• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Chutes Too Narrow Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 177 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Phil Ek produced this sophomore effort for the Albuquerque-based group led by James Mercer (also of Flake), who wowed critics in 2001 with their 1960s-flavored debut 'Oh, Inverted World.'
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. On Chutes, Mercer’s voice is singing right next to you, and the change works wonders.
  2. 100
    It sears through the essence of what makes this band special, the brave voice and ebullient delivery of singer-songwriter-guitarist James Mercer. [Apr 2004, p.98]
  3. A leap forward. [Apr 2004, p.120]
  4. Recalls the overwhelming splendour of the Go-Betweens at their finest.
  5. Sounding even sparser in instrumentation and sonic flavor than the previous record, Chutes often comes across like a Mercer solo project. [#5, p.104]
  6. Seems to be the culmination and synthesis of a solid musical progression from good, yet uncertain and unchallenging, pop music to better, more confident, but still unchallenging, pop music.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 110
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    I know like me a lot of people got into this band after watching Garden State. I did and I am not ashamed of that! I love this band even todayI know like me a lot of people got into this band after watching Garden State. I did and I am not ashamed of that! I love this band even today where their sound might not have aged well. I remember this album very fondly because the music was perfect for me for the time and what I was going through in life. Collapse
  2. JonS
    Jun 18, 2005
    10
    Excellent.
  3. js
    Dec 31, 2003
    10
    How super. Enjoyable from the very first listen.
  4. JaneW
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Delicious!
  5. AlexandreS
    Jan 7, 2005
    9
    I heard "new slang" in "garden state" and decided to test the album.i virtually fell in love with each track, and i usually dont fall for I heard "new slang" in "garden state" and decided to test the album.i virtually fell in love with each track, and i usually dont fall for music...but oh my god is this great! Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2014
    9
    This is more for people who didn't learn about the shins in "The Garden State" (not that there's anything wrong about that). Although not asThis is more for people who didn't learn about the shins in "The Garden State" (not that there's anything wrong about that). Although not as good as Oh, Inverted World, still an amazing album. Simply a pleasure to listen to. Expand
  7. tyler
    Apr 28, 2005
    1
    It sucks.

See all 110 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.