Crimson

  • Record Label: Vagrant
  • Release Date: May 24, 2005
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 4 out of 49

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. traysin
    May 30, 2005
    7
    After the first three tracks, this album is incredibly dull. Maybe i had high expectations from being a huge alkaline trio fan, but most of this album seems over-produced and unfelt. Maybe because the band didn't experience any of those real-life romantic catastrophes up to this album, maybe that helped?
  2. JackC
    Jan 21, 2007
    9
    Almost perfect album, soooo goood! Songs like "Sadie" " Dethbed" are just geniusly well done!
  3. JamesG
    Oct 10, 2005
    10
    Sheer brialliance. Their most complete album.
  4. SnakeOilTanker
    Oct 10, 2005
    4
    not nearly up to par with the last four albums, I feel like these songs have lost their edgy emotion and hard unrefined rythme
  5. mathiasl
    Dec 7, 2005
    7
    I love Alkaline Trio my favorite band of all time and I can't get enough of any of their CDs but Crimson which I bought 2 copies of the day it came out Let me down with a few songs. "Time to waste" "Burn" "Deth bed" "Pervent this Tragedy" "Sadie" "Back to Hell" "Smoke" and "You're Neck" are all good songs not great like the old Alkaline Trio. the rest of this CD I think should I love Alkaline Trio my favorite band of all time and I can't get enough of any of their CDs but Crimson which I bought 2 copies of the day it came out Let me down with a few songs. "Time to waste" "Burn" "Deth bed" "Pervent this Tragedy" "Sadie" "Back to Hell" "Smoke" and "You're Neck" are all good songs not great like the old Alkaline Trio. the rest of this CD I think should never have been Sang and the music never plaied by Alkaline Trio. It doesn't seem like there heading in the same direction as before. Just my thought. Expand
  6. mike
    Jun 15, 2005
    4
    Anyone who was a fan of Alk3 before good mourning should be very disappointed with Crimson. How can people say its their best effort... when it's so obviously their worst. Overproduced and lacking what they used to have.
  7. JasonV
    Jun 1, 2005
    10
    Terrific album. In fact I think it is one of their better efforts. And frankly to the people that think their early work is better, that's cool and all, but seriously if they were making that music going into their 30's, sorry that would be pathetic.
  8. ReganS.
    Jun 29, 2005
    1
    This album is absolutely horrible. Since "Good Mourning" AK3 has been musically destroying themselves. This isn't "grown up". It's disgusting. It's sickening to see an amazing band like AK3 making such a terrible album.
  9. KatherineW
    Jun 7, 2005
    5
    I love alkaline trio. But im sorry, this album is totally over produced. good mourning was good because it sounded so raw and the lyrics were raw to go with it. I love that it was dark. Their even older stuff is even more incredible but a little too pop punk for me... but i still really like it! just gotta be in the right mood. their old stuff i could listen to over and over and over just I love alkaline trio. But im sorry, this album is totally over produced. good mourning was good because it sounded so raw and the lyrics were raw to go with it. I love that it was dark. Their even older stuff is even more incredible but a little too pop punk for me... but i still really like it! just gotta be in the right mood. their old stuff i could listen to over and over and over just on repeat. and never get sick of it. This cd i can see myself getting sick of within two weeks... which is not a good thing. Expand
  10. Gazcomsat
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    "Crimson" is easily my favourite album of the year so far. Every track is superb, particularly "smoke" and "Settle for Satin". Although similar in content, I think it is better than "Good Mourning" and definitely do not consider it to be over produced. I loved the whole orchestral feel to the album. 10 out of 10.
  11. TracyW
    Jul 18, 2005
    4
    How awful. They are taking this "gothic mysterious" crap way to far. Bring back the talent please. how disappointing.
  12. ThomasS
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    Their best album till now, this is the first album to me which has got an enormous longlivety - Crimson takes a few listenings to enjoy it, but than it will catch you like no other album ever! The ultimate perfection of pop melodies and unbelievable songwriting!
  13. StephenW
    Jul 6, 2005
    7
    I feel this album is enjoyable. It's not the best product put out by the band but I enjoy it as I do all their albums. I own my share of crummy cds but this one does not belong in the throw outs. A great album to burn from a friend or buy used.
  14. pl0rpdasklij
    Jul 9, 2005
    6
    The album reminds me too much of Green Day, and I didn't buy the album to listen to a sad greenday rip off. While I still find the lyrics hard to rip myself away from. I mss the raw sound they started with.
