Como Ama Una Mujer

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Mar 27, 2007
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 15 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MaggieB
    Apr 9, 2007
    2
    Never been a fan of Ms. Lopez. I speak Spanish and liked the sound of Qué Hiciste, but the rest of this album, like her others, was extremely disappointing. It is one boring ballad with bad singing after another. I also like Te Voy a Querer, or I would if someone else was singing it. I know it's gotten mixed reviews, but those who like it need to dig deeper. It's just Never been a fan of Ms. Lopez. I speak Spanish and liked the sound of Qué Hiciste, but the rest of this album, like her others, was extremely disappointing. It is one boring ballad with bad singing after another. I also like Te Voy a Querer, or I would if someone else was singing it. I know it's gotten mixed reviews, but those who like it need to dig deeper. It's just bad. Period. Expand
  2. JustMe
    Apr 12, 2007
    9
    not a real big j lo fan...but i must say i really do like this album!
  3. aubreydR
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Jennifer Lopez rocks! And She Will do it again and again. Como Ama Una Mujer is one of JLO Best Work Along with Bordertown song "Porque La Vida Es Asi" and of course "ALive" of Enough movie. She's the Best Artist.
  4. JamieD
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    Definitely the best album by La Lopez so far. For the first time again, i hear her being sincere, like she was way back then with her first album, "On the 6". Her voice has definitely improved on this album too Highlight: "Apresurate". Best song in that album, everything just flows so well on it. "Te Voy A Querer" is screaming to be single. "Por Arriesgarnos" Jennifer sings like an angel, Definitely the best album by La Lopez so far. For the first time again, i hear her being sincere, like she was way back then with her first album, "On the 6". Her voice has definitely improved on this album too Highlight: "Apresurate". Best song in that album, everything just flows so well on it. "Te Voy A Querer" is screaming to be single. "Por Arriesgarnos" Jennifer sings like an angel, her voice contrasts with Marc Anthony's who does the background vocals... A contrast which is very beautiful. Expand
  5. AracelisA
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    This album is Exellent for those who understand and appreciate romantic Spanish music.
  6. NadiaM
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Como ama una mujer is Jennifer Lopez best album !! with songs like Que hiciste, Me haces faltas, Por arriesgarnos, Sola, Adios and the beatifull Tu she finaly showcase her voice and she can really sing. This album is going to be a classic.
  7. MathiasS
    Apr 11, 2007
    9
    This album is Jennifer Lopez best album! Almost every song is amazing and she proofs that her singing ability is great. The bests song are "Qué hiciste", "Tú" and "Como ama una mujer", but the others songs are also good. This is by far her best album ever!
  8. Niki
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    This album is truly amazing! In order to appreciate this record, you need to actually like Spanish love music. If you're looking for dance songs, these are not them. The best effort from Jennifer and now I cannot wait for her future projects.
  9. BbayM
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    great job, girl !
  10. TylerR
    Apr 2, 2007
    10
    One of my favorite Spanish albums of all time.
  11. EJShemil
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    Amazing Album. I think this is the first time that her voice actually stood out. I know of some Spanish but I can distinguish that she's improved a lot with this album - thx to Marc Anthony's training I'm sure. She does have a voice and all the songs in this album are awesome! I love the melody!!! Even more so for people who speak Spanish, they would appreciate it even Amazing Album. I think this is the first time that her voice actually stood out. I know of some Spanish but I can distinguish that she's improved a lot with this album - thx to Marc Anthony's training I'm sure. She does have a voice and all the songs in this album are awesome! I love the melody!!! Even more so for people who speak Spanish, they would appreciate it even more! For me, as long as the music/melody is awesome, I am hooked! Expand
  12. ryue
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    i think this album has chance of breaking records due tothe fact that it`s her first spanish album but also because of Que Hiciste whose ending is magnificent
  13. eseniaZv
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    The best album of J.LO!!! SUPER!
