Channel Orange - Frank Ocean
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 459 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 459

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. N10
    Jul 18, 2012
    10
    The R&B that I loved, I thought was gone, but damn I was wrong. This is an instant classic. The themes and some of it's concept kinda reminds me of Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye. And just too compare Ocean with those great artists is something really big. For an debut album it´s great, it's fantastic. It's been years since I heard an R&B debut strong as this one. I've been a big fanThe R&B that I loved, I thought was gone, but damn I was wrong. This is an instant classic. The themes and some of it's concept kinda reminds me of Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye. And just too compare Ocean with those great artists is something really big. For an debut album it´s great, it's fantastic. It's been years since I heard an R&B debut strong as this one. I've been a big fan of Ocean for quite a while now, and I was sick worried of how the album would be, If it's going to be a disappointment or not. And no. This is absolutley amazing. And now I'm honest, just because I'm a fan it doesn't mean that I'm lying, wouldn't lie to myself, that's pretty stupid. The lyrics are really good, better than I expected. I mean, I've always known that he was a good lyricist, but this was fenomenal. The story of each song is moslty fun, romantic, and sad. It simply is fantastic. He has improved as an artist, just listen to the song "Bad Religion"... Wow, an instant classic and one of the best songs of the year. That's cool, but then their are songs like "Sweet Life", "Super Rich Kids", "Pink Matter", and "Pyramids". And what about them? They all earn a grammy. Yeah, they all do. No other R&B artist has a song at the same level and quality as Ocean does this year. Just one, who? Ushers "Climax". And that's a great song. But yet, theirs no other one. How about Chris Brown? What about it. I pretty much like his music for the fun, and there was no other R&B artist to listen to at that time, just him and Usher just to mention somebody. But then it came two great and MATURED R&B artists. Frank Ocean and The Weeknd. If you haven't heard of him, check him out. Browns latest "Fortune" was mediocre, I'll give it a try agian later. A grammy nomination would be a disgrace to music. But I wouldn't be surprised if it would, there's no other in that category and genre now these days. And don't misunderstand me, I love Ushers music, but I like his older more. That's it.
    Kinda off-topic now, but please buy the album, buy the album if you support great music. It's a masterpiece of 2012. If this doesen't win a grammy for best album, then yeah. Their taste of music is bad. I mean wack.
    It's an beautiful album. The production doesn't feel cheap at all, either way around and also the lyrics. It's detailed, and the stories are for the most part absolutely brilliant! Buy it! It's worth it. ;)
    This ain't average, this is fantastic!
    Expand
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    2
    This album has to be the most overrated album in the last 5 years. The album has some bright moments (Bad Religion, Lost, Thinkin' Bout You) but overall it felt short. It's really boring half way through the album. I get what critics are saying that he's trying to tell a story, but if you're delivery is bad there's no point to keep me interested in listening further. In addition, it's wayThis album has to be the most overrated album in the last 5 years. The album has some bright moments (Bad Religion, Lost, Thinkin' Bout You) but overall it felt short. It's really boring half way through the album. I get what critics are saying that he's trying to tell a story, but if you're delivery is bad there's no point to keep me interested in listening further. In addition, it's way too long. His coming out definitively affects the critics score in positive way for him. I would have been routing for him if this album actually is good, but sadly it isn't. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    The best album I have heard since Kanye's Beautiful Dark Twisted Mind, Channel Orange works not as a bunch of radio-friendly songs thrown together on a CD as we so often here today but rather as 55 minutes of music that all blends together, creating, as Ocean said in his letter, "a world rosier than mine." The only disappointment for me that comes along with this classic is that someThe best album I have heard since Kanye's Beautiful Dark Twisted Mind, Channel Orange works not as a bunch of radio-friendly songs thrown together on a CD as we so often here today but rather as 55 minutes of music that all blends together, creating, as Ocean said in his letter, "a world rosier than mine." The only disappointment for me that comes along with this classic is that some people have said this is a mediocre album that only gets attention because of his recent coming out letter. I will admit that this is complex music and some people might not be able to handle it right now (I mean if you go from listening to only the dance music on the radio to this, you're either going to feel enlightened or just not feel it...I probably wouldn't have been able to listen to this album a few years ago) but his recent coming out has *nothing* to do with the reception of this album- it is a classic that is finally giving people something fresh...and hearing people say its because of his sexuality really gets me frustrated...Anyways...lets hope we have stuff like this from Frank Ocean (and the Weeknd) to listen to for years to come! Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2012
    3
    Sorry, one word: Overrated. After reading all the glowing reviews, went and listened and well, couldn't get through even one entire song without getting impatient and bored. Falsetto is nice, but regular voice very very ordinary. I love Marvin Gaye, Prince (now THERE's a voice with great falsetto also), but doesn't even come close. Which one would expect, after reading those reviews......
  5. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. channel ORANGE already feels like a classic, making R&B refreshing and innovating than it ever been in recent history. Frank Ocean blends jazz-funk, soul, classic R&B, and electronic in one engrossing debut; kind of like the many different programs of a television. However, what makes channel ORANGE so compelling is in the lyrics. As a storyteller, Frank brings you to the emptiness of Los Angeles. where sometimes love isn't valued. Wealthy partied out teens with no motivation or loving parents, drug addicts, strippers - Frank is observing it all. Not only observing, but providing their perspectives; he's not judging, but only reflecting. And, it seems that Frank's characters are not the only ones going through struggles.
    Throughout the album, Frank expresses unrequited love. Going through heartbreak, Frank voices his wrenching pain on the emotional climax "Bad Religion." This track is a good representation of the album as a whole - musically, it appeals to the ear with its soul. Emotional? It hits you where it hurts. But, it does not make the album less beautiful.
    Using his noir characters and himself, Frank explores human nature, even the dark, aimless abyss of it. Yet, just like the quote, "better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all," Frank's one-sided love and heartbreak shines a light through the album's tragic, lifeless characters - leaving you with hope.
    Just how Kanye West's "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" pushed boundaries for modern hip-hop, channel ORANGE is doing the same for R&B while still being grounded on the genre's roots.
    Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    1
    I was severely disappointed when I listen to the album after reading the reviews for it . Critics are praising it as if it's the second coming of jesus. The album has a lot of fillers plus vocal delivery in my opinion still need a lot of work. He mumbles through the song most of the time.
  7. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Frank Ocean is 24 years old and much like Janelle Monae, he's on another level of genius. As a black artist in America, it is very hard to dodge the pigeon-hole and to do it with deft. There will be detractors who say that he got a publicity boost from his personal declaration-- and I would argue that they would be correct but only in the commercial aspect. If you'd been following him atFrank Ocean is 24 years old and much like Janelle Monae, he's on another level of genius. As a black artist in America, it is very hard to dodge the pigeon-hole and to do it with deft. There will be detractors who say that he got a publicity boost from his personal declaration-- and I would argue that they would be correct but only in the commercial aspect. If you'd been following him at all before his blog posting, you would've surely checked out "Pyramids" which murders any Trey Songz, Drake, Chris Brown, or The Dream song. That single set the tone for the push behind the critical acclaim, not his affair with another man. Someone has to learn from Monae's mistake--she had one of the most outstanding albums in recent memory but we feel we're too hard pressed for time to really listen. The vocals on "Sweet Life" are so reminiscent of D'Angelo, I think he may be attempting to challenge the man. "Pyramids" is an epic poem worth dissecting line by line, not to mention one that effortlessly bridges the present discotheque-hip-pop with the funky-90s-XXX-R&B (think Bel-Biv) . "Crack Rock" is our generation's "Too High" by Stevie Wonder. Let's not mention the interludes, which can be disconnect and trite, but only add to the cohesion of channel ORANGE. "Fertilizer" is clever and "Not Just Money" hits so close to home, the line about eating a hot-link to assuage the pain of being broke hurts.

