• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 22, 2010
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 150

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    9
    Track By Track- Cannibal- so fresh and stuff, so electronically cool, album highlight, We R Who We R- Cool. absolutely amazing, i really like it, Sleazy- she shows off her rapping skills in this weirdo electro-hop track, Blow- repetitive and cool, super nice and i'm officially in love with it, The Harold Song- her best ballad ever, it is very sentimental and nice, Crazy Beautiful Life-Track By Track- Cannibal- so fresh and stuff, so electronically cool, album highlight, We R Who We R- Cool. absolutely amazing, i really like it, Sleazy- she shows off her rapping skills in this weirdo electro-hop track, Blow- repetitive and cool, super nice and i'm officially in love with it, The Harold Song- her best ballad ever, it is very sentimental and nice, Crazy Beautiful Life- nice and short quality pop music, i like it, Grow a Pear- naughty but nice dance-pop track that is pretty amazing, C U Next Tuesday- i absolutely love it! Album Highlight, Animal- this remix maybe unnecessary but it is awesome, cute ballad, dancey sort of song. Best Tracks- Cannibal, C U Next Tuesday, We R Who We R, Crazy Beautiful Life Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2010
    6
    True to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as theTrue to her last album, Ke$ha continues to produce anthemic party themed songs with a tendency to represent for all the independent women who want to get their drink on and pimp the guys who are eyeing them from the end of the bar. The album guarantees to produce a couple mainstream singles good for dancing at a party and contains politically incorrect lyrics to save her reputation as the 'say what I want bad-girl of the party". If your looking for a song to bump while pregaming with your girls, look no further... Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2010
    6
    I loved "Animal" album, although, as I mentioned on its critic, it's guilty pleasure, but, I don't know... As I said, don't try too hard in finding clever in this. Still, there are some good songs in it. "Canibal" is the best. Funny song, and it should be a club banger soon. But, the other songs are just average. The next single should be "Blow" though, good song on the radio.
  4. Jan 3, 2011
    8
    Ke$ha, again "Blows" our minds away with a collection of 9 new songs, however, some songs aren't as solid as anticipated, however, a majority of the whole album is addictive! The thing about the dear album Cannibal, is that it gurantees not one boring song, something that most pop artists offer in their nowadays albums, however some songs, again, aren't solid. Though the auto-tuned voiceKe$ha, again "Blows" our minds away with a collection of 9 new songs, however, some songs aren't as solid as anticipated, however, a majority of the whole album is addictive! The thing about the dear album Cannibal, is that it gurantees not one boring song, something that most pop artists offer in their nowadays albums, however some songs, again, aren't solid. Though the auto-tuned voice in many of her songs never get old, it sounds like she's evolved from Animal into a brand new voice range, for example clearly auto-tuned "Your Love Is My Drug" vs all natural "Sleazy". However, many of the songs are too repetitive. Example: Sleazy. After hearing "IMMA GET SLEAZY" for just about 50 times, it gets a bit old, however it is still a jolly-good time to listen to it! I do recommend this record, however, not for all ages. Grow A Pear is very... sensual. Hahaha. You'll have to listen to the album yourself.
    Tracks you HAVE TO LISTEN TO: Crazy Beautiful Life, We R Who We R, The Harold Song, and Grow A Pear.
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    8
    Ok, so Ke$ha is like a guilty pleasure. Strictly speaking about the album, I love it. The tracks make me laugh, smile, and want to move. What's better than that? "Cannibal", "Blow" and "Sleazy" are great tracks to party to, along with her first single "We R Who We R"; to name a few. "Grow A Pair" makes me laugh and is not that bad as well.
