Circus

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Dec 2, 2008
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 498 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 498

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Greta
    Dec 3, 2008
    5
    Mediocre, no standout tracks. Disappointing follow-up to Blackout, which I consider to be her best album by far.
  2. MeredithS
    Dec 3, 2008
    6
    Although Britney allegedly was not very engaged in the project, "Blackout" was so much better than "Circus". With all of her previous albums, there was at least one or two really, really catchy tunes. I was so dissapointed that there was not one tune on here that I liked. I won't be listening to it over and over again like I did with Blackout.
  3. GabrielJ.
    Dec 4, 2008
    6
    the song are repetitive and there isnt any really new, but there are some songs that really are an improvement, in conclusion circus is a better album that I expected to be but still she has a long journey to remember us why she was called de Pop Princess
  4. Nov 26, 2010
    6
    Circus is disappointing although it contains some standout tracks but most tracks are mediocre. I love how catchy and danceable "Womanizer", "Circus", "If U Seek Amy" and etc. But there is less singing and some tracks are boring like "Blur" and "Kill the Lights."
  5. May 25, 2012
    4
    The album as a whole is not terrible. Britney gets it right on the singles "Womanizer", "Circus", and even "If U Seek Amy" manages to be likable, despite it's awful lyrics. However, the songs that are bad are really, really bad. "Mmm Papi" is inexcusably awful, with Britney obnoxiously singing lines like "Now see I'm Mami, and that make you Papi, and that makes us Luvi!". Her ballad "MyThe album as a whole is not terrible. Britney gets it right on the singles "Womanizer", "Circus", and even "If U Seek Amy" manages to be likable, despite it's awful lyrics. However, the songs that are bad are really, really bad. "Mmm Papi" is inexcusably awful, with Britney obnoxiously singing lines like "Now see I'm Mami, and that make you Papi, and that makes us Luvi!". Her ballad "My Baby" is among the other offenders on the album, a sickeningly sappy track about her children that she apparently wrote herself. I would recommend downloading a few of the songs, but buying the entire album would be a mistake in my opinion. Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    5
    Although the album is the first step of a re-invention period for the singer, "Britney" is, still, a childish-like album. Despite from some of the songs (such as "I'm a Slave 4 U" and "Boys"), the rest of the album is too girly even for Britney's style. The tentative to achieve a more feminine and adult sound transforms into a sensation of "how would that be like if the Neptune hadAlthough the album is the first step of a re-invention period for the singer, "Britney" is, still, a childish-like album. Despite from some of the songs (such as "I'm a Slave 4 U" and "Boys"), the rest of the album is too girly even for Britney's style. The tentative to achieve a more feminine and adult sound transforms into a sensation of "how would that be like if the Neptune had produced the whole thing?", since they were responsible for the two mentioned songs. From what it should have been, the album is just a wannabe. Expand
  7. Aug 27, 2016
    6
    The follow-up to "Blackout" isn't bad. It's not good either, though. In 3 words, lack of inspiration. Despite the amazing, killer singles it produced and the "Blackout" almost song, "Kill the Lights", this album has no direction. Most songs sound like demos. Do they have potential to be great? Sure! Did they evolve like that? No, not really. Its surprisingly large number of forgettableThe follow-up to "Blackout" isn't bad. It's not good either, though. In 3 words, lack of inspiration. Despite the amazing, killer singles it produced and the "Blackout" almost song, "Kill the Lights", this album has no direction. Most songs sound like demos. Do they have potential to be great? Sure! Did they evolve like that? No, not really. Its surprisingly large number of forgettable ballads doesn't really help either. It can'be called bad, because it isn't a let-down or a flop. Truth be told though, it is no masterpiece either. Expand
  8. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    "If U Seek Amy" will always be one of my favorite Britney songs. Other good songs include "Mmm Papi" and "Womanizer". A great CD if you like happy pop music.
  9. Nov 21, 2016
    5
    Definitely not as exposing as the title suggests. Exposure aside :I'll give Radar a straight up zero because it also was on Blackout (Seriously Britney? How did you think this was a good idea?). Mmm Papi gets an undeniable 1 out of ten, as it is one of her biggest FFS moments so far. About the rest, Circus was really good, i liked Womanizer, and the rest songs just fail to stick out.Definitely not as exposing as the title suggests. Exposure aside :I'll give Radar a straight up zero because it also was on Blackout (Seriously Britney? How did you think this was a good idea?). Mmm Papi gets an undeniable 1 out of ten, as it is one of her biggest FFS moments so far. About the rest, Circus was really good, i liked Womanizer, and the rest songs just fail to stick out. Overall an average to just fine record. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Halfway through, Circus shifts from defiant booty calls to subtler material; suddenly, it's a first-rate electro-pop album.
  2. Obviously all is still not perfect in Britney's world, but Circus still does more than enough to remind us of why she's one of the world's most iconic pop stars.
  3. Her voice--treated and autotuned to within an inch of its life throughout--still sounds like that of the Mouseketeer who brought us '...Baby One More Time’, with every breathy “Mmmm… yeah!” and all the oh-so-naughty lyrics, such as the ones above, sounding forced and unconvincing. Of course, on a large number of the tracks here she has the solidly cool-sounding (no doubt expensive) backdrop of futur’n’b pop.