Confield

  • Record Label: Warp
  • Release Date: May 15, 2001
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Confield presents one of the purest approximations of "machine music" we've heard yet. It's profoundly unsettling, but that's half its beauty; it's a sonic Frankenstein that refuses to let its plug be pulled.
  2. Essentially more surgical sonic detritus, it is Autechre nuanced, minutely reprocessed and at the top of their game.
  3. It's kind of a mess in places.
  4. Confield promises elegant production, accessibility in moderation, and one of the most enveloping, thought-provoking listening experiences to come forth from leftfield this year.
  5. Confield, Autechre's sixth full-length and its best release since 1997's Chiastic Slide, may also be its most ambitious.
  6. Alternative Press
    80
    Confield not only documents the future of IDM; it also cements Autechre's name in the pantheon of sonic visionaries. [Jul 2001, p.63]
  7. Blender
    60
    They've all but abandoned 4/4 grooves, discarded bass as an inefficient distraction and fractured their beats into splintery beatlets that detonate in flurries. [Jun/Jul 2001, p.105]
  8. Mojo
    90
    The mind-boggling intricacies and moody, broody sound-sculpting on tracks like Pen Expers find Autechre zooming off, leaving their followers eating cosmic dust. [May 2001, p.110]
  9. Urb
    70
    Autechre are mulching electronic music, letting their code sweat and rot in the heat. In doing so, they set off a complex ecological process that is interesting to watch, if not always pretty to listen to. [#84, p.105]
  10. Spin
    70
    A series of six-minute tracks that set some sort of richly (or ripely?) spastic texture-beats against ethereal drone-shimmers. [Aug 2001, p.136]
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    It's hard to describe this album and give a review. All I can say is that it gets better with time and you never fully appreciate this albumIt's hard to describe this album and give a review. All I can say is that it gets better with time and you never fully appreciate this album at his best because each listen there is something new. Though, I would say this has to be the most elitist music in the world, meaning that only a few could listen and enjoy it. Full Review »
  2. May 4, 2013
    9
    The IDM duo's breakthrough release is absolutely hooking, with layers of ambiance and carefully detailed beats, Autechre is able to create aThe IDM duo's breakthrough release is absolutely hooking, with layers of ambiance and carefully detailed beats, Autechre is able to create a sonic landscape of electronica that will remain the baron of their discography for years to come. Full Review »
  3. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    I listened to this while i was having a vacation in Manzanillo, Mexico. It was 2:00 a.m...one of the most beautiful moments of my life,I listened to this while i was having a vacation in Manzanillo, Mexico. It was 2:00 a.m...one of the most beautiful moments of my life, inspiring, complex, I was astonished, hypnotized. Confield is one of the best albums in the history of humankind. No exaggeration. Full Review »