    Now I'm just waiting on his collabo with Janelle Monae.
    Expand
  8. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Nostalgia, Ultra was my favorite album (mixtape) of 2011. I didn't expect the new album to come close but I was wrong. The falsetto in Thinking Bout You is stunning.
  9. Sep 11, 2012
    0
    This style of music leaves me scratching my head. Maybe it is good, but for the life of me, I've tried, and I can't figure out why anyone would think so
  10. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    The Album Is Such An Improvement From Nostalgia, Ultra That Is Almost unbelievable, Songs Like Thinkin bout You And Bad Religion Are Simply Breathtaking But Channel, Orange Greatness Lies In The Few Songs Where The Writing Seems Not So Complicated (Lost, Crack Rock) Channel, ORANGE Does Not Have Bad Songs Only Non Perfect Moments
  11. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Channel Orange is an instant classic. The album is the best to be released from any member of the Hip-Hop super-group, Odd Future thus far. Ocean's smooth voice, and brilliant song writing exemplify what has been missing in most music nowadays, and that is originality. It is very safe to say that Channel Orange is the 2012 album of the year at this point.
  12. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Frank ocean is truly very talented, he is great, beautiful lyrics and beats, harmonies, impressive album. my favorite tracks: Pyramids, Pilot Jones, Lost, Bad Religion, Sweet Life, Monks, Forest Gump, Thinkin Bout You
  13. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Why is it that the reviewers who gave Channel Orange negative scores, also gave Lana Del Rey 10/10? I guess instead of listening to poignant critiques of opulence and wealth, they'd rather hear superficial musings about it.
  14. Nov 10, 2012
    3
    Incredibly overrated. Every song seems awkwardly paced to me, and the actual composition is very unimpressive. I like the mood that he invokes, but that's about it. The lyrics aren't very impressive either.
  15. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Frank Ocean Is the new savior Of R&B. This album reminds me of Marvin Gaye. Alot of artists don't have strong debut albums. But Frank Ocean is proving the whole world that his music is worthy to the planet. I wish i could rate this higher because this album is the best of 2012
  16. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    This is not just a classic R&B album, this is just a classic. Ocean gives the listener everything he has, opening himself up and displaying his most personal feelings for everybody to see. Its sincere, its beautiful, its powerful and you can completely lose yourself for the entirety of the album.
  17. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Stunning. People who are giving this album less than an 8 are overlooking the genuineness of the singer and his song-writing abilities. He is a true artist that will stick around for a while. A modern day Marvin Gaye in my opinion.
  18. Jul 22, 2012
    8
    A very enjoyable listen, and gets better with repeated listens as well. Ocean's vocal resemblance to Stevie Wonder is easily dismissed, and the production is interesting and the lyrics engrossing. Most of all, it's soulful as all get out. Don't believe the haters, this is good stuff.
  19. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    hey mr. keep_yr_bias you forgot to add the 10 . ORANGE Chanel is a great album. Thank you sir frank ocean by this record is the first time an r & B artist so pleasantly surprised me. Pyramids 10/10, sweet life 10/10 etc etc. I love Adele's voice but she needed more creativity and better arrangements on several songs, 21. Frank ocean has all those components creativity, depth and art songs.hey mr. keep_yr_bias you forgot to add the 10 . ORANGE Chanel is a great album. Thank you sir frank ocean by this record is the first time an r & B artist so pleasantly surprised me. Pyramids 10/10, sweet life 10/10 etc etc. I love Adele's voice but she needed more creativity and better arrangements on several songs, 21. Frank ocean has all those components creativity, depth and art songs. One of the best albums of 2012 but the best Expand
  20. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Songs on this album are like pieces of puzzle! Just like his open letter, now many hate on this guy more than ever. channel ORANGE is arguably Album of the Year.
  21. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Basically, the best album since My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy and one of the greatest debut albums I have ever heard. If Frank can top this... wow.
  22. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    I dont even like R&B, but this is probably my favorite album of 2012 so far. Definitely worth checking this album out, no matter what your tastes are.
  23. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Beautiful, elegant, cohesive. All adjectives to describe this wonderful debut album. Looking forward the rest of Frank Ocean's career. The best relatively mainstream r&b album I have heard since Usher's Confessions or Ne-yo's Year of the Gentleman. Frank is in the lane of Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye and holds his own. Brilliant songwriter and has dropped the best album of 2012 so far.Beautiful, elegant, cohesive. All adjectives to describe this wonderful debut album. Looking forward the rest of Frank Ocean's career. The best relatively mainstream r&b album I have heard since Usher's Confessions or Ne-yo's Year of the Gentleman. Frank is in the lane of Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye and holds his own. Brilliant songwriter and has dropped the best album of 2012 so far. Although it is not perfect, it is close. Expand
  24. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    The first real R&B album from a popular artist in at least 5 years. Excellent replay value and not a track worth skipping. Frank's storytelling ability in songs like Pyramids and Lost are incomparable to anybody else in music right now, and with the help of Malay, Pharell, and Tyler , Frank produces the entire album masterfully.
  25. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    The perfect continuation to Nostalgia, ultra.