  6. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    When budding Kesha Sebert first arrived on the scene back in late 2009, she was perceived as an autotuned drunk who brushes her teeth with a whiskey bottle. Continuing on to early 2010, when she released her debut album, Animal, Kesha continued to discuss the likes of drinking, partying, and even associating everyday things with drinking (ex: Hungover). Now continuing on the footsteps ofWhen budding Kesha Sebert first arrived on the scene back in late 2009, she was perceived as an autotuned drunk who brushes her teeth with a whiskey bottle. Continuing on to early 2010, when she released her debut album, Animal, Kesha continued to discuss the likes of drinking, partying, and even associating everyday things with drinking (ex: Hungover). Now continuing on the footsteps of Animal, Cannibal, keeps the electropop going with more variety and flavor. With "Grow A Pear" (which sounds like something out of an old Nintendo game), is filled with vulgarity and infatuation with a boy who has a more feminine side than most boys. Likeable, yet laughable lyrics (...and no, I don't want to see your mangina). "Grow A Pear" is for the ones who like a couple of laughs. Continuing with the trend of self-empowerment songs, "We R Who We R" continues in the footsteps of Katy Perry and Lady Gaga with lyrics discussing being who you want to be. Though catchy towards the younger crowd, the older crowd would not be pleased with this song, considering the repetitious syllables (DJ turn it up up up up...) which even for teens can get annoying for a while (was that really necessary Kesha?) Though the songs are catchy, Cannibal is not worthy of becoming a Grammy winning album. This album is more humorous than serious and at times the autotune and synths get a little annoying after a while. But for the most part, Kesha continues to be a front runner in nightclubs and is popular among the dance crowd as well as teenage America. Expand
  7. May 31, 2011
    7
    Though you'll feel your IQ drop with every song you hear (from its poor grammar to its poorly named tracks like "C U Next Tuesday"), Cannibal is a handsomely produced and fun-filled album, packed with unapologetically blunt lyrics and glossy dance beats. Though its still heavily flooded with Auto Tune, there is actually some significant proof here that Ke$ha, is in fact, artist material.Though you'll feel your IQ drop with every song you hear (from its poor grammar to its poorly named tracks like "C U Next Tuesday"), Cannibal is a handsomely produced and fun-filled album, packed with unapologetically blunt lyrics and glossy dance beats. Though its still heavily flooded with Auto Tune, there is actually some significant proof here that Ke$ha, is in fact, artist material. Its standout track is "The Harold Song", a power ballad that is shockingly deep and proves that Ke$ha can settle down from her feisty persona here and there. However, its weakest tracks are "Crazy Beautiful Life", a decent, but disappointingly dull dance track, and "Grow A Pear", which could feel at home on Katy Perry's debut album. Expand
  8. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    Listening to dollar-sign-girl is pure dance pop addiction. In her latest EP and major release, the drunk gal proved to be a rising dance artist with creatively nasty lyrics and poppy production excess that make sense. Though her heart is in the clubs, her music is all the more enjoyable and (rare in the pop music landscape, believe it or not) in focus.
  9. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    I'm going to guess that the majority of people giving this EP zeros have never actually listened to the it save for its two singles. The fact of the matter is that Ke$ha's Cannibal is far superior to her debut, Animal. It's much more well-written and songs like "The Harold Song" and even "We R Who We R" delve past her ditzy partygirl faux persona. We R Who We R was written as a response toI'm going to guess that the majority of people giving this EP zeros have never actually listened to the it save for its two singles. The fact of the matter is that Ke$ha's Cannibal is far superior to her debut, Animal. It's much more well-written and songs like "The Harold Song" and even "We R Who We R" delve past her ditzy partygirl faux persona. We R Who We R was written as a response to the gay teen suicides and, unlike Lady Gaga's "Born This Way", it doesn't seem like a forced gay anthem. Ke$ha does absolutely have vocal talent, it's just not frequently showcased, but hints of her abilities can be heard on The Harold Song. Many criticize her use of AutoTune, but let's face it, this is a party record and heavily processed vocals just sound better on the dancefloor. Expand
  10. Aug 10, 2014
    7
    The Cannibal EP acts as a refinement rather than a successor to Ke-dollar sign-ha's 2010 debut Animal. Disappointingly, her overuse of Auto-Tune and vocoders are one of the common criticisms as well as its Animal-mimicking top 40 tunes -- "We R Who We R" could surpass as a gay pride remix of "TiK ToK". But producer Dr. Luke and accompanying producers such as Ammo, Benny Blanco, and MaxThe Cannibal EP acts as a refinement rather than a successor to Ke-dollar sign-ha's 2010 debut Animal. Disappointingly, her overuse of Auto-Tune and vocoders are one of the common criticisms as well as its Animal-mimicking top 40 tunes -- "We R Who We R" could surpass as a gay pride remix of "TiK ToK". But producer Dr. Luke and accompanying producers such as Ammo, Benny Blanco, and Max Martin help the '10s' most polarizing pop star serve her "animals" even more of her sassy rhymes ("I don't mean to critique on your seduction technique/But your money's not impressing me, it's kinda weak") and electronic whirlwind of backstabbing boyfriends via catchy earworm hooks ("When you grow a pear, you can call me back").

    The highlights of the EP are actually her most exploratory: "The Harold Song" has a heartwrenching that could make metalheads wave their lighters and "C U Next Tuesday" turns the concept of falling in love with a friend-with-benefits into a catchy '80s vintage synthpop tune. Kesha has grown up a lot since her 'drink-until-you-love-yourself' days, attending rehab in early 2014 for an eating disorder, so maybe she'll dump Dr. Luke for a producer that has an interest in who Kesha Sebert truly is beneath all the electronic gloss. If you haven't checked out her cover of Dolly Parton's "Old Flames Can't Hold a Candle to You", which her mother co-wrote, she's actually a very, very beautiful singer. Let's take her out of guilty pleasure territory and show more of that raw talent.
    Expand
  11. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    It is a shame that "Cannibal" was an EP, because it had lots of potential. The best songs are "Cannibal", "The Harold Song", and "C U Next Tuesday".
  12. Dec 16, 2014
    9
    One of the best EPs I've ever heard, was worth an entire album, all his songs can be good and you do not get tired of hearing it
    Highlights: Sleazy and The Harold Song
    Lows: CU Next Tuesday and Crazy Beautiful Life
  13. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Ke$ha really did an aazing job on her EP. I myself am a huge fan and this was a very inticipated album for me. Ke$ha's intoxicating synths, and funky lyrics really have you dancing. She also has a softer side. "The Harold Song" is about how she misses someone who was sopecial in her ife. Overall, a really really really awesome album!
  14. Nov 30, 2010
    8
    Even If "C U Next Tuesday" was already released before "Cannibal" she still knows how to deliver strong records like "We R Who We R" which is my favorite track on that album, "Sleazy" where she gives a rapping style dance vibe, "Grow A Pear" which delivers humor and a nice dance beat, "and "Blow" which has already broke into the billboard charts is a must-hear! All in all a great albumEven If "C U Next Tuesday" was already released before "Cannibal" she still knows how to deliver strong records like "We R Who We R" which is my favorite track on that album, "Sleazy" where she gives a rapping style dance vibe, "Grow A Pear" which delivers humor and a nice dance beat, "and "Blow" which has already broke into the billboard charts is a must-hear! All in all a great album released by Ke$ha. Expand
  15. Nov 25, 2010
    7
    Ke$ha's annoying & repulsive, but sweet personality & style of songwriting has led her to make an actually decent, average pop album. Her last album "Animal", was immature & obnoxious, with about two strong points. And, the fact that that was a debut album gives no excuse for such immaturity, considering the fact that this new album "Cannibal" is out less than a year later, & in the sameKe$ha's annoying & repulsive, but sweet personality & style of songwriting has led her to make an actually decent, average pop album. Her last album "Animal", was immature & obnoxious, with about two strong points. And, the fact that that was a debut album gives no excuse for such immaturity, considering the fact that this new album "Cannibal" is out less than a year later, & in the same year. As usual for the hyper valley girl, the ballads (The Harold Song, Animal) are the strongest points. "We R Who We R" is also another strong point with unique lyrics & a catchy hook. I will never be able to get by someone with a dollar sign in their name, but Ke$ha has actually made a decent album. Props! Expand
  16. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    To think "We R Who We R" is Ke$ha's version of a FTW message lets you know the quality of the EP. Another garage album for a garbage pop artist with materialism presented in a materialistic manner and no real thought put into this whatsoever.
