Charmbracelet

  • Record Label: Def Jam
  • Release Date: Dec 3, 2002
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 146
  2. Negative: 42 out of 146

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. laurenf
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    propa rite gd
  2. Apr 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This album is an underrated album, in my opinion: it contains a lot of good songs, like the lead single Through the Rain, The one, Bringin' on the Heartbreak, etc.... It also contains two songs that are sill my favorite Mariah' songs: My saving grace and I only Wanted. I think this album is one of her best album of her career. Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    Charmbracelet is an acquired taste that will probably only be loved by her closest fans, though there are flashes of brilliance for everyone to enjoy, from the final explosive chorus of "Through The Rain" to the rock-influenced drama of "Bringing On The Heartbreak". The album's biggest fallback is its insistence on undersinging, which is all the more infuriating coming from a woman knownCharmbracelet is an acquired taste that will probably only be loved by her closest fans, though there are flashes of brilliance for everyone to enjoy, from the final explosive chorus of "Through The Rain" to the rock-influenced drama of "Bringing On The Heartbreak". The album's biggest fallback is its insistence on undersinging, which is all the more infuriating coming from a woman known for her voice. Looking past that however, there melodies are solid, the lyrics are fresh, and the album works together well as a whole. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2014
    9
    Mariah Carey's Charmbracelet album is a combination of adult contemporary, R&B and Hip Hop music, as well as the teen-pop love feeling. Carey diverses the correct music of the early 2000s as one of many early starters. Each composition contains all of Carey's chosen genres,except Sunflowers for Alfred Roy, are carefully planned out and has a catchy tune in all of them. Charmbracelet holdsMariah Carey's Charmbracelet album is a combination of adult contemporary, R&B and Hip Hop music, as well as the teen-pop love feeling. Carey diverses the correct music of the early 2000s as one of many early starters. Each composition contains all of Carey's chosen genres,except Sunflowers for Alfred Roy, are carefully planned out and has a catchy tune in all of them. Charmbracelet holds Mariah as a little 8 year old to a late adult couple. Starting from the Through The Rain, Yours, and Sunflowers for Alfred Roy, Carey depicts herself as an 8 year old little girl having these hurtful moments and truthful moments. The One, Boy, You Got Me, My Saving Grace, Clown, Iressitable, Lullaby, I Know What You Want as her being a teenager to a Pre-adult. The rest are her adult ways of love or breakup, with a serious message. Overall, Mariah's voice sounds weak and get annoying listening to her whispering the one negative thing I don't like on this album, Mariah should of gave time for this album before release. However, this album is the best way to start an early 2000s album. Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    Álbum maravilhoso, incrível como ele é instrospectivo e pessoal... É viciante, nele temos batidas que só mesmo a Mariah consegue fazer, é totalmente coeso e inspirador...
  6. Nov 10, 2015
    10
    After the confusion and boycott that Mariah had suffered nothing better than an apology to the public, this album was preparing for his return, the carpet that lined the floor for your back.
  7. jeffe
    Jan 2, 2003
    10
    this album is the best album ever i lisen to mariah carey all my life and she is my all time favrite singer keep it up mariah dot give up you are the best female vocalis of all time
  8. [Anonymous]
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    This album is off the hook. Mariah's voice is so wonderful, and who cares if she sings with rappers/hip-hoppers. At least Mariah has and album or 12 albums and 1 sondtrack. What do you other people got? Nothing!!!! Mariah Rulez!!!
  9. ChrisF
    Dec 16, 2002
    9
    While Carey returns to her more traditional roots in this "comeback" album, fans will flock to get it. I personally find this album to contain Mariah at her best in some years. After a dreadful year of personal issues, she is back on track. Letting everyone see her talent range in voice soar. Even in most critics will bash these Mariah "roots," I think Mariah and herself will keep this While Carey returns to her more traditional roots in this "comeback" album, fans will flock to get it. I personally find this album to contain Mariah at her best in some years. After a dreadful year of personal issues, she is back on track. Letting everyone see her talent range in voice soar. Even in most critics will bash these Mariah "roots," I think Mariah and herself will keep this album on the top of the charts until the next one hits. Mariah is not singing for her critics but rather for thearpy and dedicated fans. She IS back. Expand
  10. MelissaA
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    I think this is mariahs best album ever. Her voice will never change no matter what occurs. She is an inspirations to millions and my idol. We love you mariah
  11. NickG
    Apr 2, 2004
    9
    I thought it was failry solid, but it didn't have many bouncy tracks (with the exception of Irresistable) like her previous albums (from Glitter all the way back to Emotions). I like her fuller voice too. I felt Glitter was stronger. But I still love the album becuase of its diversity. Subtle Invitation and Bringin on the Heartbreak were great additions. As was the remix of Through I thought it was failry solid, but it didn't have many bouncy tracks (with the exception of Irresistable) like her previous albums (from Glitter all the way back to Emotions). I like her fuller voice too. I felt Glitter was stronger. But I still love the album becuase of its diversity. Subtle Invitation and Bringin on the Heartbreak were great additions. As was the remix of Through the Rain. Expand
  12. MichaelK
    Jul 6, 2004
    9
    After Glitter, nothing more can be worst, but seriously this was an amazing album.