    It is a long, epic album, to consume as a whole, and with very simple compositions - the last hidden song is just a lounging nice final- and with really introspective lyrics.
  26. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    Extraordinary, layered, textured, addictive and a chocolate box who's flavours may differ but are all damned delicious. My stand out tracks are Pyramids and Super Rich Kids. I'm a Whats Goin' On kinda guy and with a bit of nurturing and maturing I believe Ocean can give us all something equally as special - until then it's a 9/10 for me...
  27. Jan 7, 2013
    4
    Okay, in the realm of R&B albums, this is decent. Then again, modern R&B is generally a collection of the least interesting music outside of modern country. There are a few good tracks here, but the pacing is glacial at times and while listening one is hard-pressed not to check the time remaining time not only on the album but on individual tracks. It just becomes boring and painful atOkay, in the realm of R&B albums, this is decent. Then again, modern R&B is generally a collection of the least interesting music outside of modern country. There are a few good tracks here, but the pacing is glacial at times and while listening one is hard-pressed not to check the time remaining time not only on the album but on individual tracks. It just becomes boring and painful at times. The universal critical acclaim for this album is disturbing in its uniformity. Ocean is obviously receiving points for being brave enough to reveal his sexuality just prior to releasing the album. I give him kudos for his courage, but I'm not going to bump up my rating of his album based on that. Expand
  28. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Frank Ocean is amazing! This album proves what he is truly capable of! when i saw it was 92/100 from critics i was kind of shocked! Not even drake got that high of a score.
  29. Jul 20, 2012
    10
    Best album of the year So Far. The album really doesn't have a horrible song. Great all the way through, production was great and is just a masterpiece.
  30. Jul 18, 2012
    9
    This record is simultaneously incredibly fresh and nostalgic. Borrowing classic R&B elements and combining them with modern beats, great guest rap verses, and hugely innovative songwriting, Channel Orange is a GIANT step forward for frank, and also for the entire genre of 'PBR&B.' Breaking free of the traditional Odd Future niche in many places, Frank creates some truly astounding vocalThis record is simultaneously incredibly fresh and nostalgic. Borrowing classic R&B elements and combining them with modern beats, great guest rap verses, and hugely innovative songwriting, Channel Orange is a GIANT step forward for frank, and also for the entire genre of 'PBR&B.' Breaking free of the traditional Odd Future niche in many places, Frank creates some truly astounding vocal and musical phrases which are complimented by dazzling production and arrangement. Mark my words: countless Frank Ocean imitators are about to start popping up in what seems to be the next hot style in Hip-Hop/R&B. Easily the freshest and most innovative album to come out so far this year, if not the decade. I honestly believe that this album may be a gamechanger in pop culture. Also, Andre 3000 spits the Verse of the century on 'Pink Matter.' The man is supernaturally talented. Expand
  31. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    I'm hardly an R&B fan, but just listening to the album you can tell that this kid has talent. I am a fan of rap, am familiar with Odd Future, and do not generally like their releases, but this album is very well done. I personally only like a few songs from the album, but as a whole, this album deserves the praise it is getting.
  32. Duu
    Feb 5, 2013
    2
    This album is the most overrated album in recent memory and Frank Ocean's announcement that he had a homosexual relationship has catapulted this album into importance though it is undeserving of that attention based on its musical merit. Out of 13 actual songs, only 3 are good: "Thinkin About You", "Pyramids", and "Bad Religion". All of the remaining songs are poorly sung, andThis album is the most overrated album in recent memory and Frank Ocean's announcement that he had a homosexual relationship has catapulted this album into importance though it is undeserving of that attention based on its musical merit. Out of 13 actual songs, only 3 are good: "Thinkin About You", "Pyramids", and "Bad Religion". All of the remaining songs are poorly sung, and uninteresting. This album is totally riding on Frank Ocean being out(ish) and a "pioneer" in black musical personas. But this album is not strong enough to be remembered--it is a "in" thing to listen to right now and to say you like, but the lyrics are weak and the music is weak. Frank Ocean is a "single-maker" not an album maker. He should enjoy his success but redouble his efforts, because he is benefitting from public will to raise him up because of his coming out (ish) instead of the quality of his music. Expand
  33. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    The meteoric rise of Frank Ocean is undoubtedly indebted to his charismatic persona. He is a very intimate human being who is willing to fully wear his heart on his sleeve, but not for the attention. While a lot of focus has recently been cast upon his sexuality, his courage translates to great songs as well, and all the hype hater should admit that this guy is a very gifted songwriter.The meteoric rise of Frank Ocean is undoubtedly indebted to his charismatic persona. He is a very intimate human being who is willing to fully wear his heart on his sleeve, but not for the attention. While a lot of focus has recently been cast upon his sexuality, his courage translates to great songs as well, and all the hype hater should admit that this guy is a very gifted songwriter. His songs are almost uncomfortably personal ranging from heart-wrenchingly gorgeous (Bad Religion), to intelligently observing (crack rock), to surprisingly funny (Super Rich Kids). The variety of these songs is exceptional for hip-hop and Frank himself gives across a vibe similar to Stevie Wonder of Marvin Gaye. He's an old soul who has an indie reputation and an ear toward mainstream. Superlatives and praise will undoubtedly be heaped upon him, but rightfully so for this is one of the freshest sounds in hip-hop, maybe in music in general. He's just as radical and revolutionary as his Odd Future mates, but as a singer/song-writer he is second to none. Give this album a shot even if you are not into hip-hop, you might just get hooked. (10/10) Expand
  34. Dec 15, 2012
    7
    I think I'm giving this the positive score it deserves. It's not a bad album by any means, and I appreciate the originality, but I can hear better elsewhere. To the people who are saying how creative this is, and how bold Ocean was willing to be, I'd like to give them a copy of Radiohead's OK Computer or Stevie Wonder's Songs In The Key Of Life. Those are albums that can change the futureI think I'm giving this the positive score it deserves. It's not a bad album by any means, and I appreciate the originality, but I can hear better elsewhere. To the people who are saying how creative this is, and how bold Ocean was willing to be, I'd like to give them a copy of Radiohead's OK Computer or Stevie Wonder's Songs In The Key Of Life. Those are albums that can change the future of music. This is an album that has some cool ideas, and a couple of really strong tracks for sure, but it's nothing to write home about. I guess the fact that it is different is what people are going so crazy about, because while there is a lot of skill shown here, it's not outstandingly competent when you compare it to some of the other artists who are out there. I should say, it sounds like I'm being hard on this album, but that's only because I'm relating it to how others are perceiving it. With no previous expectations about what to think of this album, I would come back with nothing but positive things to say. It is interesting, creative, and enjoyable. However, I think all of those positive things you can say about it, that I would also say about it, have been blown out of proportion. It's definitely worth the listen, for its unique sounds, nice vocals, and interesting lyrics, but I wouldn't exactly call it one for the ages, as it's being considered. Expand
  35. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want to listen to some late night chill music? well listen to this album. Its just a sexy album. I don't think his voice is really anything to marvel at, but he gets those falsettos very well and its hard not feeling drawn in by his tone. pink matter is soYou know when its three o'clock in the morning and you're at a party and most people are asleep and you're still pretty drunk and you want to listen to some late night chill music? well listen to this album. Its just a sexy album. I don't think his voice is really anything to marvel at, but he gets those falsettos very well and its hard not feeling drawn in by his tone. pink matter is so good. its the perfect sexy/hazy ballad and andre 3000 kills his verse in it. other than that, Pyramids is the centerpiece and is done so well. I love the second half of the song when it slows down. If you like slow jamz, Frank Ocean is for you Expand
  36. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    O que faz de um álbum ser considerado uma "obra de arte"? Não é apenas uma "coleção" de boas músicas, não é apenas a elaboração de arranjos perfeitos, não são apenas letras magistrais ou vocalização perfeita. Uma obra de arte musical em forma de álbum é a elevaçãoO que faz de um álbum ser considerado uma "obra de arte"? Não é apenas uma "coleção" de boas músicas, não é apenas a elaboração de arranjos perfeitos, não são apenas letras magistrais ou vocalização perfeita. Uma obra de arte musical em forma de álbum é a elevação de um artista aos céus pelo seu próprio talento. É a consagração máxima da alma, a mente e o coração. É a prova que talento é dado por algo divino. Algo acima de nós, chame do nome que você preferir. Nesses quatro anos de blog apenas três artistas chegaram nesse nível: Kanye West com o monumental My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy, Adele e o seu arraza quarteirão 21 e o Florence + The Machine com o divinamente dark Ceremonials. O quarto nome acaba de entrar nessa lista: channel ORANGE do Frank Ocean. Contudo, antes de falar do álbum em si, vou dar uma situada em quem é Frank Ocean.

