Copia

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 36
  2. Negative: 5 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RayR
    May 2, 2007
    9
    One of the best, most layered ambient offerings I've heard in the last 5-7 years. This really is a lovely album. However, don't expect to be able to listen to it in a place other than one's quiet living space or in bed with you special someone. I was totally bowled over by the first track "Amreik." Listening to it in my car I found myself having to pull into a nearby One of the best, most layered ambient offerings I've heard in the last 5-7 years. This really is a lovely album. However, don't expect to be able to listen to it in a place other than one's quiet living space or in bed with you special someone. I was totally bowled over by the first track "Amreik." Listening to it in my car I found myself having to pull into a nearby parking lot not only to hear the lusciousness of it but to wipe away the tears I found wetting my eyes. Expand
  2. StephenU
    Jun 4, 2007
    3
    I am not a big fan of music being used in the background or as a soundtrack to "float somewhere." Still, I was intrigued enough to give this album a close listen and the only place I was transported was to the pre-sermon Sunday mornings at the church I went to in my childhood that featured an accomplished organist. I can see the skill necessary to produce this music, but it doesn't I am not a big fan of music being used in the background or as a soundtrack to "float somewhere." Still, I was intrigued enough to give this album a close listen and the only place I was transported was to the pre-sermon Sunday mornings at the church I went to in my childhood that featured an accomplished organist. I can see the skill necessary to produce this music, but it doesn't move me.....at all. Expand
  3. Patrick
    Mar 10, 2007
    6
    There are a few nice moments (e.g. "Ostinato"), but I'm surprised at the critical consensus to this album, since a lot of it is almost unforgivably schmaltzy. The more piano-driven moments on the album, in particular, often overstate themselves with their melodramatic, rubato-slathered delivery, despite how conventional and safe the notes themselves are. Tracks like "Prelude For Time There are a few nice moments (e.g. "Ostinato"), but I'm surprised at the critical consensus to this album, since a lot of it is almost unforgivably schmaltzy. The more piano-driven moments on the album, in particular, often overstate themselves with their melodramatic, rubato-slathered delivery, despite how conventional and safe the notes themselves are. Tracks like "Prelude For Time Feelers" and "Radio Ballet" represent the worst tendencies of new-age music -- too obviously manipulative to recede into the background, but too simple to withstand focused attention. Expand
  4. matta
    Mar 12, 2007
    6
    For me, this would have worked much better as an EP. It's a little long-winded, and a few tracks are pretty much identical to others. "Amreik" "Requiem on Frankfort Ave" "Radio Ballet" and "After Nature" are all gorgeous, but the rest are sort of blah. I know the ambient-loving community will accuse me of being too close-minded, or my taste in music sucks, or whatever, but they need For me, this would have worked much better as an EP. It's a little long-winded, and a few tracks are pretty much identical to others. "Amreik" "Requiem on Frankfort Ave" "Radio Ballet" and "After Nature" are all gorgeous, but the rest are sort of blah. I know the ambient-loving community will accuse me of being too close-minded, or my taste in music sucks, or whatever, but they need to face the facts: just because some dude plays a bunch of random chords on a synth doesn't make it good music. Expand
  5. JohnN
    Mar 30, 2007
    5
    zzzzzzzzzzzI don't get it zzzzzzzzzz I am getting sleepy
  6. MarkW
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    Magnific album, a masterpiece and a piece of art. The best album of the year, amazing!
  7. BrianC
    Mar 6, 2007
    10
    The first essential album since Spoon's 2005 Rock-Masterpiece, "Gimme Fiction", and one of the best avant-garde records of this decade (along with "Up in Flames" by Manitoba, "Rounds" by Four Tet, and "Endless Summer by Fennesz"). This album is an exercise in aural beauty and invoking feelings of passion and admiration. Though clearly different, it is similar in emotive ability to The first essential album since Spoon's 2005 Rock-Masterpiece, "Gimme Fiction", and one of the best avant-garde records of this decade (along with "Up in Flames" by Manitoba, "Rounds" by Four Tet, and "Endless Summer by Fennesz"). This album is an exercise in aural beauty and invoking feelings of passion and admiration. Though clearly different, it is similar in emotive ability to Talk Talk's masterpieces, "Spirt of Eden" and "Laughing Stock". Pretty albums sound like they should be cliche, but post-rock albums are actually more prone to making soundtracks to fear (for example, Mogwai, Godspeed You Black Emperor, and even Explosions in the Sky's second album). Of course, even the rareness of the subject matter doesn't make it a unique idea. Rather, "Copia" is great not because it introduces a new idea, but because it perfects the idea, and completes it more masterfully than any albums in recent memory. This is easily 2007's best album (as of March 6, 2007 - and given that I haven't listened to any leaks). It has a timelessness that many avant-garde pieces posses. Buy it now!! Rating: 9.4/10 Expand
  8. KevinR
    Mar 8, 2007
    9
    Soothing, beautiful electronica that serves as a reminder of what good music truly sounds like.