  13. RafaelS
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    As Mariah Carey was knows as the best-selling female artist in the 90s (and probably in history), she tries to come back with songs written in what was, her worst year (jul. 2001-jul.2002). And the results weren't bad. "Through The Rain" was a wise choice for a lead single, but the release of the single, months after its first radio appearence, was the worst decision ever in her As Mariah Carey was knows as the best-selling female artist in the 90s (and probably in history), she tries to come back with songs written in what was, her worst year (jul. 2001-jul.2002). And the results weren't bad. "Through The Rain" was a wise choice for a lead single, but the release of the single, months after its first radio appearence, was the worst decision ever in her career. But we can see a mature Mariah in this album, with songs about heartbreaks and hope (except for the "I want a man" songs, like Boy and Irresistble). "Bringin' On The Heartbreak was maybe her best cover song, and I really think nobody could change a rock song and turn it into the most emotional ballad ever, except for Mariah's talent. People need to take this bad impression they have onf Mariah and try to give her a chance. She's not the same oman she was in 1990, and she's definately NOT the woman she was in 2000-2001. Collapse
  14. MariçtiU
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    Really great CD, Congratulations.
  15. MariVo
    Mar 17, 2003
    10
    This album rocks! She put the last year of her life into it and it pays of with inspiring music. Bringing on the Heartbreak is going to be her 16th #1 hit!
  16. MISSLADY
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    THIS CD WAS OBVIOUSLY ABOUT ACTUAL EXPERIENCES AND I LIKE THE WAY SHE KEPT IT REAL!
  17. mystikal..
    Jan 4, 2003
    10
    excellent
  18. KimberlyN
    May 20, 2003
    10
    The entire album is generally very likeable, "Charmbracelet" is just as great as "Butterfly" and "Daydream". Well done Mariah!!
  19. FredO
    Dec 14, 2002
    10
    Listening to this album is an electrifying experience... Mariah's new material is indeed great... there is the insprirational "Through The Rain", already riding high on the airwaves, the beautiful ballad "Yours", Gospel-Inspired "My Saving Grace", the uptempo urban sounding "The One", one of the most powerful ballad covers she has done in recent years "Bringing On The Heartbreak", a Listening to this album is an electrifying experience... Mariah's new material is indeed great... there is the insprirational "Through The Rain", already riding high on the airwaves, the beautiful ballad "Yours", Gospel-Inspired "My Saving Grace", the uptempo urban sounding "The One", one of the most powerful ballad covers she has done in recent years "Bringing On The Heartbreak", a very catchy "Irresistable" and the jazzy "Subtle Invitation"... We also see Mariah's lyrical improvements in songs like "Sunflowers For Alfred Roy" and Clown... On the whole a great album that transcends us back to the Butterfly era... A widely anticipated comeback by one of the greatest divas ever in history... Expand
  20. JenniferV
    Dec 25, 2002
    10
    I love it!!!
  21. SeadB
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Actually this is an suprisingly good album!Probably Mariah's best! It's restrained and relaxed! Songs like Clown (about Eminem) and My Saving Grace blew me away!! It's full of hits but the tempo is pretty slow and it shows Mariah in a comfortable envirement!! Definetly recomending this one!!
  22. AM
    Mar 4, 2003
    10
    Mariah Is the BEST OF THE BEST! BECAUSE OF EVERYTHING HER BODY HER VOICE EVERYTHING!
  23. KenW
    Dec 23, 2002
    8
    Leave Mariah alone.
  24. sauvagetsteve
    Jan 18, 2003
    8
    It's not the best album of mariah carey but you have to listen it several times to like it. What does people want ? I think that bad critics about charmbracelet comes from people who likes jlo or others rnb pop stars and they don't support that mariah is the best, byyyyyyyyye !
