• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Dec 2, 2008
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 510 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 510

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JamesB.
    Jan 5, 2009
    10
    I love it. Amazing!
  2. TiaS.
    Jan 2, 2009
    10
    This is Britney Spears' absolute best album. With songs like ''Unusual You'', ''If U Seek Amy'', ''Womanizer'', ''Circus'', and ''Kill The Lights'' it's no wonder as to why this album went straight to #1 on the Billboard.
  3. JoshPinder
    Jan 3, 2009
    10
    Britney is at the top of her game with this fabulous Circus album, it's a mesmerising powerhouse of an album that more than earns being titled the greatest album of 2008. Womanizer,Circus,Out From Under,Kill The Lights,if You Seek Amy,Shattered Glass,Unusual You,Mmm Papi,Mannequin,Lace & Leather,My Baby,Rock Me In,Phonography and Amnesia are nothing but fantastic...all of which Britney is at the top of her game with this fabulous Circus album, it's a mesmerising powerhouse of an album that more than earns being titled the greatest album of 2008. Womanizer,Circus,Out From Under,Kill The Lights,if You Seek Amy,Shattered Glass,Unusual You,Mmm Papi,Mannequin,Lace & Leather,My Baby,Rock Me In,Phonography and Amnesia are nothing but fantastic...all of which should be released as singles for sure. Expand
  4. CarrieC
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    I find that her new album is just as good, if not better than 'Blackout'. I feel like all of these so-called music critics who have given this album poor ratings merely do not care for Britney, Pop music, or both and therefore they have a bias opinion. Any fan of Britney will absolutely love this album. So just ignore all of the haters, because what they think really I find that her new album is just as good, if not better than 'Blackout'. I feel like all of these so-called music critics who have given this album poor ratings merely do not care for Britney, Pop music, or both and therefore they have a bias opinion. Any fan of Britney will absolutely love this album. So just ignore all of the haters, because what they think really doesn't matter anyways. Expand
  5. reineirm
    Dec 11, 2008
    9
    This is a pop gem!!! very modern, she knows what she is doing, both american and european flavors.
  6. KevinR.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    Great CD. Blackoput is much more original, but she sounds much better on Circus which is nice. It's more self-conscious of a CD, but there are some great moments: Unusual You, If You Seek Amy, Blur, and Out From Under is her best ballad since Everytime. GO BRITNEY!
  7. AW
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    This album seems to get Britney back to the path she was on, musically at least, before Blackout. Blackout, for me, was one of her best albums ever, if not her best album of all time, an album I could listen to the entire way through (except for that "Why Should I Be Sad" which was sort of out of place). This one is the same, with the one sort of "off" song being "Mmm Papi," which is just This album seems to get Britney back to the path she was on, musically at least, before Blackout. Blackout, for me, was one of her best albums ever, if not her best album of all time, an album I could listen to the entire way through (except for that "Why Should I Be Sad" which was sort of out of place). This one is the same, with the one sort of "off" song being "Mmm Papi," which is just a little too out there, but maybe it will grow on me. Otherwise, "Circus," "Kill The Lights," "If U Seek Amy," "Shattered Glass" are all amazing dance tracks, while "Out from Under" and "Unusual You" provide two of her best ballads ever (best since "Everytime," for sure). Expand
  8. May 29, 2012
    10
    Simply 100% Perfect Album And Singles
    This Is The 1st Britney Album That Should Get A Perfect 10/10!
    Great Album!
  9. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    amazing album the best album of 2008 she did her thing on this album it was really her comeback album she nailed it with Circus and Blur and the album is timeless.
  10. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    A collection of soft, circus-themed songs that after a while may sound dull but will always be anthems ("Womanizer", "If U Seek Amy"). Loving "Mmm Papi" and "Lace and Leather" aswell.
  11. Apr 7, 2012
    9
    How to make a great album?? Ask to Britney Spears! After her dark period Britney gets back with a simply fantastic album, "Circus". Funny and engaging, when you listen this album you feel like in another world, like in a "Circus", because you feel a lot of feelings in the same moment and so you are confused but also charmed. Best Songs? "Womanizer", "If U Seek Amy", "Kill the Lights" andHow to make a great album?? Ask to Britney Spears! After her dark period Britney gets back with a simply fantastic album, "Circus". Funny and engaging, when you listen this album you feel like in another world, like in a "Circus", because you feel a lot of feelings in the same moment and so you are confused but also charmed. Best Songs? "Womanizer", "If U Seek Amy", "Kill the Lights" and "Out From Under".... Great Job, Princess! ( sorry for my English ) Expand
  12. Greta
    Dec 3, 2008
    5
    Mediocre, no standout tracks. Disappointing follow-up to Blackout, which I consider to be her best album by far.
