Charmbracelet

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Dec 3, 2002
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 133
  2. Negative: 41 out of 133

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 10, 2015
    3
    Sadly, the only great tracks on the album are "Bringin' On The Hearbreak" and "Through the Rain". After her breakdown/erratic behavior, Glitter's performance, and the events on September 11, 2001, I feel that Mariah should of taken a longer break and recover musically. Her voice on this album just tells me that she lost it. I kind of regret listening to the album. If she wanted more sleepSadly, the only great tracks on the album are "Bringin' On The Hearbreak" and "Through the Rain". After her breakdown/erratic behavior, Glitter's performance, and the events on September 11, 2001, I feel that Mariah should of taken a longer break and recover musically. Her voice on this album just tells me that she lost it. I kind of regret listening to the album. If she wanted more sleep (as she said during her breakdown in 2001, she should've relaxed more instead of rushing to release a album the next year). Expand
  2. Jason
    Dec 22, 2002
    1
    I threw the CD away the day I bought it
  3. NC
    Nov 21, 2005
    0
    Is this a joke?
  4. ExMariahFan
    Dec 23, 2002
    0
    If Glitter is the worst album in the history of mankind, then this is the second worst
  5. BobH
    Dec 30, 2002
    0
    I never judge an album based on its cover, but trust me, the music here is as bad as Mariah's face, both ugly and washed out
  6. polarbear
    Dec 27, 2002
    0
    somebody please stop her from bleeding our ears
  7. Loki
    Dec 24, 2002
    0
    hey vanilla ice, i guess somebody made an album soo bad that made your's look good
  8. MissThing
    Dec 28, 2002
    0
    Mariah darling, please go back to your roots and make beautiful music; don't try to put as many breathy notes in a track as possible - it gets kinda boring. Ans sweety, darling...please put on some clothes. You look like Christina Aguilera and you've got more style than that... (although atmittedly, Christina's latest album is absolutely wonderful and everything your album Mariah darling, please go back to your roots and make beautiful music; don't try to put as many breathy notes in a track as possible - it gets kinda boring. Ans sweety, darling...please put on some clothes. You look like Christina Aguilera and you've got more style than that... (although atmittedly, Christina's latest album is absolutely wonderful and everything your album is not). And please, PLEASE: no more silly songs like :Through The Rain. Extremely pathetic, especially in combination with the heart-wrenching video! Cut the crap and start making great songs... Expand
  9. EchoD
    Dec 24, 2002
    0
    I liked one of her songs 10 years ago. You know, the one she didn't write, the one she just sang on. She's a one-hit-wonder with a killer bootie that is only parallelled by J-Lo's. Well, now her bootie is losing shape and her songs haven't taken shape in the last ten years. Ghetto-Blasters and Club-Mixers can't save Mariah "Britney caused me to breakdown" Carey. I liked one of her songs 10 years ago. You know, the one she didn't write, the one she just sang on. She's a one-hit-wonder with a killer bootie that is only parallelled by J-Lo's. Well, now her bootie is losing shape and her songs haven't taken shape in the last ten years. Ghetto-Blasters and Club-Mixers can't save Mariah "Britney caused me to breakdown" Carey. Oh well. I tried to like one song, but then she started singing and created a pathetic distance from the music. Reminds me of Eddie Van Halen's solos. Yeah, the ability is there, but there is no creativity. I love high-pitched singing, but not when it's all you've got left. Expand
  10. bangmanbm
    Dec 30, 2002
    0
    This album sucks
  11. john
    Oct 21, 2003
    0
    This cd took away over 64 minutes of my life and I want it back.
  12. GY!BE
    Dec 14, 2002
    0
    Is Mariah Carey the most pathetically lame "artist" in music today? Absolutely. Is this album complete and total shit? You bet. So why does she carry on making records? Because apparently she isn't in on the joke: her.
  13. TuoyoJ
    Dec 13, 2002
    0
    Looks like she is not ready to come back anytime soon. Crap!
  14. AaronL
    Dec 17, 2002
    2
    Would some one please find this girl an actual song? She's such a gifted vocalist and to see that talent wasted on such "songs" as these is heartbreaking. Please, Mariah, forget the hip-hop, forget the bombastic pointless ballads, dump the rap, and get back to the truly lovely pop/R&B that made you a star. And producers, take note: lasso that wonderful voice in - don't let her Would some one please find this girl an actual song? She's such a gifted vocalist and to see that talent wasted on such "songs" as these is heartbreaking. Please, Mariah, forget the hip-hop, forget the bombastic pointless ballads, dump the rap, and get back to the truly lovely pop/R&B that made you a star. And producers, take note: lasso that wonderful voice in - don't let her get out of control and sound like Christina Aquilera in heat on steroids. Collapse
  15. brownalan
    Jan 19, 2003
    0
    Her voice is ingrating and the music is totally uninspired. Anyone who purchases this album should really question their motivation for doing so.
  16. johng
    Dec 19, 2002
    0
    don't buy this, unless you like to do charity for this soon to be dead diva
  17. jcmontero
    Mar 1, 2003
    1
    heavenly MARIAH strikes again, HELLA GREAT album!!! CHARMBRACELET is the BEST!!! mariah im YOURS!!!
  18. hean
    Dec 16, 2002
    0
    What a bad CD
  19. heanv
    Dec 17, 2002
    1
    This album is just plain bad
  20. JohnnyQ
    Dec 25, 2002
    0
    I received this as a Christmas present, but I gave it to the dumpster dude
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. While fans of her early-'90s material will find much to embrace here, those that rallied 'round the singer during her hip-hop days may feel lost and abandoned.
  2. Her voice is damaged, and there's not a moment where it sounds strong or inviting. That alone would be disturbing, but since the songs are formless and the production bland -- another reason why the hip-hop announces itself, even though it's nowhere near as pronounced as it has been since Butterfly -- her tired voice becomes the only thing to concentrate on, and it's a sad, ugly thing, making an album that would merely have been her worst into something tragic.
  3. A step ahead of the J-Los of the world; a step behind what may prove to be a career pinnacle.