  25. TroyB
    Dec 27, 2002
    9
    Mariah has had to climb the climb the charts against the grain of brutal and mean critics. "Charmbracelet" has recieved unfair, unjust reviews. The album is Mariah's most varied, most personal, most charming album to date. Over an hour of heartfelt, earth shattering vocals from one of the greatest singers of all time. Well worth buying.
  26. jacquelinec
    Apr 17, 2005
    10
    As always i feel kind of bad for Mariah at times when she drops an album because even before it comes out, harsh critics are ready to pounce all over it and listen to the album with a bad attitude from the begginning because they may not like her as a person. I think if everyone can accept the fact that times have changed and so has she and this is the type of music she likes to make now, As always i feel kind of bad for Mariah at times when she drops an album because even before it comes out, harsh critics are ready to pounce all over it and listen to the album with a bad attitude from the begginning because they may not like her as a person. I think if everyone can accept the fact that times have changed and so has she and this is the type of music she likes to make now, maybe when they listen to this album its easier to admire its artistry. So she doesn't do the big huge "Hero" voice on every song like she used to ,well ok shes been singing for how many years? I think she still puts down the big vocals when it counts , especially on the obvious tracks like Trough the Rain and My Saving Grace but she also has an AMAZING melody for every single song so even on tracks where she sounds "Airy" or whatever they call it she still sounds heavenly, to me. When her voice does that it has a certain crisp quality that no studio equipment can create and she can jump in and out of notes with the fluency of an experienced and truly gifted singer. Alot of people dont know how much of her songwriting she does either and how much it tresspases those of many singers out now. If you are a true Mariah Fan you will love this album, its like Part 2 for Butterfly especially with the possible link between "Lullaby" and "The Roof" ( at least I think so) and the faded out kick-back hip hop beats on some songs mixed with good instrumental joints too like hands down my favorite on this album - Subtle Invitation - it has awesome instruments and the tempo is perfect with her melody. What she is talking about is so personal too, it makes sense when you look at it as the concept of a Charmbracelet because every song on this album is about something going on in her life, either past or present. Sunflowers for Alfred Roy is another amazing song if for the fact alone that it is about her father passing which is so personal you have to give her respect for being brave enough to sing about that.Oh and there is a song that had not been on my Charmbracelet C.D.( I guess there was one with extras) and I barely heard it the other day, its called "there goes my heart" I Looooove this song so much since I heard it I had never even knew it existed or that it was on charmbracelet so definetly and extra perk, If you are going to buy this CD you must make sure it has that song on there. Final thought - if you cant just put this CD on and listen to it from begginning to end on shuffle , then you are just not the type of person that likes her kind of music and thats fine you just cant undermine her as an artist so I give her MAD PROPS ~ Mariah I love this CD !!! 8) Expand
  27. peter
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    An excellent album of rertrospective and healing. powerful and emotional with a strong spiritual reasoanance
  28. JD
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    HAHA! Looks like she came back better than ever with TEOM. Honestly, the vocals are not up to par at all on this album, but they are still better than most vocals, they just aren't up to par for her status. Lyrically, this is one of the best albums you will ever listen to in your whole entire life, and that definetly makes up for the good-but-not-excellent vocals. THe production is HAHA! Looks like she came back better than ever with TEOM. Honestly, the vocals are not up to par at all on this album, but they are still better than most vocals, they just aren't up to par for her status. Lyrically, this is one of the best albums you will ever listen to in your whole entire life, and that definetly makes up for the good-but-not-excellent vocals. THe production is okay as well, there is a lot of talent on this CD. The standout track is the obliviously underrated 'Irresistable (Remix)' w/ West Side Connection. Buy this album if you like meaningful lyrics. However, do not buy this if you like soaring vocals throught a whole song. But take my comment and put it to good use: buy this, trust me. Expand
  29. JohnnyC
    Jan 14, 2006
    10
    This album is really really good. There are songs on this album that weren't given the time to shine and that is why i think it wasn't a blockbuster success. "Through The Rain" and "You Got Me" are just two of the GREAT tracks on this album!
  30. DanS
    Aug 12, 2003
    8
    Mariah's voice is as clear and strong as it was on 1993's "Music Box"..."Subtle Invitation", " I Only Wanted", and "Clown" serve as ROCK SOLID PROOF that one bad movie cannot, and did not, destroy Mariah's God-given musical genius!
