Crazy for You - Best Coast
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 2 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2011
    9
    The lo-fi sound is charming, the vocals are sugar sweet and the music infectious. From 'Boyfriend' to 'When I'm With You' (noticing a theme?) it won't challenge you, but it will please you.
  2. Aug 12, 2010
    8
    The debut full-length from this SoCal duo is brimming with brief, tuneful songs that will stick with you for days to come. Starting off with a bang on "Boyfriend", the band shows off it's girl-group vocals, surf rock instrumentation and mid-fi influences from the get-go. While a lot of the criticism of the lyrics is applicable, I am quite certain that will not detract from your enjoymentThe debut full-length from this SoCal duo is brimming with brief, tuneful songs that will stick with you for days to come. Starting off with a bang on "Boyfriend", the band shows off it's girl-group vocals, surf rock instrumentation and mid-fi influences from the get-go. While a lot of the criticism of the lyrics is applicable, I am quite certain that will not detract from your enjoyment of this fun record. Highlights include "Our Deal", "Bratty B" and "I Want to" which contains the best moment on the album in it's rousing finish: "I want to/go back to/the first time/ the first place." Deceptively simple and fully effective. I prefer this to Dum Dum Girls and Wavves and would place this in the same bracket with the Surfer Blood record. Collapse
  3. Aug 17, 2010
    8
    It's nothing challenging, but an enjoyable, Phil Spectorfied summer pop album with echos of the Beach Boys and the Ronettes with some dark undertones and alternative rock grit to lend it the gravitas it needs.
  4. Sep 15, 2010
    0
    A pale imitation of surf rock and girl group pop for people who've never listened to either genre in their lives. First off, I don't get where the surf rock comparisons are coming from, period. As for girl group pop, these kids' interpretation of it is honestly rather insulting, since their formula for it seems to be terrible lyrics, terrible musicianship, and all of it painfully hip. AllA pale imitation of surf rock and girl group pop for people who've never listened to either genre in their lives. First off, I don't get where the surf rock comparisons are coming from, period. As for girl group pop, these kids' interpretation of it is honestly rather insulting, since their formula for it seems to be terrible lyrics, terrible musicianship, and all of it painfully hip. All the songs are really amateurish pseudo-girl group garbage about boyfriends and talking to your cat with not a single memorable hook to be found. The most notable difference is, this girl doesn't have a Phil Spector or a Brian Wilson backing her up in the studio. The recording sounds completely lifeless. The Ronettes and the Beach Boys were not great because of their songwriting. They were great because they had awesome producers behind them who were constantly pushing the boundaries of what you could do with a recording studio. To try and strip down that style of pop and then pair it with an ultra-clean recording is completely missing the point, especially if you're never going to even attempt to rise above it in terms of songwriting. Even her early singles managed to get by on at least the merits of the super lo-fi recording - and "The Sun Was High" still stands as pretty much the only good song this band has released. Unfortunately, the sound on the album has been noticeably cleaned up to the point of making it sound really sanitized. So what you're left with is a bland recording of lame pop songs, without a scrap of originality anywhere. The hype around this band should have died the second this album dropped. It's a failure on every level. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2010
    7
    This is one of those albums that grows on you. At first listen, I thought this was another one of those albums jumping on the lo-fi bandwagon (i.e Dum Dum Girls, Vivian Girls). But after listening a bit more, I found something that was really stood out, opposed to the debuts of other lo-fi albums this year. Best Coast uses the lo-fi sound, and combines it with the sound of CaliforniaThis is one of those albums that grows on you. At first listen, I thought this was another one of those albums jumping on the lo-fi bandwagon (i.e Dum Dum Girls, Vivian Girls). But after listening a bit more, I found something that was really stood out, opposed to the debuts of other lo-fi albums this year. Best Coast uses the lo-fi sound, and combines it with the sound of California surf pop. But this is not what stood out, what grabbed my attention was its over simplicity. While this can be seen in a relatively negative connotation, I mean this in a positive way. The simple lyrics of an angsty girl trying to find love really connect with the simple guitar melodies. The result is a fun album, but the sound is much more complicated than its melodies and lyrics. The roughness and the simplicity contradict each other, which makes the album entertaining and interesting. With these elements combined, it really adds to a unique experience that can be listened to on the way to the beach or a sunny day in your room. Simple is good. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    Despite sounding a little bit familiar, the honesty and the so reachable lyrics are to well crafted for a debut album. The may say that they are the femenine version of Wavves, wich i think it's not bad at all.
  7. Sep 27, 2011
    3
    One of the worst albums I've ever heard. Incredibly uninspired. I'd understand if the lyrics were at least decent, but they never go much deeper than "I wish he was my boyfriend / I wish he was my boyfriend."
  8. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    Great album from start to finish. This doesnt push the envelope, break any new ground or bring anything new to the music world.. but who cares! The vast majority of tracks on this make you want to go and have some fun. Itâ
  9. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    Best Coast delivers a very enjoyable Californian Lo-Fi sound which adds a slight retro feeling to the album as a whole. The lyrics are fairly innocent and simple, but very infectious. There is not a track not worth listening to in 'Crazy For You.'
    Favorite Tracks: Boyfriend, Honey, When I'm with You
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 1 out of 29
  1. The catch is that through all her generalizations it soon becomes clear that she needs that guy much more than a postmodern girl is supposed to. Too bad she can't pin it down and also can't pin him down. I blame the weed.
  2. Dec 20, 2010
    50
    Consentino's certainly got an ear for a hook, and her trio makes good use of them, but you can only sing about your cat, weed, and loneliness for so many songs.
  3. Though Best Coast's music is fairly sunny-like beach music for kids who reek of patchouli-Crazy For You contains a core of sadness mixed with sickness that's difficult to embrace.