User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NickT.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    Mature, self-assured, determined. Lovely, classic Eisley.
  2. Graham
    Aug 20, 2007
    9
    What's not to like? Beautiful harmonies...Solid songwriting....nuff said...
  3. Colee
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    Fantastically gorgeous.
  4. NicholasS.
    Aug 17, 2007
    9
    One of the best short albums of the year so far.
  5. BryanB.
    Aug 19, 2007
    6
    Look...I adore these girls and their talent and their character and their obvious love of life and the arts. I even pre-ordered "Combinations" and honestly will continue to do so with their music. I saw them live in Nashville last week and they were amazing. Nevertheless, there is no way that I can say that this cd is anything but a step back from "Room Noises." And it kills me to say Look...I adore these girls and their talent and their character and their obvious love of life and the arts. I even pre-ordered "Combinations" and honestly will continue to do so with their music. I saw them live in Nashville last week and they were amazing. Nevertheless, there is no way that I can say that this cd is anything but a step back from "Room Noises." And it kills me to say that too because I know that I have no idea the amount of love and energy the DuPrees put into this cd. I understand all-too-well, having been listening intently to music almost all of my 45 years, that artists have to change and grow and all that, but gone from "Combinations" almost entirely are those moments of melodic magic and transcendence that was so compelling on their first effort. Even the up-beat stuff on "Room Noises" such as "Plenty of Room," and "My Lovely" out-shine the rocking moments of "Combinations." And the ballads of "Combinations" seem forced and almost by-the-numbers when compared to the sheer, spontaneous muse that flowed from such songs as "Lost at Sea," and "One Day I Slowly Floated Away," and "Brightly Wound." The only real moment on "Combinations" that leaves me smiling with it's genius is "Come Clean." Having said that, I find all of the 1st 6 tracks of "Combinations to be enjoyable enough and even good, but that wasn't what I was hoping for. To write melodic ballads that are soul-inspiring, healing, and achingly joyful is a rare, rare gift...a gift which The DuPrees have been obviously given. And even if they feel niched or labeled by continuing to craft such songs, I think the world is a much better place for such craft. Expand
  6. S
    Aug 21, 2007
    8
    Combinations has a first half that, in its own way, casts a spell nearly equal in power to Room Noises, except this time they are using more 'eye of newt and toe of frog' in their incantations. Despite their squeaky-clean surface, there has always been a darker side to Eisley, a fraying along the edges of their glorious musical tapestries, and these songs prefer to let them Combinations has a first half that, in its own way, casts a spell nearly equal in power to Room Noises, except this time they are using more 'eye of newt and toe of frog' in their incantations. Despite their squeaky-clean surface, there has always been a darker side to Eisley, a fraying along the edges of their glorious musical tapestries, and these songs prefer to let them unravel further rather than pretend those flaws don't exist. On the leadoff track they sing "We all will take more chances / Before our lives end too." For Eisley, that time is now. Expand
  7. Caley
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    Combinations gives its listeners a mixture of little "moments" to experience. Those moments could vary from being something so awe-inspiring (and simply amazing) as getting chills during Sherri's and Stacy's harmonies or being charmed to the point where you can't help but smile during their poppier choruses! Combinations never left me wanting more... or even dreaming of it. Combinations gives its listeners a mixture of little "moments" to experience. Those moments could vary from being something so awe-inspiring (and simply amazing) as getting chills during Sherri's and Stacy's harmonies or being charmed to the point where you can't help but smile during their poppier choruses! Combinations never left me wanting more... or even dreaming of it. People who find themselves wanting Eisley's dreamier sound back just need to remember that the tone of songs shouldn't revolve around a band's 10 year old archive... moreover, their tone should only be directed by the muse or the inspiration of each song alone. Eisley has matured and grown since Room Noises. It would be silly if Combinations had only been made to be a sequel to its predecessor, especially when the band was unhappy with Room Noises. Combinations is an album with a quest all on its own-- it's not even in the same realm as Room Noises in subtlety, range, or emotion. So why is every critic so whiny of Combinations actually being different...? Have people forgotten that range is a very important and essential tool in a band's arsenal? All I have to say is that Combinations was definitely worth the wait! Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Aug 20, 2007
    10
    An excellent album! I only wish it were longer!
  9. EvaS.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    They are one of my favorite bands. I love Chauntelle's voice on "I could be there for you." I love the how the girls have started writing about love. Excellent cd. I recommend buying it. One of my all time favorites.
  10. Chris
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    My first experience with this group was in 2003 when I saw them open for Coldplay. They blew me away then, and they still do today. I believe this group is going to be successful as they gain more exposure. Very solid album.
  11. MattD.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Combines their whimsical qualities with a new edge. The new sound works magic!
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Eisley's mix of old and new, and accessible and unexpected, makes their music utterly charming, and Combinations is a blend of bewitching contradictions.
  2. The band retains a certain backwoods spookiness, meaning songs like 'Many Funerals' and sci-fi lead single 'Invasion' keep their edge amidst a clutch of tunes ('Come Clean,' 'Ten Cent Blues') that resemble nothing so much as mid-period Fleetwood Mac.
  3. Thanks to Sherri, even Eisley's far-out moments seem intimate.