  15. JillL
    Aug 19, 2005
    10
    I DO like Crimson. This album and Good Mourning are my two favorites. I do like their older stuff too, but I especially like the "darker" side of their latest stuff. And it's not a "dark" that depresses me. If anything, it makes me happier about life in general. They're not at all worried about who they might piss off next, as far as their lyrics are concerned. Anyway, I love I DO like Crimson. This album and Good Mourning are my two favorites. I do like their older stuff too, but I especially like the "darker" side of their latest stuff. And it's not a "dark" that depresses me. If anything, it makes me happier about life in general. They're not at all worried about who they might piss off next, as far as their lyrics are concerned. Anyway, I love Alkaline Trio. Thank you for your music, because I would probably so insane with my shitty life right now (for issues I won't go in to.) I have Alkaline Trio on my Ipod and listen to them in the car over and over. Hell, I'd ask Matt to marry me, if he wasn't already engaged (and I wasn't already in a doomed marriage.) Lucky girl...but I wish them the best! Expand
  16. Jo
    Dec 14, 2006
    8
    Definately, Alkaline Trio did it differently this time. For my opinion, this album sounds more ''rock'' than the other ones. They tried something more ''mature'' and it just sounds differently, with less direct songs like ''Fine Without you'' or ''This could be love''.
  17. SamuelA
    Dec 2, 2005
    9
    I have been a fan of the Alkaline Trio ever since their firts releases on Asian Man Records. At the time, I was hooked on the raw energy of their music. I wasn't too thrilled with "Goddammit!" or "From Here to Infirmary", even though there are some memorable tracks that I simply cannot stop listening to. "Good Mourning" was absolutely brilliant, and is my favorite Alk3 album to date. I have been a fan of the Alkaline Trio ever since their firts releases on Asian Man Records. At the time, I was hooked on the raw energy of their music. I wasn't too thrilled with "Goddammit!" or "From Here to Infirmary", even though there are some memorable tracks that I simply cannot stop listening to. "Good Mourning" was absolutely brilliant, and is my favorite Alk3 album to date. However, "Crimson" is genius in it's own unique way...I'm glad the band took the direction they did. To me, they are the equivalent of what The Cure was way back when. Expand
  18. thomas
    May 29, 2005
    3
    Alkaline trio found a way to over indulge themselves with the misfits-esque horror rock. "Good Mourning" took it too far. This is even worse. Their first albums, dating back to Asian Man Records releases, focused more on drunken pop-punk emo tracks and did not dive into name-dropping the dark lord until "Hell Yes". The last two records just don't seem very genuine.
  19. Scotty
    May 30, 2005
    10
    They used a much different, poppier approach to this album then their previous efforts, but it works beautifully. I can't stop listening to it.
  20. AndrewD
    Jun 14, 2005
    10
    The best Alkaline Trio's album for sure and one of the best pop-punk records within last 10 years.
  21. JessieS
    Jun 16, 2005
    7
    Good album, much better than good mourning but ive ceased to believe that Skiba feels anything for what is now dubbed "goth humor." it is true they are growing up, maybe it is time they find a subject they still feel a connection with?
  22. mylsrox
    Jul 15, 2005
    10
    this is a brill album best one theyve ever don!!
  23. LauraM
    Jul 16, 2005
    10
    maybe its just cause i love this band, or its bevcause i love this CD, but i think its GREAT
  24. ChrisC
    Aug 15, 2005
    5
    What the hell is this. Alkaline trio used to have an underground cult of followers, who loved their original, amazingly lyricised, kick ass music. I got crimson months before it came out, and i could already tell the direction they are headed, poppy crap you see on MTV. I know they had videos like stupid kid on before, but you get what im saying. If you are new to Alk3, go pick up What the hell is this. Alkaline trio used to have an underground cult of followers, who loved their original, amazingly lyricised, kick ass music. I got crimson months before it came out, and i could already tell the direction they are headed, poppy crap you see on MTV. I know they had videos like stupid kid on before, but you get what im saying. If you are new to Alk3, go pick up 'maybe il'l catch fire" or self titled. Crimson is an ok cd, how could you not like alk. Expand
  25. Nick:O
    Aug 24, 2005
    9
    I like this ablum A LOT, the only thing I feel it lacks is the songs that you can't stop singing all day. I had that with From here to infermary (Private Eye and Trucks and Trains), Goddamnit (Southern Rock, Clavicle) and Good Mourning had me singing Continental, Emma and This Could Be Love for over a month straight. Great album... but the songs just aren't as sticky. Dethbed I like this ablum A LOT, the only thing I feel it lacks is the songs that you can't stop singing all day. I had that with From here to infermary (Private Eye and Trucks and Trains), Goddamnit (Southern Rock, Clavicle) and Good Mourning had me singing Continental, Emma and This Could Be Love for over a month straight. Great album... but the songs just aren't as sticky. Dethbed and the Poison are great and may stick after closer examination though :D Expand
  26. JamieF
    Aug 31, 2005
    9
    A fantastic effort from the trio! Another great album to add to the collection - maybe doesn't quite live up to the amazing sounds of From Here to Infirmary, probably more on a par with Good Mourning. It's definately a new, refreshing sound, but maybe disappointingly a little less punky than before. Matt Skiba's voice is still as melodic as ever though - It's like a A fantastic effort from the trio! Another great album to add to the collection - maybe doesn't quite live up to the amazing sounds of From Here to Infirmary, probably more on a par with Good Mourning. It's definately a new, refreshing sound, but maybe disappointingly a little less punky than before. Matt Skiba's voice is still as melodic as ever though - It's like a dream to listen to. Expand
  27. sharayam
    Aug 5, 2005
    10
    i loved the new album, its alott different then most of there older work (which i also loved) but its still as good if not better.
