Bring It Back

  • Record Label: Barsuk
  • Release Date: Mar 21, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Cables
    Mar 25, 2006
    9
    Their best work to date. It further develops the ideas that they started to express on last years All Day EP.
  2. FlinchBot
    Apr 26, 2006
    6
    Nice sound for the first 3 songs, then it starts getting tedious.
  3. Joel
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Wonderful album, the duo's best record to date. These songs are as catchy as they get. Its starts with one listen then you find your self repeating the album over and over. Great sing along album. Puts me in a great mood.
  4. AaronQ
    Apr 28, 2006
    8
    Still growing on me with every listen. Bigger, more instrumentation, but I miss the complexity and playfulness of the older albums. However, obviously more mature. I like it more and more with each listen.
  5. matta
    Apr 3, 2006
    8
    This is definitely their best album yet. Very reminiscent of The Rentals (their good stuff anyway).
  6. KevinR
    Apr 8, 2006
    7
    The duo sound better than ever together (they really sound as if they are singing to each other rather than to an audience), but they still have not quite put all of the pieces together.
  7. SamK!
    May 12, 2006
    10
    love it. Ive allways loved them. I get a little annoyed with "Like you Crazy" but, man. haha such a good album!
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. By the time the final tracks roll around and Gardner and Hammel still haven't changed their sound much, their lovey-dovey frivolity gets old.
  2. The duo... have actually improved, and the album sports stronger songs, a fuller sound, more emotional weight, and an exuberant soul that spills out of the speakers like milk and cake at a kid's birthday party.
  3. Filter
    70
    Compared to the relative intensity of its opening numbers, precious few other moments on BIB escape the intertia of your average campfire bray-along, which is too bad since the sexy new studio sheen validates the Mates' many virtues. [#19, p.90]