Crimson

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: May 24, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SnakeOilTanker
    Oct 10, 2005
    4
    not nearly up to par with the last four albums, I feel like these songs have lost their edgy emotion and hard unrefined rythme
  2. ChrisC
    Aug 15, 2005
    5
    What the hell is this. Alkaline trio used to have an underground cult of followers, who loved their original, amazingly lyricised, kick ass music. I got crimson months before it came out, and i could already tell the direction they are headed, poppy crap you see on MTV. I know they had videos like stupid kid on before, but you get what im saying. If you are new to Alk3, go pick up What the hell is this. Alkaline trio used to have an underground cult of followers, who loved their original, amazingly lyricised, kick ass music. I got crimson months before it came out, and i could already tell the direction they are headed, poppy crap you see on MTV. I know they had videos like stupid kid on before, but you get what im saying. If you are new to Alk3, go pick up 'maybe il'l catch fire" or self titled. Crimson is an ok cd, how could you not like alk. Expand
  3. TracyW
    Jul 18, 2005
    4
    How awful. They are taking this "gothic mysterious" crap way to far. Bring back the talent please. how disappointing.
  4. pl0rpdasklij
    Jul 9, 2005
    6
    The album reminds me too much of Green Day, and I didn't buy the album to listen to a sad greenday rip off. While I still find the lyrics hard to rip myself away from. I mss the raw sound they started with.
  5. mike
    Jun 15, 2005
    4
    Anyone who was a fan of Alk3 before good mourning should be very disappointed with Crimson. How can people say its their best effort... when it's so obviously their worst. Overproduced and lacking what they used to have.
  6. KatherineW
    Jun 7, 2005
    5
    I love alkaline trio. But im sorry, this album is totally over produced. good mourning was good because it sounded so raw and the lyrics were raw to go with it. I love that it was dark. Their even older stuff is even more incredible but a little too pop punk for me... but i still really like it! just gotta be in the right mood. their old stuff i could listen to over and over and over just I love alkaline trio. But im sorry, this album is totally over produced. good mourning was good because it sounded so raw and the lyrics were raw to go with it. I love that it was dark. Their even older stuff is even more incredible but a little too pop punk for me... but i still really like it! just gotta be in the right mood. their old stuff i could listen to over and over and over just on repeat. and never get sick of it. This cd i can see myself getting sick of within two weeks... which is not a good thing. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. As great as Alkaline Trio are at relating their booze and blood-spattered lives to listeners, it does get a little tedious. But Skiba and Andriano's interlocking harmonies never flag, and the band's rhythms are just too catchy throughout.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Crimson's minor-key arrangements... make more room for spooky keyboard ooze and swinging rhythms than those on [their] four previous full-lengths. [27 May 2005, p.136]
  3. On Crimson, Alkaline Trio again manage to make bloodletting sound like hot fun on a Saturday night.