  28. AndyY
    May 9, 2006
    2
    The Alkaline Trio remain one of the most cringe-inducing bands in rock music. Invoking The Cure is nonsense: Robert Smith remains an excellent songwriter/lyricist/whatever; Matt Skiba stands tall as one of the worst, most banal lyricists currently alive. It's also worth noting that CRIMSON's album artwork is atrocious.
  29. patrickh
    Jun 2, 2006
    9
    Genre jumping at its best.
  30. Andy
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    Another solid effort.
  31. Scott
    Jun 11, 2005
    10
    I love all the Alkaline Trio albums, new and old. Guys, the band is getting older. They aren't the same young punk guys they were, and there aren't going to be anymore albums like Goddammit and why would there be? They have a budget now! Only 2 or 3 tracks on this album are average, the rest are stellar.
  32. camerond
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    their best yet
  33. SteveVonW
    Jun 15, 2005
    10
    These is the best Trio Cd's I've heard ......well sense the last one I heard anyways the melodic sounds of Daniel Andriano voice and punk rock sound of Matt Skiba's voice make for a great album, mix in some sweet guitar and total bass driven songs makes this album simply perfect
  34. rickityRaw
    Jun 25, 2005
    2
    Seriously though, anyone who knows the least bit about where AK3 came from would know that this album is terrible. But for those who started "listening" to ak3 after they signed to vagrant might like this album. but those people also probably listen to whatever hit bands are on MTV and are avid radio listeners.
  35. honzau
    Jun 25, 2005
    9
    Alkaline Trio are getting better and better. It takes a loger lime to like this album, but your love to this album is deeper and stronger then.
  36. Skev
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    an absalute musical masterpeice, i have had it since the relese date and i am still listening 2 it once or more a day, i cant get enough cant w8 to see them on the 21st of novemer, ALKALINE TRO RULE!!!
  37. ZelaneG
    Jul 31, 2005
    8
    Musically it is brilliant, very catchy too, the introduction of new harmonics and melodic piano pieces give great depth to the music. The lyrics are naturally the best part however, dan and matt are lyrical geniuses who songs would make A grade poetry "below a sky that knows no stars, you'll never shine again". Deffinatly an asset to my alk collection, however like many true alk fans Musically it is brilliant, very catchy too, the introduction of new harmonics and melodic piano pieces give great depth to the music. The lyrics are naturally the best part however, dan and matt are lyrical geniuses who songs would make A grade poetry "below a sky that knows no stars, you'll never shine again". Deffinatly an asset to my alk collection, however like many true alk fans I realy would like the next album to have a track back to the goddamit days, i do so miss the done in a garage just to piss people off sound. Dissapointing album title and cover also. AND HAHAHAHAHAHA I'M SEEING THEM LIVE AT A 500 PEOPLE VENUE IN 2 WEEK : D Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. As great as Alkaline Trio are at relating their booze and blood-spattered lives to listeners, it does get a little tedious. But Skiba and Andriano's interlocking harmonies never flag, and the band's rhythms are just too catchy throughout.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Crimson's minor-key arrangements... make more room for spooky keyboard ooze and swinging rhythms than those on [their] four previous full-lengths. [27 May 2005, p.136]
  3. On Crimson, Alkaline Trio again manage to make bloodletting sound like hot fun on a Saturday night.