Cannibal - Ke$ha
  • Band Name: Ke$ha
  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 136 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 136
  2. Negative: 31 out of 136

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    I can't believe people are trying to say Kesha is who she is. She is so desperate for attention and has absolutely nothing to back it up. No creativity, no vocal skills and borderline offensive lyrics in her crappy over auto tuned music.
  2. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    Proof that just because it's on the radio or teenagers are buying it, doesn't mean it's good. She's proof that all you need is a producer and mindless people with money to spend. This album is no exception. Rhyming "sleazy" with "easy" and other lazy songwriting, along with her computer generated voice leads to you wonder how she got a record deal in the first place. She represents the worst of pop music. Avoid this sludge. Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    Wow ! Another scrap from Kesha. It's so nice to know that really good artists don't get money because the majority of the people listen to bad music. Kesha sucks
  4. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    To think "We R Who We R" is Ke$ha's version of a FTW message lets you know the quality of the EP. Another garage album for a garbage pop artist with materialism presented in a materialistic manner and no real thought put into this whatsoever.
  5. Nov 26, 2010
    3
    Ke$ha is an absolute idiot, with no intellect. At least with her last release we got some embarrassingly catchy songs that are tolerable at a club filled with people equally as stupid as Ke$ha. I'm sorry, but when you're saying "I am Cannibal" -- something is wrong. A lot of people also find this release to be very offensive in content; unapologetic. That would be fine if she was intelligent and her lyrics didn't suck. The point is, fellow haters -- she WILL NOT last. 50 Cent and Soulja Boy did the same thing! They got famous off one single, and their careers fell off from there because they are stupid, and weren't made for the business. Ke$ha is the same case. Enjoy your fame while it lasts, Ke$ha! Cannibal is the catalyst of your plunge into perpetual darkness. Collapse
  6. Nov 23, 2010
    0
    This is worse than Animal, and Animal was really really really really BAD. When will her 15 mins be up? Her songs always make me cringe when they come on the radio.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    2
    intellectual? Ground Breaking? Hardly. Her stupid spoiled slut routine is amusing for a moment, but the music, or electric noise or whatever those beats are supposed to sound like are garbage. her "rhymes" are even worse, usually they dont even rhyme and rarely make sense. There is no talent, effort, or heart in any of these songs
  8. Nov 25, 2010
    1
    Please, America, please knock some sense into yourselves. What happened to good lyrics? Natural vocals? This is not Kesha. This is a computer singing her terrible lyrics. She - as well as other generic pop stars - seem to be trying their best to imitate the only decent pop singer today: Lady Gaga. Kesha is innovative, I'll give you that - she's shown us all that you don't need talent to make it big these days: you just need nice voice editing software and you're good to go. Expand
  9. May 26, 2011
    2
    Tripe. Complete and utter tripe.
  10. Nov 30, 2010
    2
    Embarrassing and disappointing. Animal was a guilty pleasure, admittedly not a very good one. Even Ke$ha fans will question their loyalty after hearing this follow-up. It's not very catchy, it's somewhat offensive, and it simply sounds bad. The offensiveness of the album stem from Ke$ha's undeserving ego and her constant contradictions.
  11. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    Thanks to Dr. Luke, any talentless white trash skank can now become a "singer." These are sad days for pop music and music in general. For this to be called "music" and "singing" is blasphemy!
  12. Nov 30, 2010
    0
    Too bad that the film "Idiocracy" was made prior to this album's release. The audio-visual combination would have been glorious. I could even see Ke$ha herself playing the Chairman of the National Endowment for the Arts in it. Ah well, maybe a sequel will happen one day. This is the musical equivalent of McDonald's ... after it's been digested and expelled.
  13. Feb 27, 2011
    2
    First of all, Ke$ha should be very thankful for auto-tune, because she would have no career (if that's even what you should call it) with out it. If the song isn't just showing off how conceited she is, it's saying something about a DJ, glitter, and getting wasted. With the same effects making her voice sound like a robot, and practically identical lyrics, most of her songs aren't even that easy to tell apart. I think Miss Ke$ha is on her 14th minute of fame. Expand
  14. Feb 4, 2011
    2
    Overall, Ke$ha's "Cannibal" EP is just another reborn "Animal". Lyrics are trashy, songs ARE catchy, and overuse of Auto-Tune... again. Credit to the catchy songs, but overall, Ke$ha just proves yet again that she has no vocal talent, but her ballets are standout tracks.
  15. Cob
    Feb 18, 2011
    3
    Are people still talking about this person? Is she not washed away into obscurity yet? I thought that was the thing with pop artists, they have one decent, or in this case, terrible single and then everyone forgets them. It's surprises the crap out of me when people actually like this trashy excuse of an artist. The singing is terrible, it's heavily auto-tuned, the lyrics are lazy and I don't give a damn about them. Not to mention atrocious spelling in song titles, like "We R Who We R". Yeah I know it's meant to be that way, but honestly, to me, it just looks bad, and put's more emphasis on the fact that she's as dumb as a brick, which people say is all just a stage thing, like it's a character that she made, and it's supposed to be a sort of satire. I'm sorry but if it's satire, shouldn't the songs actually contain a sort of satire? It seems to me like it's a sad excuse for **** pop music. But anyways I digress. I suppose the only thing anyone can really say about it, is that it's catchy. Well, that's all well and good, but "catchy" doesn't exactly have alot of staying power in pop music. Some pop stars need to take their 15 minutes of fame and then bow out gracefully. Expand
  16. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Sorry if I offend anybody, but if you enjoy Kesha and volentarily listen to her, then you don't know what music is. Because this woman sings like she's dying and auto-tune can't even save her. Remember back when pop wasn't all bad, when we had Madonna and Britney Spears' old songs? I'm not saying Madonna and Britney Spears are great singers, but not all of their songs are bad songs. Kesha? everything she puts out on the radio is horrid. So avoid her if you enjoy music at all. P.S., I didnt put a dollar sign in her name because she's worth less than a dollar. Expand
  17. Dec 11, 2011
    4
    After her awful debut she decided to record an EP that was equally as bad. Exactly the same story - the two singles are good but the other 8 tracks are filler and all sound the same. C U next Tuseday borders on been good but that's about it. If you like ke$ha then just buy the singles and be done with - don't waste time and money buying this crap.
  18. Mar 28, 2013
    4
    Unlike her previous album, even autotune can't save Ke$ha this time. "Blow," "The Harold Song" and "We R Who We R" were good songs, but the rest of the album was not the best.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Sure, Max Martin's hooks, and especially Dr. Luke's neon-colored throb push these tunes into your head--they're in top form, aided by the tight focus of an eight-track EP, Cannibal's brevity trumping the scattershot Animal--but what makes them stick is Kesha, a pop star lacking pop star looks and a pop star voice.
  3. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.