Cape Dory

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Such a great album! Tennis is my favorite spurt and this is my favorite album! Such beautiful music! One of my top 7 albums of two thousand eleven! :)
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    This is a delightful album bursting full of sentiment, a true old school pop album from seriously pretentious rich kids. I love it don't get me wrong, they know how to write catchy tunes and the lyrics, while wonderful tunes to put on your next ipod playlist or mixed cd for a sweetheart, should not be critiqued with an ounce of seriousness. I miss the summer but these tracks warm up theThis is a delightful album bursting full of sentiment, a true old school pop album from seriously pretentious rich kids. I love it don't get me wrong, they know how to write catchy tunes and the lyrics, while wonderful tunes to put on your next ipod playlist or mixed cd for a sweetheart, should not be critiqued with an ounce of seriousness. I miss the summer but these tracks warm up the frozen wasteland of chicago.

    Buy the album or vinyl it's only 7 dollars.
    Expand
  3. Feb 23, 2011
    4
    I am just entirely unable to get into Cape Dory. One problem is that much of the summertime, lazy-hazy Best-Coast-y pop that has exploded over these past few months has not done much for me. The opener â
  4. Jan 29, 2011
    7
    Great little album. Reminds me of Vampire Weekend only with a female signer. That's all I have to say about this. They require 150 characters fora review so I will keep typing and see if this is long enough.
  5. Jan 29, 2011
    8
    There's some music you listen to for the meaning in the lyrics, and there's some music that plays in the background and you enjoy the feel. This album is part of the latter. Something to listen to when you need a quick pick me up. Very poppy in that old 50's/60's beach party sense. Reminds you of a summer's day. Cape Dory is an album I can see myself growing to love, but will never be inThere's some music you listen to for the meaning in the lyrics, and there's some music that plays in the background and you enjoy the feel. This album is part of the latter. Something to listen to when you need a quick pick me up. Very poppy in that old 50's/60's beach party sense. Reminds you of a summer's day. Cape Dory is an album I can see myself growing to love, but will never be in the all time greatest albums. Expand
  6. Feb 4, 2011
    8
    This is just a fun album. Written while a husband and wife were out on their boat on a sea voyage. If you like She & Him, you will like this band. It is She & Him in an amateur recording studio. They are reminiscent of The Beach Boys, with a female singer. Nice little album.
  7. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    It's one of those albums where every single song is enjoyable to listen to (especially if you listen to the album in one sitting). It's seems perfectly effortless and not overly worked. "Pigeon" is one of the most honest love songs I have heard in years. One of my all time favorite albums. If you have not listened yet you must.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Q Magazine
    Jun 21, 2011
    60
    Charming but once-paced opener from Denver couple. [July 2011, p. 120]
  2. May 18, 2011
    70
    Cape Dory is a more than satisfactory introduction to the world of Tennis and their travels, and perhaps unintentionally, one of the more unique additions to the current penchant for all things lo-fi in a Spectoresque kind of way.
  3. 60
    A little shade among the sugary rays might not go astray, but maybe that's just the goth in me talking.