Build A Nation - Bad Brains
Build A Nation Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Beastie Boys' Adam Yauch produced this first release in a dozen years for the original lineup of the lengendary hardcore punk outfit.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 88
    No, this is the real shit--classic lightning riffage, hearkening dub rhythms, and a perfectly insane H.R. and Co. following the great spirit to hardcore heaven
  2. Bad Brains' most cohesive effort since the 1986 watershed I Against I. [29 Jun 2007, p.136]
  3. It doesn't stray too far from their original template but it is focused and involving.
  4. A welcome return from a band that still doesn't sound quite like anybody else. [30 Jun 2007]
  5. It's surprisingly decent. [Jul 2007, p.174]
  6. What torpedoes Build a Nation is the heavy cream of reverb and echo that drowns the vocals.
  7. Ultimately, however, listening to a Bad Brains record is a disjointed experience. Those expecting a 30-minute blast of frenetic punk may be put off by the occasional reggae, while those hoping for a mellow, positive reggae album may be startled by the ferocity of the band’s punk tracks.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. HermannW.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    the best record since 5 years and the best Bad Brains record since i against i. I hope they will tour Europe . i will always love the Brains for their PMA. Collapse
  2. OttoM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    I love, i love my Jah
  3. EricP
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Strong album from begining to end. Reaggae tracks stand strong. I don't want to comment more. It's Bad Brains, powerfull hardcore pionners, no match. You know em ?! Expand
  4. JeanR.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    The're back with an amazing album!!!
  5. AndrewJ
    Sep 16, 2007
    8
    Very good. I particularly like the low-fi production quality. It's a really nice contrast to today's millisecond-timed, glossy, overproduced digital products. Expand
  6. RobertR.
    Aug 2, 2007
    6
    The 9s and 10s are too high. The reggae tracks are the best parts of the album and the punk parts are lacking. No one likes to blame age for a classic bands latest shortcomings but on tracks such as Universal Peace and Let there be angels, HR's vocals are in another octave from what wants from the songs. In regards to one wants from those songs, I reference some of their biggest hits, such as Banned in DC and Sailin' On where he explodes fast and furiously. For me, it was the balance of mellow reggae and fast visceral punk experience that made Bad Brains great. With the somewhat lacking latter, this album is just good, not great and certainly not worth a 10. Expand