  17. Nov 22, 2010
    2
    Proof that just because it's on the radio or teenagers are buying it, doesn't mean it's good. She's proof that all you need is a producer and mindless people with money to spend. This album is no exception. Rhyming "sleazy" with "easy" and other lazy songwriting, along with her computer generated voice leads to you wonder how she got a record deal in the first place. She represents theProof that just because it's on the radio or teenagers are buying it, doesn't mean it's good. She's proof that all you need is a producer and mindless people with money to spend. This album is no exception. Rhyming "sleazy" with "easy" and other lazy songwriting, along with her computer generated voice leads to you wonder how she got a record deal in the first place. She represents the worst of pop music. Avoid this sludge. Collapse
  18. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    Wow ! Another scrap from Kesha. It's so nice to know that really good artists don't get money because the majority of the people listen to bad music. Kesha sucks
  19. Nov 22, 2010
    0
    I can't believe people are trying to say Kesha is who she is. She is so desperate for attention and has absolutely nothing to back it up. No creativity, no vocal skills and borderline offensive lyrics in her crappy over auto tuned music.
  20. Nov 26, 2010
    3
    Ke$ha is an absolute idiot, with no intellect. At least with her last release we got some embarrassingly catchy songs that are tolerable at a club filled with people equally as stupid as Ke$ha. I'm sorry, but when you're saying "I am Cannibal" -- something is wrong. A lot of people also find this release to be very offensive in content; unapologetic. That would be fine if she wasKe$ha is an absolute idiot, with no intellect. At least with her last release we got some embarrassingly catchy songs that are tolerable at a club filled with people equally as stupid as Ke$ha. I'm sorry, but when you're saying "I am Cannibal" -- something is wrong. A lot of people also find this release to be very offensive in content; unapologetic. That would be fine if she was intelligent and her lyrics didn't suck. The point is, fellow haters -- she WILL NOT last. 50 Cent and Soulja Boy did the same thing! They got famous off one single, and their careers fell off from there because they are stupid, and weren't made for the business. Ke$ha is the same case. Enjoy your fame while it lasts, Ke$ha! Cannibal is the catalyst of your plunge into perpetual darkness. Expand
  21. Nov 23, 2010
    0
    This is worse than Animal, and Animal was really really really really BAD. When will her 15 mins be up? Her songs always make me cringe when they come on the radio.
  22. Nov 25, 2010
    2
    intellectual? Ground Breaking? Hardly. Her stupid spoiled slut routine is amusing for a moment, but the music, or electric noise or whatever those beats are supposed to sound like are garbage. her "rhymes" are even worse, usually they dont even rhyme and rarely make sense. There is no talent, effort, or heart in any of these songs
  23. Nov 25, 2010
    1
    Please, America, please knock some sense into yourselves. What happened to good lyrics? Natural vocals? This is not Kesha. This is a computer singing her terrible lyrics. She - as well as other generic pop stars - seem to be trying their best to imitate the only decent pop singer today: Lady Gaga. Kesha is innovative, I'll give you that - she's shown us all that you don't need talent toPlease, America, please knock some sense into yourselves. What happened to good lyrics? Natural vocals? This is not Kesha. This is a computer singing her terrible lyrics. She - as well as other generic pop stars - seem to be trying their best to imitate the only decent pop singer today: Lady Gaga. Kesha is innovative, I'll give you that - she's shown us all that you don't need talent to make it big these days: you just need nice voice editing software and you're good to go. Expand
  24. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    This album was just like the other Ke$ha album. It mix with a lot of sloppy hooks that catch out attention. We can't stop singing her songs because her songs are so catchy. Even though Ke$ha isn't a good singer or song writer she find a way to get it done. I like this album it has nice beats with catchy songs that everybody will be singing. Once again Ke$ha made a hit album. Even though IThis album was just like the other Ke$ha album. It mix with a lot of sloppy hooks that catch out attention. We can't stop singing her songs because her songs are so catchy. Even though Ke$ha isn't a good singer or song writer she find a way to get it done. I like this album it has nice beats with catchy songs that everybody will be singing. Once again Ke$ha made a hit album. Even though I say wasn't going listen to her anymore . I cont. to listen to her. Expand
  25. Mar 31, 2011
    3
    Thanks to Dr. Luke, any talentless white trash skank can now become a "singer." These are sad days for pop music and music in general. For this to be called "music" and "singing" is blasphemy!
  26. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    IIIIII LLLLOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVEEEEEEEE KKKKKKEEEEEE$$$$$$$$$HHHHHHAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! CCCAAANNNIIIBBBAAALLL FTW!!! This EP is amazing. Non stop dancing :P
  27. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    Now we all know that Ke$ha is your Marmite singer...you either love her or hate her. I LOVE HER! she is a musician/lyricist genius, she has set the bars up another level with Cannibal...every track is just infectious as the next one and contains some hilarious lyrics like "Now that I'm famous, your up my anus!"..pure brilliance. The track "Cannibal" is my favourite.
  28. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    I Thought I Liked Animal...I LOVE Cannibal Ever More!
    Some Of The Best Tracks Are We R We R, Cannibal, Blow & Grow A Pear The Worst Song By Far Is Slezy.. Its Not Bad... Its Just Not The Best Son.. I Still LOVE K$!
  29. Oct 21, 2011
    10
    She is who she is, and I love her for it! She knows what she wants, and she can adequately portray it to her fanbase. All in all, she knows how to make a great pop record, and I look forward to her future matierla.
  30. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    "Cannibal", the second album released by pop sensation Ke$ha, follows the footsteps of Lady GaGa's "The Fame Monster", as a promotional trick to live up the first album's, "Animal's" sales. Though it was met to mixed or average scores and criticism, this album or extended play is a big step ahead from "Animal", of course excluding "TiK ToK'', "Take It Off" and "Dancing with Tears in My"Cannibal", the second album released by pop sensation Ke$ha, follows the footsteps of Lady GaGa's "The Fame Monster", as a promotional trick to live up the first album's, "Animal's" sales. Though it was met to mixed or average scores and criticism, this album or extended play is a big step ahead from "Animal", of course excluding "TiK ToK'', "Take It Off" and "Dancing with Tears in My Eyes", which are masterpieces in all ways. Here's my rating for each song:
    1. "Cannibal" - 10/10 - Fully deserves to be the album's title. Very nice.
    2. "We R Who We R" - 10/10 - Lyrics fit great, the song itself is another megahit after "TiK ToK".
    3. "Sleazy" - 10/10 - The beat is sick, so are her rapping and singing.
    4. "Blow" - 10/10 - One of the best, sounds like "Take It Off, Part 2".
    5. "The Harold Song" - 9,7/10 - Lyrics are great, but the track is too similar to "Blind" from her own "Animal" set.
    6. "Crazy Beautiful Life" - 8,2/10 - Sounds like a mid-2006 hit, would be popular then, not the best though.
    7. "Grow a Pear" - 10/10 - So far the extended play's best.
    8. "C U Next Tuesday" - 7,9/10 - Just sweet, nothing more.
    9. "Animal (Billboard Remix)" - 10/10 - You best believe me, it is great! Good job, Billboard!
    Overall this is a super EP and I'm against people, who say Ke$ha's fake. Yes, she's a pure auto-tune, but, after all, the next century is sure to have more than a bit of auto-tune. Congrats, K$!
    Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  2. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    Sure, Max Martin's hooks, and especially Dr. Luke's neon-colored throb push these tunes into your head--they're in top form, aided by the tight focus of an eight-track EP, Cannibal's brevity trumping the scattershot Animal--but what makes them stick is Kesha, a pop star lacking pop star looks and a pop star voice.
  3. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.