Chosen Lords

  • Record Label: Rephlex
  • Release Date: Apr 18, 2006
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PostModernVancouverBowie
    May 20, 2006
    Aphex Twin remains musics most creative artist. He has been musics most advanced artist for 15 years now and is simply untouchable!
  2. Komatsu
    Nov 3, 2006
    One more time..another beauty work by James with amazing music atmosphere and rythme.there's no doubt that, once again, Richard D. James well deserves his electronic ermine.
  3. Sep 3, 2011
    A brilliant piece of work compiling the best tracks off of the Analord series. It's my personal favorite Aphex Twin album and will always have a special place in my musical collection. Highlights: "Fenix Funk 5," "Crying in Your Face," "Boxing Day," "Klopjob"
  4. TomR
    Jun 9, 2006
    Certainly not his best album, but it's really good.
  5. WangT
    Apr 23, 2006
    The cd is generally good. Fenix Funk, Reunion, and Crying in Yur Face are brilliant, and the other tracks are good. Not as ground breaking as his earlier albums, but it makes me anticipate the next Aphex Twin album again.
  6. SteveS
    Apr 19, 2006
    Sounds a bit like Richard D. James swallowed Orbital in places, but definitely one of his best. It's less hard than his other works and very easy to listen to.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Apr 20, 2006
    Takes the best and brightest from the Analord series. It's nice to not have to sift through 10+ EPs trying to find those couple songs you really enjoyed but couldn't remember the name of. The tracks actually mesh together as a full album quite well. Songs like Fenix Funk, Reunion, and PXSteal.Ldpinch.D (among others) are pretty darn catchy.
  8. mikes.
    Jun 26, 2006
    nothing new to the genre, actually kind of a step backwards for aphex twin, yet, aphex twin sort of needed to get back to the basics. However the production is not fresh and is uninspired and that is what holds this album back.
  9. RickW
    Jun 28, 2006
    A great collection of tunes. I was not taken on first listen, but what a grower. Some absolute gems that you just have to move about to!
  10. RayL
    Jun 14, 2006
    very similar to his early work, even though its referenced on the analord series. The tracks, tunes, and beats clearly have the afx signature, even though i expected more brilliance, like in his 90's work. never the less richard D james never siezes to amaze me.
  11. ppllrfake
    Sep 19, 2006
    Surprisingly, this CD does not have the best of the analord series in my opinion. He's missing mydoom vbs.redloff, or something along those lines
  12. Apr 11, 2012
    Richard D James goes back to his roots to explore what he can do with limited vintage technology from the 80's and 90's, these are his 10 personal favourite tracks from the Analord project, remastered thoroughly for digital technology.
    I only give this a 9 as I didn't agree with his picks from the Analord series, if only he'd have added "I'm Self Employed" to the mix..

Awards & Rankings


Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. It’s a step backwards for sure, but a worthwhile one.
  2. The dark malevolent genius of "Windowlicker" may be lacking, but Richard D. James still walks that line between the accessible and the downright filthy.
  3. A brilliant collection of spanking, multi-layered tunes.