• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Cannibal Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 199 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eight-track companion released as an EP is part of the deluxe reissue of Ke$ha's debut album, Animal, and includes remixes and outtakes.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. 88
    I can feel my IQ slipping a few notches with the passage of each track on this disc, and gloriously so: it takes brains and balls to make pop this smart sound so dumb.
  2. 83
    As Armageddon parties go, though, this one should leave plenty of sweat and confetti on the dance floor.
  3. Dec 8, 2010
    75
    While she occasionally goes too far even by the exceedingly lax standards of a Ke$ha record-really, "C U Next Tuesday?"--Ke$ha is in full command of her artlessness on Cannibal, marrying airhead kiss-offs with chirpily upbeat, ringtone-ready dance-pop.
  4. Dec 8, 2010
    70
    This EP proves Ke$ha would kick Gaga's ass in a freestyle battle.
  5. Dec 20, 2010
    67
    This adjunct to "Animal" is unapologetically escapist and highly programmed fun.
  6. 60
    Ke$ha didn't really set the bar for intellectual heft too high on her debut, Animal, so it seems like hair-splitting to mention that even with guilty pleasures like "Cannibal" and, uh, "C U Next Tuesday," Cannibal seems to be skimping on the cleverness.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    40
    if her music, which sounds like it was created using a supercomputer analyzing months of market-research-driven algorithms determined by the texting and internet search habits of suburban females aged 12 to 18, sets out to be catchy, slick, radio junk food--mission accompli$hed.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 67
  2. Negative: 16 out of 67
  1. bob
    Nov 22, 2010
    10
    What an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entireWhat an absolutely intellectual record. Kesha- sorry- Ke$ha has put together possibly the most mind-blowingly intriguing albums of the entire year. Her sound is so unique, and her dirty whore image just makes me want to say "Man, this is an album I want to buy". If her incredible innovations in the music industry do not blow you away, I don't know what will. If you give this album anything less than an 11, you are a dirty rotten homophobe who hates music. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    Superior ao Animal mesmo que mantenha a mesma linha já se percebe a evolução de Ke$ha. Destaque para Cannibal, We R Who We R e The HaroldSuperior ao Animal mesmo que mantenha a mesma linha já se percebe a evolução de Ke$ha. Destaque para Cannibal, We R Who We R e The Harold Song. Ela poderia ter feito de Cannibal seu segundo álbum ao invés de apenas um ep, aumentando o número de faixas e trabalhando com mais singles, poderia ser um álbum de sucesso. Expand
  3. May 10, 2015
    9
    An improvement over Animal (2009), Cannibal starts out with the track with the same name of the album, a sexy and fun track, I bet it would beAn improvement over Animal (2009), Cannibal starts out with the track with the same name of the album, a sexy and fun track, I bet it would be a Hot Dance Clubs hit. "We R Who We R" is another cool-sexy song that is a positive message to the Gay community. To me, "We R Who We R" is currently Kesha's best song of her career. "Sleazy" is another fun bop that leans RNB, "Blow" is to me, the weakest track off the album, "The Harold Song" is a beautiful synth-pop ballad that sounds a lot like Demi Lovato's "Skyscraper". "Crazy Beautiful Life" is another fun party song, in this song Kesha tells us to live and celebrate our horrible lives. "Grow A Pear" is a boring generic track off that sounds like she was trying Katy Perry's "California Gurls". "c u next tuseday" is a cool song that a lot of more auto tune, with Alternative music influences. Cannibal closes with the Billboard Remix of "Animal", gorgeously produced. Overall, Cannibal goes down as a great album of 2010. Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2014
    7
    The Cannibal EP acts as a refinement rather than a successor to Ke-dollar sign-ha's 2010 debut Animal. Disappointingly, her overuse ofThe Cannibal EP acts as a refinement rather than a successor to Ke-dollar sign-ha's 2010 debut Animal. Disappointingly, her overuse of Auto-Tune and vocoders are one of the common criticisms as well as its Animal-mimicking top 40 tunes -- "We R Who We R" could surpass as a gay pride remix of "TiK ToK". But producer Dr. Luke and accompanying producers such as Ammo, Benny Blanco, and Max Martin help the '10s' most polarizing pop star serve her "animals" even more of her sassy rhymes ("I don't mean to critique on your seduction technique/But your money's not impressing me, it's kinda weak") and electronic whirlwind of backstabbing boyfriends via catchy earworm hooks ("When you grow a pear, you can call me back").

    The highlights of the EP are actually her most exploratory: "The Harold Song" has a heartwrenching that could make metalheads wave their lighters and "C U Next Tuesday" turns the concept of falling in love with a friend-with-benefits into a catchy '80s vintage synthpop tune. Kesha has grown up a lot since her 'drink-until-you-love-yourself' days, attending rehab in early 2014 for an eating disorder, so maybe she'll dump Dr. Luke for a producer that has an interest in who Kesha Sebert truly is beneath all the electronic gloss. If you haven't checked out her cover of Dolly Parton's "Old Flames Can't Hold a Candle to You", which her mother co-wrote, she's actually a very, very beautiful singer. Let's take her out of guilty pleasure territory and show more of that raw talent.
    Expand
  5. Dec 12, 2010
    6
    I loved "Animal" album, although, as I mentioned on its critic, it's guilty pleasure, but, I don't know... As I said, don't try too hard inI loved "Animal" album, although, as I mentioned on its critic, it's guilty pleasure, but, I don't know... As I said, don't try too hard in finding clever in this. Still, there are some good songs in it. "Canibal" is the best. Funny song, and it should be a club banger soon. But, the other songs are just average. The next single should be "Blow" though, good song on the radio. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2013
    4
    Unlike her previous album, even autotune can't save Ke$ha this time. "Blow," "The Harold Song" and "We R Who We R" were good songs, but theUnlike her previous album, even autotune can't save Ke$ha this time. "Blow," "The Harold Song" and "We R Who We R" were good songs, but the rest of the album was not the best. Expand
  7. Jun 16, 2011
    0
    Sorry if I offend anybody, but if you enjoy Kesha and volentarily listen to her, then you don't know what music is. Because this woman singsSorry if I offend anybody, but if you enjoy Kesha and volentarily listen to her, then you don't know what music is. Because this woman sings like she's dying and auto-tune can't even save her. Remember back when pop wasn't all bad, when we had Madonna and Britney Spears' old songs? I'm not saying Madonna and Britney Spears are great singers, but not all of their songs are bad songs. Kesha? everything she puts out on the radio is horrid. So avoid her if you enjoy music at all. P.S., I didnt put a dollar sign in her name because she's worth less than a dollar. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews