Cripple Crow - Devendra Banhart
Cripple Crow Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thom Monahan (Pernice Brothers) co-produced the singer-songwriter's fourth album, which finds him singing in Spanish on a few of the disc's 22 tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. This album is nothing short of a miracle.
  2. A '60s psychedelic, experimental hippie-folk throwback, an invocation of lost, childish innocence delicately constructed with a deft musical touch.
  3. Cripple Crow is undoubtedly impressive, vastly singular but entirely accessible, and an inspired listening experience where Banhart again proves himself one of the more talented and charismatic forces in modern folk.
  4. Cripple Crow is demanding because of its length - after twenty-two tracks on a single disc, nearly any artist would be difficult to tolerate. But the album is beautifully executed.
  5. Banhart's pleas for peace and harmony have a guileless charm, and in "When They Come" they assume an epic urgency. But his whimsy is often slight and indulgent. [9 Oct 2005]
  6. 70
    Though long, it's strong. [Oct 2005, p.134]
  7. Flags in equally fruitful and frustrating ways.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    One quality Devendra Banhart has is not to take himself too seriously and this freedom allows him to write some of the best songs that transcend age, race, country and any other border that stifles some other music. I will always love this album, pure genius. Expand
  2. RealMusic
    Nov 24, 2005
    10
    The only musician who wrote his own music on billboard, Its great music, fun and poetic, thats all... theres not much flashy sexy, plastic wrapper so its not for everyone. Expand
  3. BrownB
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    I don't think this album would be good for everyone, but it's definately one that I love. I have been listening to it nearly nonstop ever since I purchased it. Collapse
  4. Sunit
    Sep 24, 2005
    9
    This is really an 8.5, but this album is a stellar journay into Devendra's mind, his whim's and pleasures. The album is a slight departure but at the same time it feels like he's coming home. Brilliant! Expand
  5. tintin
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    i like it. i like it. but it takes some time, but it probably will last.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Jul 9, 2006
    7
    This album was my first exposure to Banhart, and I came away a bit disappointed. I subsequently heard Rejoicing in the Hands and Nino Rojo, and I loved both of them. So what's wrong with Cripple Crow? I'm not entirely sure yet. It seems less personal than his last two records, and it's certainly lost that intimate, relaxed vibe that they had. I wouldn't call Cripple Crow a bad record, but it doesn't begin to approach the genius of Banhart's other work. Expand
  7. WayX
    Oct 28, 2005
    0
    In a word: hype. Another skinny hipster with nothing to say and a hundred different ways to say it. DB is fake genius, fake indie, and fake T Rex. It's not about loving or hating, it's about hearing or believing. I'm a non-believer. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews