Paramore hit the scene five years ago. Two years later, they became the new darlings of punk. This year, they've risen to new heights. Brand New Eyes is exactly what a punk album should be: uncompromising, powerful, soulful, and inspired.
  2. HarrisonT
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    This is the best album I've ever heard.
  3. DemitriW
    Sep 30, 2009
    7
    Solid improvement from Riot! in my opinion.. Though i thought the guitar held back the rest of the bands ambitions which i felt through Haley's harsher singing and the wild energetic drumming ( I'd comment on the bassist if i heard him more often). Not the best album this year but definitely worth a listen. There'll be a song you'll like on there somewhere.
  4. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    The greatest Paramore album so far. It puts all of the great things from Riot! together and make them a lot better. The Only Exception and All I Wanted are the two beautiful slow pieces that have been well written. Ignore the immature reviews below that give the score 0 because this is an album anyone should truly be proud of when owning it. It has made a drastic improvement from Riot! andThe greatest Paramore album so far. It puts all of the great things from Riot! together and make them a lot better. The Only Exception and All I Wanted are the two beautiful slow pieces that have been well written. Ignore the immature reviews below that give the score 0 because this is an album anyone should truly be proud of when owning it. It has made a drastic improvement from Riot! and the songs make a lot more sense. A few may dislike their new style of music but for others it is pure perfection. Expand
  5. Mar 8, 2012
    9
    My favorite album of Paramore, is better than Riot!, and the songs are amazing, this is a great CD, is fantastic have much beautiful songs and the voice of Hailey is amazing. brand new eyes is a classic.
  6. HoganS.
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    Although the pace slows a bit toward the end, before the astounding Haylee Williams vocal on the closer "All I Wanted", this is some seriously awesome song writing from a future force to be reckoned with.
  7. BradM.
    Oct 4, 2009
    9
    Amazing, for a band so young. i want to hear more already. Misguided ghosts, all i wanted, the only exception are so well written.
  8. JoshuaM.
    Oct 5, 2009
    7
    Pretty good album on Paramore standards. To the die hard fans, they will love it. But to the normal listeners, this will sound like a screaming girl wondering why life sucks. But all and all, it's a good album.
  9. LeeJ.
    Oct 5, 2009
    9
    I absolutely think this is their best album to date. Yeah, their sound has in fact changed since we last heard from them, but there's a definite improvement in terms of maturity which I'm sure will appeal to a larger audience.
  10. MarvinM
    Nov 21, 2009
    9
    Genius.. Paramore brings their album into the hot peak.. More drama than Riot! and yet bring consecutive rock to your ears.. Their album define as Heavy Emotion.
  11. ChloeA
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    The album is so awesome. One of the best rock albums of 2009. Pure genius by an awesome band.
  12. Aliciar
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    They have really matured as artists some of the songs were abit slow compare to riot! but it is still an amazing album.
  13. DjoniM.
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    This album is totally fresh and charming. I think Paramore just did an awesome job with this.
  14. Nov 27, 2010
    9
    Brand New Eyes is Paramore's brand new direction. It's brilliant and gives off the best of the band. I love the song and the band's growth lyrically and musically.
  15. Apr 13, 2011
    9
    Awsome!Paramore is the best pop rock band of all time.Hailey Williams is one of the best singers of all time.All of there songs must be heard.Youll fall in love with their music.
  16. Jul 11, 2013
    10
    My favorite album at the moment! Great tracks! Some songs I found to be really emotional (The Only Exception, Misguided Ghosts) You can find a really great classic album in this someday I hope! Best tracks in my opinion: Careful, Ignorance, Brick By Boring Brick, The Only Exception
  17. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Brand New Eyes might not have ventured very far from the pop-punk sound established on the band's 2007 predecessor Riot! But that's not at all an excuse to critique a generally honest and uplifting album that manages to explore dark subjects in a positive way. From its headbanging yet thoughtful opener "Careful" to the highlight of the album and one of the band's most memorable hits,Brand New Eyes might not have ventured very far from the pop-punk sound established on the band's 2007 predecessor Riot! But that's not at all an excuse to critique a generally honest and uplifting album that manages to explore dark subjects in a positive way. From its headbanging yet thoughtful opener "Careful" to the highlight of the album and one of the band's most memorable hits, "Ignorance", to the top 40 tailored yet honest "The Only Exception" to its dramatic ending ballad "All I Wanted" which is strangely similar to that of Kelly Clarkson's Breakaway era, Brand New Eyes is a charming third studio effort that's charming and although it doesn't reach new ground, it's overall a success. Expand
  18. MarkD
    Sep 30, 2009
    10
    Just brilliant.
  19. BenjaminJ
    Nov 22, 2009
    10
    An abrupt, blunt, rough, sudden and overpowering surprise. Amazing and wonderful, they have transformed from their earlier artless simplicity to an attractive, attentive and active concentration of energy, strength and sharpness.
  20. EmanuelT.
    Oct 6, 2009
    6
    Simply.. it's not riot!... and it sounds much more softer and slower.. It stands doubtly on his own.. it could have been better.
  21. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    Brand New Eyes is a decent album, but it isn't as good as Riot!
  22. JhonM.
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    This album is so crap.
  23. Penelopec
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    This album sucks.
  24. JhonatanY
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    I don't understand why metacritic gives 77 points for this album its really crap amo kid pop garbage music, horrible album, save your money!
  25. KateS
    Oct 2, 2009
    0
    Just one word to say: GARBAGE!
  26. GabrielC
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    This album is so crap, i don't understand the score.
  27. ZacaríasY.
    Oct 3, 2009
    0
    This is better than AFI o Dinosaur Jr really Alternative press, really? Its pure garbage and crap music.
  28. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    Paramore is definitely my favorite band, but this album was my least favorite of theirs, and here is why. This album was a lot more pop sounding than their other stuff, and "The Only Exception" was a beautiful ballad. They lost some energy on this cd, and I'm not sure why. Most of the songs will make you think and feel emotions that are beyond anything else out there right now.
  29. Apr 6, 2013
    10
    con canciones espectaculares debido a ritmos excelentes y contagiosos paramore avanza un a un nuevo nivel de excelencia.
    este álbum le encantara a los fans y los que los escuchan por primera vez sera una gran oportunidad para que escuchen una de las mejores bandas de rock alternativo
  30. Nov 25, 2010
    9
    Brand New Eyes is a breakthrought album. Riot! wasn't good in comparison with this album. I can't wait to see Paramore in the tour but they won't came to my country.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. The anthemic, celebratory songs that made Riot! so appealing were largely absent, but the band found a new way to rock during those sessions, prizing catharsis and nuanced arrangements above the hooks of albums past.
  2. Although the new set may lack the wide-eyed naivete that made the group's past efforts so endearing, the newfound maturity makes for a compelling set of songs.
  3. Paramore is certainly a sharp enough unit that doesn’t lack for energy, and Brand New Eyes features enough interesting ideas to take notice. All it needs is to double the ones it has, and it’ll be a band that’s foolish to ignore.