User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BenjaminBunny
    Oct 1, 2005
    3
    The most irritatingly overhyped, just plain irritating douchebag having success in indie music today. The world does not need anyone with that voice singing those lyrics, it is retarded. Unlike the talented Joanna Newsom, who gets lumped into the same "freak folk" category by critics, the people who say they like Banhart will be embarrassed to have ever owned his albums five years from The most irritatingly overhyped, just plain irritating douchebag having success in indie music today. The world does not need anyone with that voice singing those lyrics, it is retarded. Unlike the talented Joanna Newsom, who gets lumped into the same "freak folk" category by critics, the people who say they like Banhart will be embarrassed to have ever owned his albums five years from now, I promise you. Expand
  2. tintin
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    i like it. i like it. but it takes some time, but it probably will last.
  3. AlexV
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    An album worth listening to on constant repeat.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Jul 9, 2006
    7
    This album was my first exposure to Banhart, and I came away a bit disappointed. I subsequently heard Rejoicing in the Hands and Nino Rojo, and I loved both of them. So what's wrong with Cripple Crow? I'm not entirely sure yet. It seems less personal than his last two records, and it's certainly lost that intimate, relaxed vibe that they had. I wouldn't call Cripple This album was my first exposure to Banhart, and I came away a bit disappointed. I subsequently heard Rejoicing in the Hands and Nino Rojo, and I loved both of them. So what's wrong with Cripple Crow? I'm not entirely sure yet. It seems less personal than his last two records, and it's certainly lost that intimate, relaxed vibe that they had. I wouldn't call Cripple Crow a bad record, but it doesn't begin to approach the genius of Banhart's other work. Expand
  5. JoelC
    Jan 27, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing, transporting as aldous huxley would say.
  6. t.yildiz
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    This is an album that you'll either love or hate at an instant. Surely, neo-folk(?) folks who are familiar with Banhart's previous work can be estranged after witnessing the variety of form of the first few tracks. But it's not an ocean away from Young God releases, still being a dynamite of a scrapbook. Seems like he had a ton of fun making the album and i'm glad i This is an album that you'll either love or hate at an instant. Surely, neo-folk(?) folks who are familiar with Banhart's previous work can be estranged after witnessing the variety of form of the first few tracks. But it's not an ocean away from Young God releases, still being a dynamite of a scrapbook. Seems like he had a ton of fun making the album and i'm glad i was at a playful mood when i first heard it, to share it. Highly recommended. Expand
  7. StevenL
    Oct 2, 2005
    9
    This album is awesome. Definitely Devendra Banhart's best work; a contender for album of the year, as far as I'm concerned.
  8. lujob
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    the beauty in socks!!!
  9. matta
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    Solid, but not brilliant. It is probably a little better than his oddly overrated 2004 releases though.
  10. AdamR
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    A very lush album that at once sounds nothing and everything like his last release.
  11. WalterE
    Sep 14, 2005
    6
    Very strange, sometimes silly Hippie-stuff, missing the intimacy and the directness of the first album.
  12. WarrenS
    Sep 23, 2005
    10
    "Cripple Crow" cements for me why Devendra is needed in modern music. He's got a knack of being able to communicate directly through his songs, a sense of playful, warm and charismatic charm embellished by an originality that again is sadly lacking in today
  13. Sunit
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    This is really an 8.5, but this album is a stellar journay into Devendra's mind, his whim's and pleasures. The album is a slight departure but at the same time it feels like he's coming home. Brilliant!
  14. TBoog
    Apr 21, 2006
    9
    This is a great album. I'm definetly a fan of his older stuff, but I don't find this a disapointment in the least. It's a bit much to take in all at once, but give it a few listens and it'll begin to grow on you. It's the kind of album that reminds me how much I love being alive.
  15. Jbubba
    Nov 11, 2005
    9
    Never heard of this guy until today. Reminds me of Sunshine Superman mixed with Bo Diddly. Best record I've heard in a long time.
  16. madsl
    Nov 29, 2005
    4
    To me this is one of the major disappointments of 2005! Rejoicing was a fantastically freakish album but this is just hippy crap most of the way...where have all the folk mysticism and backwoods authenticity gone?
  17. SeanT
    Dec 11, 2005
    7
    slight disapontment. this album doesnt have the direct intimacy of his first 3 and it seems to lack a bit of focus but there are some standout tracks.
  18. WayX
    Oct 28, 2005
    0
    In a word: hype. Another skinny hipster with nothing to say and a hundred different ways to say it. DB is fake genius, fake indie, and fake T Rex. It's not about loving or hating, it's about hearing or believing. I'm a non-believer.
  19. SallyR
    Sep 14, 2005
    4
    I'm starting to suspect that Devendra is a hoax. He probably drives an SUV. He's basically just Donovan without the hooks, voice, or naivety. A self-conscious, over-calculated pin-up for a forced "indie" trend where utter mediocrity is being marketed as inspiration for a post-911 longing for the romanticism of the 60's. College kids should seriously watch out. Devendra I'm starting to suspect that Devendra is a hoax. He probably drives an SUV. He's basically just Donovan without the hooks, voice, or naivety. A self-conscious, over-calculated pin-up for a forced "indie" trend where utter mediocrity is being marketed as inspiration for a post-911 longing for the romanticism of the 60's. College kids should seriously watch out. Devendra might just be the man in sheep's clothing- be it a dashiki or sandals or whatever. Collapse
  20. JohnnyWalker
    Sep 17, 2005
    2
    Does this drippy Marc Bolan plagiarist release an album every other week, do does it just seem like it? The many rock critics grovelling at this drip's feet is surely a sad sign as to the state of music in the zero decade.
  21. BrownB
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    I don't think this album would be good for everyone, but it's definately one that I love. I have been listening to it nearly nonstop ever since I purchased it.
  22. RealMusic
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    The only musician who wrote his own music on billboard, Its great music, fun and poetic, thats all... theres not much flashy sexy, plastic wrapper so its not for everyone.
  23. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    One quality Devendra Banhart has is not to take himself too seriously and this freedom allows him to write some of the best songs that transcend age, race, country and any other border that stifles some other music. I will always love this album, pure genius.
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Ultimately, Cripple Crow is a roughly stitched tapestry; it is rich, varied, wild, irreverent, simple, and utterly joyous to listen to.
  2. What has become increasingly clear is that Devendra Banhart needs an editor.
  3. Less folky and more eclectic than his past work, Crow offers ample evidence of growth in Banhart’s range as both a performer and a songwriter.