User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 72
  2. Negative: 1 out of 72
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2018
    10
    Put simply, this album is one of the best rap albums of the 2010s, El-P on here is in peak form as a rapper and producer, his collaborators are potent and used to the best of their abilities and there is not a bad track on this. If you want some highlight tracks, definitely check out Request Denied, The Full Retard, The Jig Is Up, For My Upstairs Neighbor, Tougher Colder & $Vic/FTL (Me andPut simply, this album is one of the best rap albums of the 2010s, El-P on here is in peak form as a rapper and producer, his collaborators are potent and used to the best of their abilities and there is not a bad track on this. If you want some highlight tracks, definitely check out Request Denied, The Full Retard, The Jig Is Up, For My Upstairs Neighbor, Tougher Colder & $Vic/FTL (Me and You). I know thats about half the album, but seriously these tracks and the others contribute to a phenomenal album by a phenomenal artist. Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2016
    10
    El-P has brought many things to hip hop, a unique sound with futuristic and fantasy themes and aggressive rhyme patterns. As a big fan of El-P this here is another incredible album by him. The guests on here flow nicely with the production. El-P as an artist has done it again by creating an album worth listening to again and again.
  3. Aug 27, 2015
    8
    Man. El-P kills the production here. He is so talented musically and as a rapper, discussing god, war, death, and even The Jig is Up which compares interrogation to BDSM.
  4. Apr 21, 2015
    9
    Damn this album is good. I'll say it again; DAMN!!! Great flow, catchy hooks, head-bangin' beats and ruthlessly competent production place El-P firmly on the map. One of the fresher sounds of modern hip hop. El-P embodies the evolution of rap.
  5. Dec 9, 2012
    7
    What impressed me about him is.. he
  6. Dec 8, 2012
    8
    After listening "R.A.P. Music", in this 2012 came another great product from the manufacturer of Brooklyn. El-P is one of the best in his field, Cancer4Cure is innovative, beautiful and brilliant. Congratulations!
  7. Jun 5, 2012
    9
    This is a brilliant album for fans of rap/hip-hop/ and even just beats and great production. It took a few days for me to warm to the album, and it unravels to me in individual tracks until, now, I love the entire album. El-p's rapping is aggressive and very enjoyable, and is perfectly juxtaposed with his often dirty and raw beats. Lyrical content is often political and angry, and isThis is a brilliant album for fans of rap/hip-hop/ and even just beats and great production. It took a few days for me to warm to the album, and it unravels to me in individual tracks until, now, I love the entire album. El-p's rapping is aggressive and very enjoyable, and is perfectly juxtaposed with his often dirty and raw beats. Lyrical content is often political and angry, and is the perfect remedy for these hypocritical and challenging modern times. Expand
  8. May 23, 2012
    10
    It's pretty hard for me to justify giving a hip hop album a 10, but this is the best release of 2012 thus far, and from a hip hop perspective, is mind blowing. Not only is El-P at the top of his game lyrically and conceptually, but all of the guest stars bring positive contributions. Even Danny Brown's slacker rap style has it's place in Oh Hail No. Paul Bank's appearance in works everyIt's pretty hard for me to justify giving a hip hop album a 10, but this is the best release of 2012 thus far, and from a hip hop perspective, is mind blowing. Not only is El-P at the top of his game lyrically and conceptually, but all of the guest stars bring positive contributions. Even Danny Brown's slacker rap style has it's place in Oh Hail No. Paul Bank's appearance in works every time is a bit too understated. Overall, a great rap album which requires multiple listens to appreciate. Expand
  9. May 22, 2012
    9
    Even though I am indifferent when new hip hop albums come out, I decided to give this one a listen.... and it is really impressive. I've heard plenty of great things about El-P from my dad over the years, but I never actually listened to what he can do. I thought that this album was a great accomplishment (hip hop wise anyway), and I look forward to listening to some of his older stuff!Even though I am indifferent when new hip hop albums come out, I decided to give this one a listen.... and it is really impressive. I've heard plenty of great things about El-P from my dad over the years, but I never actually listened to what he can do. I thought that this album was a great accomplishment (hip hop wise anyway), and I look forward to listening to some of his older stuff! Check it out. Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Q Magazine
    Oct 12, 2012
    80
    He's equally skilled as a stream-of-consciousness philosopher or gripping storyteller. [Jul 2012, p.98]
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    90
    Cancer4Cure is very much a window shattering Brooklyn rap record in every sense... [Meline is] busting loose some of the sharpest darts of his life.
  3. The Wire
    Jul 24, 2012
    70
    The energy is impressive and it's hard to find technical fault but the stagnation is undeniable. [May 2012, p.73]