    Nascido com o nome de Christopher Breaux na cidade de Nova Orleans, ele começou a carreira sendo "compositor fantasma" de nomes como Brandy, Justin Bieber e John Legend. Em 2010 se juntou com o rapper Tyler, The Creator no grupo de produtores, rappers, cantores e artistas diversos intitulado Odd Future. O lançamento de mixtapes do grupo junto com o aclamado Nostalgia, Ultra., sua própria mixtape lançada ano passado, chamou a atenção de Jay-Z, Kanye West e da Beyoncé. Com a cantora, ele co-escreveu a canção I Miss You do álbum 4. Com a dupla de rappers, Frank participou do álbum Watch The Throne com a composição e o featuring nas aclamadas Made in America e no single No Church In The Wild. Contudo, o que chamou a atenção da mídia recentemente foi uma declaração extremamente corajosa que o colocou na história da música: em seu site pessoal, Frank declarou que sua primeira paixão aos dezenove anos foi um homem, assim sendo, ele se transformou no primeiro artista hip hop/R&B mainstream a revelar um relacionamento com uma pessoa do mesmo sexo. Em uma indútria tão machista e preconceituosa, a atitude é o começo de uma quebre de barreiras na luta contra a homofobia. Todavia, isso é quase noticia velha, pois Frank Ocean acabou de lançar seu primeiro álbum channel ORANGE. E como eu já disse o trabalho está sendo aclamado como uma obra de arte indiscutível.

    channel ORANGE é a celebração da arte como música. Ocean cria uma obra atemporal ao se colocar em um lugar entre as lendas do soul music como Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye e mais próximo aos melhores trabalhos do Prince. A viagem em um mundo intrigado de Ocean é uma volta ao passado, mas com ao olho no futuro. Complicado, arrebatador, edificante, pulsante, vibrante, brilhante. Frank cominha em estradas da mais diferentes falando do amor em primeiro plano, mas há assuntos como drogas, sociedade e religião. Em cada composição ele vai além do que se poderia esperar. Arranca como um cirurgião órgãos, sentimentos, ossos, medos e muito mais. Como um soco na ferida aberta, ele retrata com maestria de uma pessoa que vive década e mais décadas reflexões profundas e brilhantes. E ele só tem vinte e quatro anos de idade. Podemos classificar o seu som como neo soul para termos apenas uma classificação. Contudo, assim como os três álbuns já citados, channel ORANGE vai muito mais que classificações. A jornada sonora de Frank é muito profunda e multifacetada. O trabalho de instrumentalização é, talvez, um dos mais geniais dos últimos anos. Há tantas texturas, batidas, samples, sons, instrumentos diferentes só que costurados de maneira tão perfeita que chega a ser desleal para nossos ouvidos tentando captar cada segundo, cada batida, cada inspiração, cada pérola. Já Frank como vocalista se coloca em um pedestal que não há proteção. Suas interpretações são cheias de sentimentos, força, genialidade e algo mais que apenas gênios tem e simples mortais não podemos falar com palavras. Não posso ressaltar uma canção, mas posso dizer isso: se você ouvir Bad Religion e não sentir algo arrebatador, esqueça, vocês não está preparado para a genialidade de Frank Ocean. Se sentir, seja bem vindo ao álbum que pode mudar sua percepção do que é música. E Frank Ocean seja bem vindo a eternidade!
    Expand
  37. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    The best albums are often born out of the struggle to overcome adversity and pain. The process of picking over, examining, and releasing demons through the medium of music mostly results in albums that are honest, unguarded, and emotionally raw - all of which makes for a bloody-good listen. While Channel Orange, the debut album by 24-year-old singer-songwriter/rapper Frank Ocean, certainlyThe best albums are often born out of the struggle to overcome adversity and pain. The process of picking over, examining, and releasing demons through the medium of music mostly results in albums that are honest, unguarded, and emotionally raw - all of which makes for a bloody-good listen. While Channel Orange, the debut album by 24-year-old singer-songwriter/rapper Frank Ocean, certainly fits into this category, it is Ocean Expand
  38. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    amazing. his album is reminiscent to prince mixed with take your pick of RnB singers. his range is splendid. i agree wholeheartedly that this is the RnB we were waiting for.
  39. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the greater, defining albums of this new era of music. Frank Ocean blends genres and tell us enchanting stories with ease. On top of his ingenious song writing, his melodies will have us all humming away when we at least expect it. Ocean's music is a breath of fresh clean air that he allows all of us, male or female, to inhale.
  40. Jul 23, 2012
    10
    Really creative, smooth and lyrically meaningful R&B. Channel Orange brings a deep, poetic lyricism to R&B that has been sadly absent for quite some time. And the beats and his vocals are nice and polished. Definitely a must have album.
  41. Aug 9, 2012
    9
    This album is nothing short of amazing.
    Not immediately - it takes a while to fully appreciate.
    There are little details in the production that are almost subliminal - people talking quietly in the distance, the sound of a woman turned on, etc. These details make the music exciting and rewarding to keep coming back to. The style is so inventive - Ocean takes you on a journey similar to
    This album is nothing short of amazing.
    Not immediately - it takes a while to fully appreciate.
    There are little details in the production that are almost subliminal - people talking quietly in the distance, the sound of a woman turned on, etc. These details make the music exciting and rewarding to keep coming back to.
    The style is so inventive - Ocean takes you on a journey similar to what I would think of Pink Floyd doing.
    This music makes me so thoughtful and reflective - his emotions pour out in nearly all the songs. Favorites are Lost, Bad Religion, Thinkin Bout You and Forrest Gump. The whole album, however slow, possibly cliched and wandering at times, is an emotional and enthralling journey I would recommend to anyone with an open mind. I've been listening to Channel Orange nonstop.
    Expand
  42. Feb 21, 2013
    4
    For me, the album does not evoke the same emotion as it has for the rest of the world. Before writing this review, I had listened to the album more than five times and I honestly cannot understand the complexity of this album. Of course certain songs do shine more than others such as Thinking about u and Pyramids however the rest seems like such a blur. When I read the lyrics without theFor me, the album does not evoke the same emotion as it has for the rest of the world. Before writing this review, I had listened to the album more than five times and I honestly cannot understand the complexity of this album. Of course certain songs do shine more than others such as Thinking about u and Pyramids however the rest seems like such a blur. When I read the lyrics without the accompaniment of music, I then understood the stories being told. He is more of a poet than singer. I feel as R&B has not produced amazing albums as of late, a silver lining such as Channel Orange may seem more than what it is. Favourite song: thinking about you
    Amazing concept: Pyramids Nice collaboration: Pink Matter feat. Outkast
    Collapse
  43. Jan 4, 2013
    10
    Frank Ocean has brought back substance and style to R&B, releasing one of the best R&B albums since Voodoo by D'Angelo. His debut record, channel ORANGE already feels like a classic, mixing jazz fusion, pop, funk, R&B and soul into one cohesive record. Forget about the controversy surrounding his sexuality; Frank Ocean is already a fascinating artist who has much more to deliver.
  44. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Channel Orange is pure ambition. Frank Ocean's great vocals and unconventional melodies and production create a total re-imagining of R&B. The best album I've heard since Kanye West's 2010 My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy.
  45. Jan 29, 2013
    8
    Demonios, la publicidad es poderosa, y aunque no soy fan de este genero, (Fan de Mr. oizo, Autechre, etc.)
    me parece un album que funciona, gracias a la maravillosa voz de Ocean. Tiene gran profundidad la musica, la produccion es impecable con una calidad excelente. Pero no todo es color de rosa en este disco, que a mi parecer esta un poco sobrevalorado gracias a la reciente confesion de
    Demonios, la publicidad es poderosa, y aunque no soy fan de este genero, (Fan de Mr. oizo, Autechre, etc.)
    me parece un album que funciona, gracias a la maravillosa voz de Ocean. Tiene gran profundidad la musica, la produccion es impecable con una calidad excelente. Pero no todo es color de rosa en este disco, que a mi parecer esta un poco sobrevalorado gracias a la reciente confesion de la bisexualidad de Frank O.
    Los temas que toca son repetitivos y sus letras no tan profundas como su calificacion sugiere. El "AMOR" abarca un 90% de su album, y cansa un poco lo mismo en todas las canciones.
    Si bien no es para comprarlo, una escuchada claro que vale la pena.
    Expand
  46. Oct 6, 2012
    6
    All of these new R&B artists don't have the same soul feeling like early Stevie Wonder or Anita Baker. None of them have any stand out hits . I feel a certain weakness in their R&B where there should be solid hits. I have a yearning to want to like this music, but they are coming up just a bit short. Sorry...
  47. Jul 29, 2012
    7
    The praise this album is getting was already decided way before it was released. The listening public and the critics want this album to be good so they say it is. What Frank Ocean has produced is a fine album that doffs its cap to Stevie Wonder and a few other R&B legends. The modern twist on the production gives it a more updated feel too and actually captures some of the emotion inThe praise this album is getting was already decided way before it was released. The listening public and the critics want this album to be good so they say it is. What Frank Ocean has produced is a fine album that doffs its cap to Stevie Wonder and a few other R&B legends. The modern twist on the production gives it a more updated feel too and actually captures some of the emotion in Ocean's voice that older methods may have missed. But there are no hooks that are worth remembering. Considering that Ocean has written songs for Justin Bieber, there's a lack of loud chorus on here that may have given Ocean another dimension to exlpore and show off the fantastic vocal and instrumental production on this thing. 'Pyramids' would have been perfect as a shorter track because it's the most radio-friendly song on Channel Orange. People are literally spaffing their pants over this album when it barely deserves an erection Expand
  48. Sep 21, 2012
    7