  31. AnonymousMC
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    this cd is "REAL"!
  32. MagdaM
    Dec 21, 2002
    10
    Mariah at her best.
  33. radr
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    Life's not always bed of roses! There will always be downs but good thing, anybody could rise up "through the rain". Inspiring! thats what i felt when i heard Mariah's first single cut in her new album. Since her first album up to this latest, Mariah always puts in hope-inspired cuts in her music which is basically why i like her! Whos never been down? Nobody! It's not the Life's not always bed of roses! There will always be downs but good thing, anybody could rise up "through the rain". Inspiring! thats what i felt when i heard Mariah's first single cut in her new album. Since her first album up to this latest, Mariah always puts in hope-inspired cuts in her music which is basically why i like her! Whos never been down? Nobody! It's not the falling BUT the rising that is important. Though, personally, i am slighted with the issue with her "attitude" against a Filipino artist that can also sing (oh with a good voice like Mariah's that i also loves to listen!), i give her the benefit of the doubt, believing that shes not a raceist! but a victim of bad publications! "Through the rain" Yes! Mariah is back and rising! When somebodoy's down, we should be sad, knowing that we are all human and we should be glad when that somebody is back on her feet again! Move on Mariah! Through the rain! Those who never gone through "rains" in life will never understand nor appreciate the beauty and warmth of the "sunshine"! Expand
  34. heinhttoni
    Mar 22, 2003
    10
    Perfect!!!!!!
  35. jamessewell
    Mar 8, 2003
    10
    Perfectly crafted. Not to be overzealous like Loverboy, so it starts of humble. The smooth 'boy' works to promote her sexy whispy tone. A cover of Bringin on the heartbreak shows mazing vocals and ballads once again reign supreme. The some
  36. TammyC
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    mariah carey is the best~! she's my role model i've loved her music ever since i was like in 4th or 5th grade (now in 11th) but yea she's a great person and im really glad that she made a new cd. i wish i could sing like her...well i really like this cd so i rate it a 10 :)
  37. TanzeelA
    Dec 23, 2002
    9
    yours is gonna be the biggest hit of MC's career. just wait till it comes out. the other songs are great. a little diversity would have been preferred but when the songs are great, who cares. thru the rain is the weakest song of the album, so don't rate just on that one song.
  38. Violaa
    May 25, 2003
    9
    loe ya Mariah get back to some of the powereful singing we all know and love, but the album is overall good
  39. Kristi
    May 20, 2003
    10
    Mariah is definately on top of her game! Awesome CD and collaborations!
  40. ErickaN
    Jan 4, 2003
    9
    I think she has definitely grown as an artist.
  41. vanessaa
    May 25, 2003
    9
    Mariah Carey is one of my favorite artists and i thunk this album is a great start to her recovery. you will like the albumif u give it a chance.Mariah- get back to some of the powerful singing we all know and love. the cd does lack a little variety. but i still loveu and it
  42. lyne
    Aug 14, 2003
    8
    great cd, lack the usual variety we see from her.
  43. JENNIFERR
    Dec 20, 2002
    10
    mariah is the greatest female singer of all time
  44. kaylam
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    i love it!! i love all of the songs that she wrote and sung! she is the best singer in the world! i love her voice!
  45. MarissaP
    Dec 25, 2002
    10
    I think that she sounds great and looks great. This comeback has definately taught many not to beleive the hype.
  46. Jan 24, 2016
    10
    Mariah Carey's album charmbraclet is one of her best albums yet. Through the rain is the best song on the album and will always be one of my favorite songs ever. All the other songs are great too.
  47. Jun 2, 2016
    10
    This is one of her best albums, every song is indeed great! it's more intimate r&b-soul than pop-vocal.
    Clown, The One, You Got Me, I Only Wanted and then those 3 in a row tracks You Had Your Chance-Lullaby-Irresistible making this album amazing and addictive!
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. While fans of her early-'90s material will find much to embrace here, those that rallied 'round the singer during her hip-hop days may feel lost and abandoned.
  2. Her voice is damaged, and there's not a moment where it sounds strong or inviting. That alone would be disturbing, but since the songs are formless and the production bland -- another reason why the hip-hop announces itself, even though it's nowhere near as pronounced as it has been since Butterfly -- her tired voice becomes the only thing to concentrate on, and it's a sad, ugly thing, making an album that would merely have been her worst into something tragic.
  3. A step ahead of the J-Los of the world; a step behind what may prove to be a career pinnacle.