Confessions

  • Record Label: La Face
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2004
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 6 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ErikaJ
    Apr 4, 2004
    10
    Usher outdid himself on this album. He opened up and let his confessions out. It takes a lot of guts to do that and Usher did it. I give it to him. Nobody else in the game is doing it, so it's great to finally hear "real" music. Thanks for being real with us Usher. Hands down, this album is hott.
  2. usherismaddhott
    Jun 4, 2004
    10
    OMG i luv this cd! it shows how sweet and sensative usher can be. it also shows that he has a playa side to him to but that makes him hott!! any girl would agree that he's hott. ain't i right?! this cd is the best usher cd so far!
  3. jenniferm
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    that cd is good i love that song these are my confessions i love that song usher raymond kept you head up and love chill.
  4. Jay
    Apr 3, 2004
    1
    Usher has always been good at uptempo material but this album is packed with soul-less attempts at being soulful. Usher should stay away from trying to do the slow jams and leave those to the real R&B cats out there (R. Kelly etc.). Usher is better at the the Justin Timberlake type material because his first attempt at proper soul music has him out of his depth
  5. EmilyS
    Jul 2, 2005
    1
    Usher's songs are about the same things over and over again. He cannot sing and I find it apalling that he always has to take off his shirt. Guess what, Ush? I don't like seeing abs and I'm a young teenage girl! Try pop and rock instead of this boring R & B
  6. mikeyd
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    I think was the best R&B album of 2005!
  7. andyb
    May 22, 2004
    4
    just another typical r & b album...and thats not saying a whole lot...too much gloss, contrived emotions, embarassing lyrics...yeah, people will love this. yeah, he has a great voice...just wish he would use it for something a tad more worthwhile...
  8. ElleV
    Sep 29, 2005
    10
    He's sooooooooooooooo hot!!!
  9. NseE
    Apr 11, 2004
    8
    This cd shows how much Usher has matured vocally. He even hits some great falsetto notes on a few tracks. Not as good as '8701' but it does have great songs like the intense 'Burn', the retro sounding 'Take your hand' with it's vinyl-like scratching sounds, 'Bad girl', 'Throwback', 'Truth hurts', and 'Can you handle This cd shows how much Usher has matured vocally. He even hits some great falsetto notes on a few tracks. Not as good as '8701' but it does have great songs like the intense 'Burn', the retro sounding 'Take your hand' with it's vinyl-like scratching sounds, 'Bad girl', 'Throwback', 'Truth hurts', and 'Can you handle it'. Great R&B. Expand
  10. MP
    Apr 15, 2004
    9
    One of the best R&B albums in years. Solidly laid tracks....his best effort yet.
  11. LisaP
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    It's his best CD so far. I loved it and I know many other people did too.
  12. ElizabethOConnorOConnor
    May 10, 2004
    10
    My favourite album so far this year!
  13. tabbyn
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    althoug this album falls into lame, weak and too clappy production bin that many r and b albums are used to, this is still a masterpiece for its stylish smoothness choruses at the hight of the genre that never fail to be remembered( and are the best bits of the album), astounding vocals that never hesitate to go all the way, allways pushing for perfection and making more of the 16 songs althoug this album falls into lame, weak and too clappy production bin that many r and b albums are used to, this is still a masterpiece for its stylish smoothness choruses at the hight of the genre that never fail to be remembered( and are the best bits of the album), astounding vocals that never hesitate to go all the way, allways pushing for perfection and making more of the 16 songs on this CD. Instramentally it blends melowballard like tones with danceflore rythms and electro funk bursts as found on yeah.Confessions succedes in being melodieously relaxing as well as funky and posseses a disturbingly smooth fell that only Usher has been able to achieve. It delivers many ballards and slow jams wich all contribute to the epic feel and some of the highlights are do it to me and can you handle it, both crammed with musical ideas and flourish,superstar,yeah,thats what its made for, bad girl, simple things and many more.In the end only truth hurts and whatever i want for below the standard.Best r and b record ever? Expand
  14. AmandaO
    Mar 27, 2004
    10
    Its great I love it!!!
  15. Rischelleb
    May 21, 2004
    10
    I'm 40 years young and was having the best time of my life during the evolution of rap/hip-hop. Not since then have I so thoroughly enjoyed a CD by a guy so young. I LOVE IT. Reminds me of dance club nights and when sex was still safe. New school funk with old school sex appeal. Do I hear a touch of Prince, Gap Band, or the "1979 Michael Jackson?"
  16. torik
    May 2, 2004
    10
    This is got to be ushers best cd.It is basically a problem alot of people are going through right now they are torn my self included but i with usher you gotta let it burn.
  17. nikkib
    Oct 11, 2004
    10
    Usher is as sexy and delicious as ever. If you have ever been in a relationship, you can relate to any song that?s on this CD. From 1 to 10 he IS a certified 20!!!!
  18. TonyD
    Mar 24, 2004
    9
    Light years better than alot of stuff out there now. Not as good as 8701. That was a tough act to follow. Big ups to Usher. He is the next generation.
  19. kylel
    May 11, 2004
    10
    this is his best cd yet he is the future of r&b. 8701 was also a great cd but he out did him self on this one
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 10, 2011
    90
    Needless to say, the time is right for the phrase "just another" to be banned from use when discussing him.
  2. His pipes are in tip-top shape, sure, but hearing this stuff is sometimes more embarrassing than reading your little sister's diary.
  3. The music here tries to be as unobtrusive as possible, its plasticky tone and carefully shined finish constructed to contrast with the earnest soulfulness of Usher's singing. And it's in his words that the album finds the substance that it does have.