    I loved this album on first listen and enjoy it slightly less with the passage of time and plays. Another reviewer here refers to Ocean's genius and Janelle Monae. I experienced the same exhilaration with her last album and now can't bring myself to listen to it at all. Maybe genius' albums should have best before dates stamped on them.
  49. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    channel Orange is an ambitious, perfectly produced record that lives up to all the hype it received when it was released. Each track is layered with perfect harmonies and smooth flow from Ocean. The reason it's so appealing to me is because Frank Ocean's vocal ranges are incredibly powerful and so honest that it's so easy to fall in love with this album. The lyrics are among the best thischannel Orange is an ambitious, perfectly produced record that lives up to all the hype it received when it was released. Each track is layered with perfect harmonies and smooth flow from Ocean. The reason it's so appealing to me is because Frank Ocean's vocal ranges are incredibly powerful and so honest that it's so easy to fall in love with this album. The lyrics are among the best this year and his life is literally spilling out at you through these tracks. All In All, Frank Ocean's channel Orange is the best R&B record this year and among the best of the year. B+ Expand
  50. CPB
    Jan 2, 2013
    9
    The best album I have heard in 2012.
  51. Jul 29, 2012
    8
    "Pyramids" has to be one of Frank's best songs. After hearing this 10 minute long story with beautiful complex beat I thought the album would be much better than "Nostalgia,ULTRA". While this album does show off even more of Ocean's amazing writing skills it lacks the melodic hooks that made "Nostalgia" even more of an amazing effort. That's not to say there aren't any, "Thinkin' Bout You""Pyramids" has to be one of Frank's best songs. After hearing this 10 minute long story with beautiful complex beat I thought the album would be much better than "Nostalgia,ULTRA". While this album does show off even more of Ocean's amazing writing skills it lacks the melodic hooks that made "Nostalgia" even more of an amazing effort. That's not to say there aren't any, "Thinkin' Bout You" is probably the best example considering the mind-blowing falsetto. So my opinion on the whole thing is that it's a great debut but it's extremely overrated because of personal letter from artist that made it's way onto internet a couple of days before the release of album. My favourite tracks are (in no particular order): "Pyramids", "Lost", "Crack Rock", "Bad Religion" & "Pink Matter" . Expand
  52. Jul 18, 2012
    6
    The hype surrounding this album is ridiculous. A mediocre R&B album that probably would have went unnoticed if it weren't for the artist recently being in the headlines.
  53. np6
    Oct 3, 2012
    10
    This is the most addictive album I've listen in a long time. And I am not even close of being a fan of R&B or rap.Can't wait to see where Frank goes from here. Well done!!!
  54. Dec 29, 2012
    10
    Channel Orange is not just an album sung straight through from beginning to end. This is a story sung in complete perfection that only Frank Ocean could portray. Ocean is different, exciting, and complex, he pushed the boundaries that R&B could handle and it worked beautifully. People want to focus on his songs about is sexuality (Forrest Gump, Bad Religion) but he is showing hisChannel Orange is not just an album sung straight through from beginning to end. This is a story sung in complete perfection that only Frank Ocean could portray. Ocean is different, exciting, and complex, he pushed the boundaries that R&B could handle and it worked beautifully. People want to focus on his songs about is sexuality (Forrest Gump, Bad Religion) but he is showing his struggles with finding love in all forms, which is what he is only trying to find. Yet, he shows his love for the strippers (Pyramids, Lost) and the parties (Super Rich Kids, Monks), but his ballads are what show his true colors in the masterpiece that is "Thinkin Bout you," where he struggles in his questions to love someone forever. Bottom line: The album is a masterpiece from beginning to end, this album is already a classic that touches the minds of all the people who will listen to it. Expand
  55. Jul 19, 2012
    7
    The album has its high points and they are certainly high as far as modern R&B goes, but it isn't as tied down as Nostalgia/Ultra, which is the superior of the two. Highlights include: Pyramids, Lost, Bad Religion, and Thinkin Bout You. It's a must-listen for 2012, but won't be the best major label record Frank Ocean delivers hopefully.
  56. Aug 23, 2012
    9
    Frank Ocean was one of last years sleeper hits and after appearing twice on Jay Z & Kanye West's collaboration album Watch the Throne and a critically acclaimed debut mixtape Nostalgia Ultra, Frank released his debut album Channel Orange. On this album Frank brings back the classic R&B we all thought was dead and does a very good job at it.
  57. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    Probably one of the best longplays of the year. And it's so neworleansese.) Fank Ocean sounds like Stevie Wonder of our days. "Lost" is my favourite track by the way.
  58. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    An RnB classic that people will be listening to for years to come. Better than anything usher, chris brown, r kelly, the weeknd, ne yo, and others are putting out. He doesn't have the strongest voice....but his melodies are insane
  59. Oct 8, 2012
    9
    Check the Rapgenius homepage for getting background informations to the lyrics. Like the best rappers on earth, Ocean has often double meanings and seldomly also triple meanings! He is a god in songwriting and a king in singing. Still, I have to say, not every single song sweeped me off my feet. Nonetheless, it's a rememberable work of art.
  60. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    This is an absolutely gorgeous album. Every song on this record exudes powerful emotions, whether talking seriously about doomed or failed relationships to those of frivolity and nonchalance. The details of establishing a dichotomy between the rich and poor through the song selection and lyrical choice works very well. There are also many great beats accompanying Frank's soulful voice.This is an absolutely gorgeous album. Every song on this record exudes powerful emotions, whether talking seriously about doomed or failed relationships to those of frivolity and nonchalance. The details of establishing a dichotomy between the rich and poor through the song selection and lyrical choice works very well. There are also many great beats accompanying Frank's soulful voice. The vignettes add touches of color and help to personify the release. This has definitely made its way into "My Island 5" for sure. Expand
  61. Aug 10, 2012
    10
    Best album of the year! Almost perfect, my personal favourite songs are Thinkin Bout You, Pink Matter, Bad Religion and Forrest Gump. Amazing voice and lyrics!
  62. Aug 20, 2012
    6
    After listening to this (extremely lengthy) album in its entirety, one word comes to mind: overrated. While I applaud Frank for his creativity and uniqueness, his voice wears on the nerves after about 4 songs. I think he COULD be a great artist one day, but he needs to develop his vocal range. It's like Justin Timberlake in his N*Sync days--passionate, but it sounds like his balls areAfter listening to this (extremely lengthy) album in its entirety, one word comes to mind: overrated. While I applaud Frank for his creativity and uniqueness, his voice wears on the nerves after about 4 songs. I think he COULD be a great artist one day, but he needs to develop his vocal range. It's like Justin Timberlake in his N*Sync days--passionate, but it sounds like his balls are caught in a vice. If you take away all the hype surrounding his sexual orientation and Odd Future affiliation, you're left with a mediocre album full of head-scratching lyrics and concepts. Expand
  63. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    The best album of 2012(so far). Frank does not sound like anyone else. Though his lyrics are at times out there he brings it back and delivered an awesome album.
  64. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    As a longtime Frank Ocean fan, it would be foolish to describe my review as unbiased. However, the absolute class and beauty of channel ORANGE leaves this record at an undeniable 10/10. The amount of talent broadcasted throughout this splendid record will undoubtedly allow it to prosper many years into the future.
  65. Sep 23, 2012
    10
    To define Frank ocean would be difficult. Is he an R&B crooner? A Neo Soul Singer? This generations
  66. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    This album is literally a canvas filled with rich imagery of Ocean's lyrics, bind together with the precision & detail of a great musician; This is literally a masterpiece of Ocean's deepest thoughts.
  67. Nov 1, 2012
    10
    Almost none of my friends like Frank Ocean. Some can "handle" him, but few truly like his music. My friends are the ones that like that really hardcore rap music. You know, the songs about sex, drinking, money, fame, fancy cars, women. The ones where they cuss they every other line, and where all the songs are about the same thing. I think the problem is simple. They can't understand trueAlmost none of my friends like Frank Ocean. Some can "handle" him, but few truly like his music. My friends are the ones that like that really hardcore rap music. You know, the songs about sex, drinking, money, fame, fancy cars, women. The ones where they cuss they every other line, and where all the songs are about the same thing. I think the problem is simple. They can't understand true music when they hear it. Channel Orange is the best album of the year, and revived true R&B music. When was the last time you heard anything like this? It's been a while. I can't stop listening to this raw, new, soulful album. It's beautiful. It's an instant classic piece of music. The flow and production are phenomenal. The songs go around the usual "newfound success" genre and make you realize what Frank sees of this new fame and lifestyle. It's a perfect debut album. He puts us right in his shoes and tells us what he thinks.
    And yes, Frank Ocean is an amazing musician. Does he have potential? More than enough. His ideas are creative and refreshing. Channel Orange is an album to appreciate and enjoy, and I have done that each and every listen. And I don't care if Frank Ocean is gay, straight, lesbian, asexual, black, purple, yellow, or orange. He is a musician whose albums I will anticipate, whose songs I will sing along to, and whose personality I can understand. Listen to Channel Orange.
    Expand
  68. Nov 3, 2012
    10
    incredible album for an incredible artiste with such soulful hooks and meaningful lyrics...i see dis album as one of the best for 2012 and a possibility of being nominated for album of the year at the grammys!
  69. Nov 9, 2012
    10
    'Channel Orange' does amazing as a debut from an R&B singer. Frank Ocean effortlessly puts together a good album. Complete with mysterious interludes, filled with new-styled contemporary R&B, soul-ish beats with a modern edge to them. It also touches on themes of Bisexuality, being a first to do so
  70. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    One of the best albums of the year...super music......................................................................................................
  71. Jan 10, 2013
    10
    Frank Ocean has poured his heart out into, what I would say is one of the best RnB albums in the last 10 years. Not scared to experiment or be different he has produced songs that people want to hear, and frankly I cant stop playing it. Pyramids, though epic in length; is outstanding especially compared to the commercial, overplayed, overproduced, repetitive 'music' released nowadays.Frank Ocean has poured his heart out into, what I would say is one of the best RnB albums in the last 10 years. Not scared to experiment or be different he has produced songs that people want to hear, and frankly I cant stop playing it. Pyramids, though epic in length; is outstanding especially compared to the commercial, overplayed, overproduced, repetitive 'music' released nowadays. Frank Ocean has produced an album with so many artistic layers, with little snippets of flickering TV channels and conversations, not to mentions the 'jingle-esque' fertilizer, expressing soul in a comical way. If you haven't heard the album, do not underestimate it's sheer genius and beauty. Thank god for Channel Orange Expand
  72. Dec 4, 2012
    10
    Frank Ocean has done the whole genre of R&B a tremendous service with this album. Unlike his contemporaries hiding behind vocoder effects Frank projects soul not seen since the legends of the seventies. There is a real depth of emotion captured here that I have not seen in recent R&B, check out Sweet Life or Bad Religion. The lyrics are great and delivered with pace & style. His mainFrank Ocean has done the whole genre of R&B a tremendous service with this album. Unlike his contemporaries hiding behind vocoder effects Frank projects soul not seen since the legends of the seventies. There is a real depth of emotion captured here that I have not seen in recent R&B, check out Sweet Life or Bad Religion. The lyrics are great and delivered with pace & style. His main strength is his amazing vocals, Frank can sing in a way that makes you wonder if anyone else out there actually can. Expand
  73. Dec 19, 2012
    10
    Absolutely amazing. It just gets better with every listen. I can't recommend it enough.
  74. Dec 20, 2012
    10
    It's rare to hear an album so poignant in lyrics and instrumentation that appeals to so many listeners. If you have followed Ocean this album's reach and honesty is no surprise. He croons, serenades, and speaks from the soul like no other. As a first true "album" the range and command of his talent is evident...
  75. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    Best album since Kanye's "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy" Different kinds of singles but all the singles contain a same special Ocean's heart-broken feeling. Perfect songs. Perfect vocal performances. No doubt that is the album of the year.
  76. Feb 15, 2013
    10
    Every track in this album is outstandingly strong, each song telling its own story. However, not only are there so many solid tracks, as an album each track compliments each other. The darker tracks, such as Pink matter, blend perfectly with the more brighter, happier songs such as Forrest Gump to make a brilliant and complete album.
  77. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    Emotional, raw, deep, and lyricism at its finest, Frank Ocean delivers on "channel ORANGE," making it one of the best albums in recent memory. The album as a whole serves as commentary, but the smooth manner bombining many genres of music together in which Ocean explores his issues makes the listen all the more enjoyable. Even the tracks "Start" and "End," which can be described asEmotional, raw, deep, and lyricism at its finest, Frank Ocean delivers on "channel ORANGE," making it one of the best albums in recent memory. The album as a whole serves as commentary, but the smooth manner bombining many genres of music together in which Ocean explores his issues makes the listen all the more enjoyable. Even the tracks "Start" and "End," which can be described as sound bites, are enjoyable in the context of the full album. By the end, Ocean's album will have you wanting more. Expand
  78. Mar 3, 2013
    9
    Definitely my album of 2012 and essential listening for anyone who is interested in hearing what R&B can be in this age where the genre has largely been condemned to the toilets of 'da club'. Reeking of poor song-writing, flooded with offensive sentiments and overproduction which is spilled over by the proverbial urinal cake of auto-tune. Instead, Frank Ocean has produced a clever andDefinitely my album of 2012 and essential listening for anyone who is interested in hearing what R&B can be in this age where the genre has largely been condemned to the toilets of 'da club'. Reeking of poor song-writing, flooded with offensive sentiments and overproduction which is spilled over by the proverbial urinal cake of auto-tune. Instead, Frank Ocean has produced a clever and catchy album which not only showcases his impressive (and super soulful) vocal abilities but also his smart strongly metaphorical and satirical style as a lyricist. Unfortunately for me, his album was tainted by moments of self-indulgence in the form of the many 'filler' tracks amongst the 'real' songs which overstepped the line from inspired quirkiness into pretentiousness. Despite that, there are just so many fantastic tracks such as 'Lost', 'Super Rich Kids' and 'Forrest Gump', however 'Sweet Life' is the stand out track for me. Expand
  79. Nov 1, 2014
    10
    A beautiful album that explores many different dimensions, what makes it mostly beautiful is Frank Ocean who isn't afraid to dig inside those dimensions and along the way makes the listeners dig into them as well.
  80. Apr 16, 2013
    10
    When it's good, it's amazing, but there are few moments of the album that are hollow and therefore not deserving of a 10. However, that shouldn't take away from the fact that this is a 9.
  81. Jun 2, 2013
    10
    Best of the best albums of 2012, Channel Orange is the spearhead of the next R'n'B generation. Diversity & idiosyncrasy of the album combined with the ability to make the music accessible without taking many spins & plays made it the most beautiful record of 2012. From the sentimental "Thinking About You" to the bourgeois-esque "Super Rich Kids", Frank somehow managed to make every trackBest of the best albums of 2012, Channel Orange is the spearhead of the next R'n'B generation. Diversity & idiosyncrasy of the album combined with the ability to make the music accessible without taking many spins & plays made it the most beautiful record of 2012. From the sentimental "Thinking About You" to the bourgeois-esque "Super Rich Kids", Frank somehow managed to make every track on this album to become an album-single-material (yes even "Start" and "Fertilizer"). Highlight of highlight tracks: Lost, Pyramids, Monks, Thinking About You, Super Rich Kids, Crack Rock. Expand
  82. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    Through R&B swing and smooth colored pop, Frank Ocean pours out the love within his soulful heart and creates a modern day masterpiece for all past and future generations to intake and compare to all the other music that has long past its halls of reigning.
  83. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    this album is incredible. give it a few listens before you declare it a masterpiece, i did and it changed my view on this album. sierra leone is a masterpiece, every song on the album is great. it's recomended to listen to this album while you're in love
  84. Mar 30, 2013
    10
    Let's get something straight. A lot of the negatives that I see on Channel ORANGE have to do with the pacing of the individual tracks and the lack of originality and creativity. Well, these are the understandable negatives.

    This is not an album to fit into traditional R&B. You're not going to be twerking to Frank Ocean's Channel ORANGE. No, most likely you'll be slightly bobbin your
    Let's get something straight. A lot of the negatives that I see on Channel ORANGE have to do with the pacing of the individual tracks and the lack of originality and creativity. Well, these are the understandable negatives.

    This is not an album to fit into traditional R&B. You're not going to be twerking to Frank Ocean's Channel ORANGE. No, most likely you'll be slightly bobbin your head thinking of another place in another time, doing something else. More than music that's straight forward, Frank's voice has the ability—along with the thought-provoking beats—to whack you away from the immediate story at hand. That's what has been happening to me no that I've played the album more than 150 times. That's what happens when the pacing is what it is. It's not really a negative because it's not an ignorant mistake. The pacing was purposefully chosen. Nobody has to like it, but if this isn't the kind of music you like, how can you rate it?

    As for creativity, this album dives into this individual's experiences as a young man. Not everybody is different. In fact, we're more the same than most want to believe. Is Frank the first person to go through what he's gone through? No, but Frank brings his unbelievably descriptive and metaphorical language to paint stories that I feel go right over a lot of listeners' heads. It's like calling Faulkner bad writer because he didn't like to mess with punctuation.

    By now, I've mentioned what I like about Channel Orange by diving into some critiques on the album. My favorite tracks are Thinkin' Bout You, Sierra Leone, Super Rich Kids, Pilot Jones, Crack Rock, Bad Religion, Pink Matter, Forest Gump, End (Voodoo).
    Expand
  85. Apr 9, 2013
    8
    It does get repetitive, but that's the style he was going for. He is a great singer and this album was produced like a Kanye album! This album had a perfect mix of R & B and Pop.
  86. Jun 14, 2013
    8
    A bit too much filler on this thing, but the vast majority of this album is a beautiful. A tad overrated as some of the tracks just aren't that compelling. The production is definitely unique though
  87. Jul 14, 2013
    10
    Frank Ocean's "Channel Orange" is a musical marvel in comparison to a majority of the music on the market these days. Each track does a excellent job of not only sounding spectacular but also portraying powerful and emotional narratives. It stands out in the modern music industry as an avant-garde collection of stories portrayed through excellent music.
  88. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Definitely a masterpiece. It is one of the best albums I've heard in my life. While it begins in a simple, as the songs go by, it gradually becomes more complex. Frank Ocean knows how to make you addicted to him music, knows how to make a perfect album from start to finish
  89. Aug 3, 2013
    8
    Has it's gems, would give it an 8.5 if i could, but its not up there enough for me to give it a 9, has great tracks like Thinkin bout you, Pyramids, Super Rich Kids, Pink Matter,Forrest Gump, definitely worth a listen.
  90. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    NOTE: An 8 from me means I really liked it. I don't toss 10s around.

    The last album I listened to was Vampire Weekend's sophomore release, Contra, an excellent album, but which was bursting with lyrical content about anything and everything, whether it was Nicaragua, The Clash, old video games, or the breakup it was actually supposed to be about. Frank Ocean has interesting lyrical
    NOTE: An 8 from me means I really liked it. I don't toss 10s around.

    The last album I listened to was Vampire Weekend's sophomore release, Contra, an excellent album, but which was bursting with lyrical content about anything and everything, whether it was Nicaragua, The Clash, old video games, or the breakup it was actually supposed to be about. Frank Ocean has interesting lyrical content throughout this album as well, but it's much more concentrated on the theme. I can tell that this record overall was inspired by the homosexual relationship described in his "open letter", but he also goes into other relevant parts of his life and past, like being filthy rich and dealing with his unrequited first love. I've yet to understand whatever the hell is going on in "Pink Matter", though.

    This is musically an inferior album to Contra, though. While I do love the beats on tracks like "Thinkin Bout You", "Super Rich Kids", and "Lost", it's just not up to par on songs like "Sierra Leone", "Pilot Jones", and "Monks". I guess you could call it a "meh" album in this regard, because it is. This could possibly be my album of the year 2012 if it were better this way.

    But as a whole? Yeah, this album's pretty excellent. In spite of what I said earlier about its inconsistent production quality, that matters not too much because this is a lyric-based LP. And its good tracks can be extremely good, especially in the case of "Pyramids", very likely my favorite song of 2012 (although I'm well aware that I'm not the only one who thinks this, this is generally hailed as a modern classic). "Pyramids" is just one of those songs where you just have to take a step back and bask in its awesomeness. It's no epic, extended crescendo; it's not "Stairway to Heaven", it's not "Bohemian Rhapsody", it's not "Won't Get Fooled Again". It doesn't even follow the model of modern long songs like Green Day's "Jesus of Suburbia", LCD Soundsystem's "All My Friends", or Justin Timberlake's "What Goes Around... Comes Around". It's completely different thing altogether, an entity unto itself. I don't think there's any song I've heard before that I can compare it to, which earns it even more respect than I already give it.

    It's also worth noting that Frank is an excellent singer, and his vocal ability is especially pronounced on songs like "Pyramids" and "Thinkin Bout You", actually my two favorite songs from the album. But like the former song, I can't think of anyone it reminds me of. When I hear the voice on a Frank Ocean song, I'll easily be able to recognize it as his.

    STANDOUT TRACKS: THINKIN BOUT YOU, SWEET LIFE, SUPER RICH KIDS, PYRAMIDS, LOST, WHITE, BAD RELIGION, FORREST GUMP
    Expand
  91. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    A smooth, beautiful album featuring Frank's vocal and stylistic range that tells a Los Angeles love story and all the complications involved, from lack of mutualistic attraction to surprisingly falling in love with another man.
  92. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    brings peace. Beautiful composition. This is a classic that I recently discovered after going on odd future' website and downloading nostalgia/Ultra. Very strong debut from Ocean and I expect more great things from him in the hopefully near future. Highlights include "Thinkin Bout You", "Super Rich Kids", and "Pyramids".
  93. May 11, 2014
    10
    Channel Orange - what an amazing album.
    Frank Ocean has given some beautiful songs like Forrest Gump, Lost, Thinking 'bout you, Pyramids.
    The album has a very distinct essence unlike other mainstream contemporary albums.
    A must listen. 10/10
  94. May 19, 2014
    8
    wow this album is great track after track frank delivers great vocals and interesting topics. this album doesn't lack at all production is great very catchy songs of this, some of my favourites are bad religion,super rich kids,and lost there just a few every track on this album is well done nothing felled rushed. very impressed with franks debut album.
  95. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    This album does a fine job in both music production and lyric production as well. My favorite track of the album has got to be Super Rich Kids. I would recommend anyone to listen to this album.
  96. Oct 28, 2014
    10
    Best album of 2012. And probably one of the best albums of all time. Really! It's amazing. Frank's style is amazing. The beats are awesome, the lyrics is very smart. This album takes you to California, Los Angeles. While you're listening to the album there are no clouds in the sky. And you're sitting on a chair on the street and... just enjoying the flaming sun.

    And it has a very
    Best album of 2012. And probably one of the best albums of all time. Really! It's amazing. Frank's style is amazing. The beats are awesome, the lyrics is very smart. This album takes you to California, Los Angeles. While you're listening to the album there are no clouds in the sky. And you're sitting on a chair on the street and... just enjoying the flaming sun.

    And it has a very original and creative thing. This album is a channel. He is changing channels all the time and... he can't find a channel where he isn't there.

    He did this thing in his mixtape too. In '2011' with "nostalgia,ULTRA."

    He is talking a lot about his past too.

    In "Thinikn' Bout You' he admitted the he has fall in love once with a guy when he was 19.

    And there's an epic 10 minute song too. "Pyramids" That song is amazing! One of the best lyrics that I've ever heard. It's separated for two parts. And between them there are sounds that helps the first part fade into the second.

    The lyrics are describing the place and the situation where Frank is. It's beautiful.

    It takes you to Egypt.. and to a strip club called "The Pyramid" in the middle of the desert.

    And the word "Pyramid" has a lot of meanings too.

    This is an amazing R&B/Neo Soul album.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 46
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 46
  3. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Sep 14, 2012
    80
    Sumptuous and sprawling, his major label debut comfortably backs up the hype. [Oct 2012, p.86]
  2. Aug 20, 2012
    80
    While Ocean's artistic ambition is impressive, it's his haunting candour that really casts a spell. [Sep 2012, p.106]
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    [A] rich and complex album. [Sep 2012, p.95]