• Record Label: Kranky
  • Release Date: Jan 29, 2007
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GregBH
    Feb 8, 2007
    8
    Refreshing psychedelia. Nice sounds, nothing too jarring. Nice hooks. It all works for me.
  2. mathk.
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    divided into two parts. one part all weird sounds, the other way cool and catchy tunes. kinda hard to get through the first time but after the second or third listen you realize the cool and catchy tunes kick in at just the right moment and well... it's brilliant.
  3. BrianH
    Mar 7, 2007
    9
    Complex, lovely psychedelia. Takes several listens to digest. Not every song is engaging, but they have a really wonderful sound that carries them. Guitars alternately swirl and dart over dead-sounding drums and funky, almost dance-y bass. But my favorite part of the sound might be the vocals -- superb lyrics (at least I think they are, based on what I can decipher). I hope they decide to Complex, lovely psychedelia. Takes several listens to digest. Not every song is engaging, but they have a really wonderful sound that carries them. Guitars alternately swirl and dart over dead-sounding drums and funky, almost dance-y bass. But my favorite part of the sound might be the vocals -- superb lyrics (at least I think they are, based on what I can decipher). I hope they decide to continue making music, because I think they have the potential to record a classic. Expand
  4. SDK
    Apr 8, 2007
    10
    A lovely balance of psychy melodic & noisy turn-a-rounds from this 5 piece of innocents. This is one of those memorable albums, you know the type I speak of. Mm Hmm. Liek that CD you've had since 1989. You wouldn't daret part with it and when you listen, it has to be from start to finish. These cats really know production. However, I would definitely recommned that they work on A lovely balance of psychy melodic & noisy turn-a-rounds from this 5 piece of innocents. This is one of those memorable albums, you know the type I speak of. Mm Hmm. Liek that CD you've had since 1989. You wouldn't daret part with it and when you listen, it has to be from start to finish. These cats really know production. However, I would definitely recommned that they work on their live act. Expand
  5. WinstonC
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    A Brillant Album start to finish....don't understand why it isn't released on vinyl considering that would be ideal consumption and all in one sitting. Great live band and awesome engaging album you likely won't forget if you can get past the first play.
  6. JohnA
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    The first time I listened to this CD is was OK. But, I listened to it again and again and again.........so the more I listened the deeper and better the songs became (the sound is hard to define yet it is intricate and deep with the abstract vocals). Then I saw their live show and they put on a PHENOMINAL performance!!! I bought their 2LP and EP at the show and now they are my fav indie group.
  7. NikolaiF
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    Solid return. Best shoegaze album since Loveless.
  8. pg
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    a great listen. something to actually wrap your ears around and enjoy.
  9. SamH
    Mar 22, 2007
    9
    I am very partial to shoegaze, but this is a truly amazing dosage of pleasant psychedelia. Not as forceful as Serena Maneesh or MBV, but incredibly focussed and more immediately engaging. One of 2007's finest.
  10. ToddW
    Feb 14, 2007
    7
    Channeling Spaceman 3 through a wall of sound reminiscent of tourmates The Liars, one would figure this album would be an instant classic. It's not. Although a more melodic listen than most everything The Liars has done, it doesn't reward after repeated listens like Drum's Not Dead. It's a lot of work trying to find the needle in the haystacks these songs present. And Channeling Spaceman 3 through a wall of sound reminiscent of tourmates The Liars, one would figure this album would be an instant classic. It's not. Although a more melodic listen than most everything The Liars has done, it doesn't reward after repeated listens like Drum's Not Dead. It's a lot of work trying to find the needle in the haystacks these songs present. And when you find one, it's just kind of a disappointing shrug and...next. There's really nothing here that's got that WTF factor. For those who have drunk the koolaid in comparing it to Loveless, please, take a cold shower. Better yet, spin this album again. It'll eventually calm you down. Expand
  11. Oct 23, 2011
    8
    The album takes quite a few listens to sink in. The first half of the album is mostly comprised of instrumental tracks, whereas the second half is made up of some nice psychedelic pop. Overall a great album with the stand out track being Spring Hall Convert.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Yeah, the alternate/alternating track sequence is screwy for the first seven songs or so — Deerhunter build momentum only to lose it. But it gives the album’s backside something of a black-and-white-to-Technicolor moment.
  2. Although it's definitely a bit bi-polar, Cryptograms still gets high marks for offering up a slew of great tracks and actually gaining strength the longer it goes on.
  3. This is not a complete or coherent narrative of despair, as the two album halves don’t particularly work with one another—it really feels like two EPs sewn together. But the effort is more than evocative enough to scare the hell out of you, at least for a little while.