  9. milesj
    Apr 11, 2007
    3
    Big fan of Eluvium's first album, it is one of my favorites.. But what enamored me most was its lo-fidelity almost amateurish quality as he captured sounds and loops that were so simplistic in their beauty. It seems the more 'advanced' his sound, he gets lost in his strain for perfection. While some tracks stand out, I cringe when he sits down at the piano. I find it too Big fan of Eluvium's first album, it is one of my favorites.. But what enamored me most was its lo-fidelity almost amateurish quality as he captured sounds and loops that were so simplistic in their beauty. It seems the more 'advanced' his sound, he gets lost in his strain for perfection. While some tracks stand out, I cringe when he sits down at the piano. I find it too melodramatic, in a middle school piano recital kind of way, and he can't seem to break from a set of chords which have strung his last albums together, chords which him and I suppose others find profound, but what I find far too serious to be taken seriously.. I preferred the mistakes, Mr. Cooper! Try doing what all great artists do at the peak of their career: Bring it back to the basics. Expand
  10. laurenm
    May 10, 2007
    10
    beautiful and perfect
  11. PeeterL
    May 7, 2007
    8
    Album full of fantastical sounds and liberating memories. Makes younger people dream about simple life and older ones to think about wasted past. My personal favorite - prelude for time feelers.
  12. BDub
    May 9, 2007
    8
    People shouldn't review music that doesn't fit there taste. If you "don't get it" than don't reveiw it. It's like asking your grandma to review you new favorite hip hop album, the opinion is useless.
  13. Alex
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    This album is simply beautiful.
  14. AnandG
    Mar 20, 2007
    9
    Granted the canvas was offered by Eno and some coloring at times by Satie, Robert Wyatt or Philip Glass but it is Eluvium all the way even though those three aforementioned names ought to pique your curiosity about this artist. Yeah yeah ambient and yet this minimalist approach blends nostalgia with such solemnity that some pastoral elements become easily grandiose. It just hits the spot Granted the canvas was offered by Eno and some coloring at times by Satie, Robert Wyatt or Philip Glass but it is Eluvium all the way even though those three aforementioned names ought to pique your curiosity about this artist. Yeah yeah ambient and yet this minimalist approach blends nostalgia with such solemnity that some pastoral elements become easily grandiose. It just hits the spot with its beauty and its happy thread. For sure in my Top Five of 2007 even after only three months into it. Expand
  15. TristramC
    Mar 24, 2007
    9
    To the uninitiated (I was one before this record) I just want to say, this is not NPR music. This is not piano music for new agey 50 year old divoree females with shiny skin and faux smiles. You know the type, the ones who can't get enough of Andre Rieu or Sarah Brightman. I not really sure why. All the parts are there. It has something to do with method. It also has something to do To the uninitiated (I was one before this record) I just want to say, this is not NPR music. This is not piano music for new agey 50 year old divoree females with shiny skin and faux smiles. You know the type, the ones who can't get enough of Andre Rieu or Sarah Brightman. I not really sure why. All the parts are there. It has something to do with method. It also has something to do with integrety. Do you remember the first time you heard Moby's "God Moving Over The Face Of The Waters" and it was grand, majestic & beautiful yet there was a little voice inside telling you it was hackwork. Its like that except that little voice is silent. Expand
  16. MichaelC
    Mar 7, 2007
    5
    I don't get it. Eluvium try hard for perfection here, but the strains this attempt enamored ruin all brilliance here. The result is good at best, with flashes of simple, easy brilliance here and there.
  17. jeremyV
    Apr 14, 2007
    3
    I am sorry to be so categorical but this album sounds terrible to me. First of all, orchestral ambiance do not make it at all as we can easily feel virtual sound design and computer assistance. About the composition itself, it sounds like Eluvium use 3 or 4 chords and make it a song by looping it indefinately. About the whole feeling at the end of the album, I can hardly said I was I am sorry to be so categorical but this album sounds terrible to me. First of all, orchestral ambiance do not make it at all as we can easily feel virtual sound design and computer assistance. About the composition itself, it sounds like Eluvium use 3 or 4 chords and make it a song by looping it indefinately. About the whole feeling at the end of the album, I can hardly said I was feeling something special except some sort of relaxation. But Matt is right in his comment, it doesn't make it (good) music. Expand
  18. MatthewC
    May 23, 2007
    9
    Brilliant work, it's wondefully crafted. I've fallen asleep wiith it on a few times now...
  19. JosephK.
    Jun 16, 2007
    9
    An excellent album that reminds me of Sigur Ros, Hilmar Orn Hilmarsson and Brian Eno. Very minimalist, while Matthew Cooper really knows how to pick out the most majestic chords the listeners can ever handle.
  20. AndrewF.
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    I'm in love with this album. It really swept me away at first, and then I sort of let it drift down to the bottom of my playlist. However, now that I'm listening to it again, I'm even more moved. I really enjoy the complex sweeping chord changes in the longer tracks. One of my favorite albums so far in 2007.
  21. JohnnyS
    Apr 25, 2007
    3
    Bleh. OK it may be good for what it is but I like a bit of beats. It's too bad because I was really looking forward to this album after reading the reviews.
  22. JohnM
    Jul 18, 2007
    4
    I guess I just had too high of expectations after "Talk Amongst the Trees." Too much of this is just too lackluster, even contrived. "Radio Ballet" is particularly bad, seemingly lifted from the score of a bad Lifetime movie.
  23. JohnJ
    Jul 29, 2007
    10
    Gorgeous and stunning album. Definitely one of my favorite albums of 2007. And yeah, if you don't like "background music" or whatever, why listen and review it?
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. A magnificent set, awash in textures, atmospheres, moods, and emotion.
  2. It sounds exactly like Eluvium, only with an organ and not a guitar, and with more overt classical aspirations than before.
  3. This is a just an amazingly pretty and graceful album.