  13. BillW.
    Dec 9, 2008
    2
    The most awful album in a long time!
  14. PhilM.
    Dec 4, 2008
    1
    Just awful.
  15. None
    Dec 6, 2008
    0
    Utter Crap.
  16. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    I have only two words - oh yes !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  17. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    Circus is great album, not her best but still good enough for 10!
  18. May 4, 2015
    1
    Katy Perry bursts back onto the scene with her amazing second album that is full to the grim of the tongue-in-cheek atmosphere that got herkhkkjhjghjbnnnnn
  19. Jan 28, 2017
    10
    O melhor album de Britney com certeza, faixas com Out From Under, Shattered Glass, Blur, Lance and Lather tinham muito potencial pra ser single, esse album é sim melhor que seu antecessor "Blackout"
  20. KennethP
    Jan 31, 2010
    7
    Classic... Britney deserves to be the ringleader But be honest some of the songs is not danceable.
  21. Jacky
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    She is back?and the album is amazing.
  22. ElizabethH.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    I absolutely love this album, definitely one of the best she's ever created and its one hell of a comeback.
  23. jespearlh.
    Dec 2, 2008
    9
    I really like all the songs... its more on techno-urbanish album.. britney's back, i guess.
  24. tOnnYa.
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    An amazing album. womanizer = 10/10 at first i thought it was a cool song, but the more i listen to it, the more i like it Circus= 10/10 The production sounds like POM2, but it's just as fun as Slave... Out From Under= 9/10 lovely ballad, her vocals are great, but i'm not that into slow music kill the Lights= 10/10 Amazing track, clever lyrics, the New queen is HERE Shattered An amazing album. womanizer = 10/10 at first i thought it was a cool song, but the more i listen to it, the more i like it Circus= 10/10 The production sounds like POM2, but it's just as fun as Slave... Out From Under= 9/10 lovely ballad, her vocals are great, but i'm not that into slow music kill the Lights= 10/10 Amazing track, clever lyrics, the New queen is HERE Shattered Glass = 10/10 Good ol Pop!!!! If You Seek Amy=10/10 Amazing track, the best Track on Circus, Love it, Clever, and fun Unusual You= 10/10 A True Gem Blur= 9.5/10 In the style of "Early morning" with a Very Timbaland Kinda Beat. Mannequin=10/10 a new Experience, amazing track Mmm Papi=8/10 Fun track, silly yet catchy Lace and Leather=9/10 Very Late 70's-early 80's, Guitar solo, cool... My Baby=10/10 not really feeling the track, but the lyrics are beautiful, she really loves her babies Radar= 10/10 Fun amazing track, It's super cool P.S. i know haters will come and give Brit a 0 rating, saying she's talented and the usual stuff, i've read it all, anyway she worked hard, if you don't like it, give it at least 4 cause she really worked hard. Expand
  25. madic.
    Dec 3, 2008
    9
    I love britney. love love love her.
  26. A.j.P.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    This album(Circus) is by far Britneys' BEST WORK. She has shown the world that recovery is possible along with time and dedication. She is back on track and music and dancing is her element. She also is able to see her children and rebuilding a relationship with them. We should all be happy that she picked herself back up with help from dad and the families support!! I wish you well This album(Circus) is by far Britneys' BEST WORK. She has shown the world that recovery is possible along with time and dedication. She is back on track and music and dancing is her element. She also is able to see her children and rebuilding a relationship with them. We should all be happy that she picked herself back up with help from dad and the families support!! I wish you well Britney and everyone shuld buy your album!!! Expand
  27. toma.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent Album, fantastic tunes and suprisingly addictive!!
  28. ChrisV
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    I think this cd is really good.. i used to be a hard fan of britney a long time ago.. and i think shes taking the good way again.. pop music to the max... and great rythm.. excellent job!!!
  29. elined.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    BEST ALBUM EVER, great comeback!!!!
  30. MattK.
    Dec 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent production and the normal catchy songs you would expect from any Britney album. 10/10 Superb.
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Halfway through, Circus shifts from defiant booty calls to subtler material; suddenly, it's a first-rate electro-pop album.
  2. Obviously all is still not perfect in Britney's world, but Circus still does more than enough to remind us of why she's one of the world's most iconic pop stars.
  3. Her voice--treated and autotuned to within an inch of its life throughout--still sounds like that of the Mouseketeer who brought us '...Baby One More Time’, with every breathy “Mmmm… yeah!” and all the oh-so-naughty lyrics, such as the ones above, sounding forced and unconvincing. Of course, on a large number of the tracks here she has the solidly cool-sounding (no doubt expensive) backdrop of futur’n’b pop.