  14. Josh
    May 2, 2007
    9
    Come on Metacritic, how can you ignore the great reviews that this cd got and give it a 45 rating based on the "only" bad reviews it had! Can't believe it's her worst received album... Talking about the songs, i really like them. Jennifer sings very passionately and better than ever... She has definitely improved so much vocally wise. I like the fact that they didn't Come on Metacritic, how can you ignore the great reviews that this cd got and give it a 45 rating based on the "only" bad reviews it had! Can't believe it's her worst received album... Talking about the songs, i really like them. Jennifer sings very passionately and better than ever... She has definitely improved so much vocally wise. I like the fact that they didn't overproduce the album to hide her vocals' weakness, like in "Rebirth" for instance. It's raw, magic, and very musical. Best songs are "Tu", "Porque te marchas", "Sola" and "Apresurate". I wish she'd include more upbeat salsa tinged songs on it, but she did great with the ballads. I recommend the album for Jennifer Lopez's english-speaking fans who don't care about any spanish music, because music is universal and language shouldn't matter. I also recommend it to suckers for ballads, slow romantic songs... You should give the album as a gift for your significant other too haha Expand
  15. sb
    May 2, 2007
    0
    It's just the worst album i've ener heard
  16. AnaR
    May 9, 2007
    10
    I really love this album... Had been a Jennifer Lopez fan since her On the 6 days... this is a truly sincere album.. & her best album ever... You could only relate to this album if you are trully in Love....
  17. ToddW
    May 9, 2007
    1
    One hates to pile on, but you can't help it with Jennifer. She stunningly sucks. I mean, she's so bad, Ben Affleck, of all people, ran for the hills from her. You've really got to laugh at those who think she's actually got talent. Maybe for self-promotion, but that's about it. Sheep, if you really want to hear what a great female singer sounds like, pick up the One hates to pile on, but you can't help it with Jennifer. She stunningly sucks. I mean, she's so bad, Ben Affleck, of all people, ran for the hills from her. You've really got to laugh at those who think she's actually got talent. Maybe for self-promotion, but that's about it. Sheep, if you really want to hear what a great female singer sounds like, pick up the new Feist album. Expand
  18. DavidR
    Mar 21, 2007
    9
    I am stunned by this album. Jennifer Lopez, singing in Spanish, has created the most passionate album of 2007. I'm not a Lopez fan and I don't speak Spanish, but I am a huge fan of this album. I love the passion and fire I hear in Lopez's voice. She has never sounded better - confident, sexy, very dramatic. Her diction in Spanish is over the top. There is Latin fire in her I am stunned by this album. Jennifer Lopez, singing in Spanish, has created the most passionate album of 2007. I'm not a Lopez fan and I don't speak Spanish, but I am a huge fan of this album. I love the passion and fire I hear in Lopez's voice. She has never sounded better - confident, sexy, very dramatic. Her diction in Spanish is over the top. There is Latin fire in her voice. I don't know what the critics will say; they should love it. But if they don't, trust me, there is greatness here. It is the best album I have heard so far in 2007. Expand
  19. Lee
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    Lopez's best work. period.
  20. SamR
    Mar 28, 2007
    2
    I admit I've never been a big fan of J-Lo's music, so here I thought if she was ever going to win me over it would be with a Spanish language album. Unfortunately, it just didn't hold my interest. I'll stick to watching her on the big screen.
  21. kiraR
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Don't even understand spanish but love this album! Amazing Jennifer!
  22. CaladoniaK
    Mar 29, 2007
    0
    Awful. One of the worst albums of 2007 by far.
  23. ANT
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Amazing. Best song is "Tu" The whole album flows so well!
