Cocky

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Nov 20, 2001
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 3 out of 15

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. eilene
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    transition album from rap rock 2 southern rock and country some great songs outside of the hits in what i learned out on the road/im a dog/lay it on me
  2. bob
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    trucker anthem- ft kracker sample the wizard oz sounds like deep purple meets rage against the machine forever-funky rap rock with great drum solo lay it on me- great song 1st half funk/soul second half is blues rock cocky-great electric vs bass gutair duel odd song sounds like run dmc meets john lee hooker with a disco sound effect what i learned...-best song on album sounds like a trucker anthem- ft kracker sample the wizard oz sounds like deep purple meets rage against the machine forever-funky rap rock with great drum solo lay it on me- great song 1st half funk/soul second half is blues rock cocky-great electric vs bass gutair duel odd song sounds like run dmc meets john lee hooker with a disco sound effect what i learned...-best song on album sounds like a skynyrd rocker with a funky aerosmith like chorus im wrong but you aint right-heaviest kid rock song to date shredding gutair solo lonely road of faith-great love ballad you never met..-funny poke at himself for being cocky live version is sweet does free bird in the middle picture-everyone knows bout this 1 im a dog-great driving song great organ work by jimmie bones midnight train to memphis-great country ballad with a rock rap twist in the middle baby come home-very led zepplin sounding yes i said zeppelin drunk in the morning-see above wcsr-ft snoop dogg offically dirtiest song ever with well over like 150 curse words in it but its will have u rolling Expand
  3. JSchlesener
    Jan 11, 2002
    10
    Kid justs keeps getting better and better!! Way to go Kid Rock!!
  4. TrailerTrashPOS
    Jan 20, 2002
    0
    can't stand him, he started off unique and alright with Devil Without a Cause but now...::shakes head::
  5. AG
    Sep 1, 2002
    1
    Possibly the worst follow up to a 10 million selling album ever. Completely and utterly uncreative.
  6. scottl
    Nov 11, 2003
    8
    This is pretty good and bad. but the good out ratio the bad. The best songs are his southern-rock songs like picture, mempis, and mother F*** like me.
  7. sean
    Apr 7, 2007
    10
    1.Intro 2.American Bad Ass-samples Metallica Sad But True Great Drum Solo Live version much better they speed up sad but true times 10 3.Prodigal Son-Best Song On Album Samples Zeppelins Drum Beat To When The Levee Breaks to A Skynyrd Like Hook 4.Paid- Great Soul/Rap Song 5.Early Mornin Stoned Pimp-An epic tale bout pimping prob his most orginal song sounding like a mix of prince,p 1.Intro 2.American Bad Ass-samples Metallica Sad But True Great Drum Solo Live version much better they speed up sad but true times 10 3.Prodigal Son-Best Song On Album Samples Zeppelins Drum Beat To When The Levee Breaks to A Skynyrd Like Hook 4.Paid- Great Soul/Rap Song 5.Early Mornin Stoned Pimp-An epic tale bout pimping prob his most orginal song sounding like a mix of prince,p funk,john lee hooker and the beastie boys joe c drops some hilarity on his part 6.Dark And Grey-Heavy Heavy Song About Sucide sound alot like a Metallica song 7.3 Sheets To The Wind-Could Be A Beastie Boys song live version is an epic 25 min jam 8.Abortion-sad ballad a poem to his unborn son he gave up to an abortion saying that he sorry for what he's done 9.i wanna go back-rap ballad thinking bout his journey and where hes at 10.ya keep on-fun party song 11.fuck that-great rap metal song with sweet blues solo 12.fuck you blind-very prince like orginal version much better however 13.born 2 b a hick- hank jr inspired ode 2 being a redneck too short or it b one of his best 14.My Oedipus Complex-Another Epic a Mini Opera telling of the love/hate relationship with his father the chorus samples zeppelins black dog and kenny olson shred on the end on gutair Expand
  8. earlymorningstonedpimp
    Jan 25, 2002
    10
    The best album to come out in years.
  9. Cattuck
    Aug 27, 2002
    10
    i loved the cd . not what i want my kids to listen to i did buy the uncut one for myself ....lol i bought the edited one for my 10 yr old he loves it .
  10. RobertMoschgat
    Mar 11, 2003
    10
    The Pimp of the Nation
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Q Magazine
    60
    While he boasts none of the verbal dexterity of Eminem, he takes America's Dumb & Dumber obsession and has mighty fun with it. [Jan 2002, p.102]
  2. Kid Rock's tear-down-the-walls ideal of a world where rappers can sip whiskey with rednecks is a compelling fiction, and if the cross-pollinated musical results aren't always as exciting as the conversation no doubt would be, you have to at least admire the breadth of his vision.
  3. 50
    Cocky's surprises remain few and far between.