  24. bame
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    hot
  25. KevinS
    Apr 3, 2007
    8
    I have a question about Metacritic's rating? Does it change as reviews keep coming? because i think that rating this album on 5 reviews only isn't enough. I collected some very positive reviews about this album, about like 15. This album is Jennifer's strongest effort. She has the voice of an angel, she sings with sincerety and sensuality. She shines on the ballad "Como Ama I have a question about Metacritic's rating? Does it change as reviews keep coming? because i think that rating this album on 5 reviews only isn't enough. I collected some very positive reviews about this album, about like 15. This album is Jennifer's strongest effort. She has the voice of an angel, she sings with sincerety and sensuality. She shines on the ballad "Como Ama Una Mujer" and gives us power on "Te Voy A Querer". We're never tired of that magnificent first single "Qué Hiciste", full of anger and sadness. BUT, even though Lopez has stated many times that this cd is a ballad album, we wished for a hot upbeat latin flavoured track - a la "Let's Get Loud" ou "Open Off My Love" from On The 6. Still, most of the songs here are catchy ("Apresurate"), or just beautiful ("Tu" - best song on the record). "Porqué Te marchas", spanish version of "This is me" on her previous effort, Rebirth" is definitely better than the original: she sings with a sadness we would think this song is directed to Ben Affleck or Diddy (both cheated on her). The songs i'm feeling the less are "Me Haces Falta" which is too "pop" comparing to the other tracks, and "Amarte es todo" where she sounds kinda tired. I give J.Lo credit for focusing on the interpretation, the lyrics, the musicality of the songs rather than the beats like on her previous albums. I wish her good luck and success with this amazing cd! Keep on working with Marc Anthony, he's a great artist and his influence on Jenny-Lo is wonderful Expand
  26. GaryL
    Mar 28, 2007
    8
    I am tired of people--including music and movie critics--who condemn Jennifer Lopez because she's Jennifer Lopez. Please listen to her music and watch her movies before pretending you know what you're writing about--and then comment on the performance, not the the image.
  27. JamesS
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Jennifer best album !!! her voice is beautifull !!
  28. FranciscoA
    Mar 31, 2007
    10
    I love this album. She sings so beautiful and without background singers. The song "Tu" is so so gorgeous u people should really buy this album. Jennifer Lopez #1 4 Ever.
  29. FlorinFlorin
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Jennifer comes with a new style of music this time maybe trying to conquier other hearts. those probably who are not fond of her earlier albums might find it appealing this. some who loved her music might be dissapointed this time or just get over it and wait for the next. This album fills me with happines and power. I hope you will love this album.
  30. AngelS
    Apr 14, 2007
    8
    Vocally, the best effort from Lopez. The album is a gem in her catalogue, however, most fans would probably want a more uptempo effort from her. I personally enjoy the ballads.
  31. JORGEM
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    An amazing collection of songs--all with Mark A.'s genuis sound. The lyrics of every song are outstanding. They give a glimpse of their intimate relationship and how they just followed their hearts to become a couple. It's amazing to hear Jen sing "Que Hiciste", a song clearly addressing Mark's side of his breakup with his ex, Dayanara Torres--but sung by his current An amazing collection of songs--all with Mark A.'s genuis sound. The lyrics of every song are outstanding. They give a glimpse of their intimate relationship and how they just followed their hearts to become a couple. It's amazing to hear Jen sing "Que Hiciste", a song clearly addressing Mark's side of his breakup with his ex, Dayanara Torres--but sung by his current wife--superb! If the last cut, "Adios", an anthem, doesn't give you goosebumps or make you shed a tear, well, I pity you. Jen, you made me proud. Expand
  32. CarlosH
    Apr 28, 2007
    10
    The album is amazing i love all the songs, she´s doing grat
  33. Jun 3, 2014
    10
    My favorite spanish album of all time!!! i'm still listening to this everyday. it's a sincere and beautiful album. CAUM is vocally superior to her previous ones for sure.
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Como Ama does represent a victory for Lopez by offering fairly persuasive proof that, contrary to rumor, she can sing, and without a regiment of background choralists. All that bulking up she's been doing at the vocal gym isn't enough, though, to turn flaccid torch songs into muscle.
  2. The problem is that Lopez easily ages herself by a decade or two. In other words, Mama Lopez is probably going to love this album.
  3. Dovetailing with her choice of sound and arrangements that straddle convention and invention, Lopez mines new emotional depths. [31 Mar 2007]