Crystal Castles [2010]

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Crystal Castles [2010] Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second self-titled album for the Canadian duo was recorded in a variety of places, including a garage in Detroit, a church in Iceland, a cabin in Canada, and a real music studio in London.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Having put aside the gimmicky Atari-melting antics of yore, the Castles have created a dense-yet-airy thicket of pure pop transcendence.
  2. As rewarding as this new album is, it's even more impressive when you consider its context: Crystal Castles may have come on at the tail-end of the blog-house/nu-rave/French-touch mini-rage, but they've now transcended it, moving from scene linchpin to indie stars.
  3. 82
    So until the radio stations get it right..make of the wicked what you will. Ferocity will never feel so fuzzy, nor fear so inviting. [Spring/Summer 2010, p.104]
  4. 80
    Two years later, our Canadian antiheroes return with something deeper than digital histrionics and crazily infectious beats.
  5. It’s a late resolution; like their debut, Crystal Castles feels long; not too long for comfort but too long for coherence.
  6. Q Magazine
    60
    The follow-up repeats the trick, scattering dreamy pop between industrial soundscapes. [July 2010, p. 129]
  7. It’s a middling album that managed to get the best of collective consciousness.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    I love this album; i listen to this album all the time. I think this is the album of the year. This is number one on my list for best 2010I love this album; i listen to this album all the time. I think this is the album of the year. This is number one on my list for best 2010 albums. I love the sound to this album, Crystal Castles is an outstanding band. One of the best Experimental band. Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2016
    10
    I found this album deeper and darker, very impressive work with the lyrics and beats. Baptism and Year of Silence take this to the next level.I found this album deeper and darker, very impressive work with the lyrics and beats. Baptism and Year of Silence take this to the next level. Masterpiece. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2011
    10
    smoke weed everyday
  4. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    They have their tricks and use them well. CC decided to make a prettier album than their debut and it shows. Standout track: I'm Made ofThey have their tricks and use them well. CC decided to make a prettier album than their debut and it shows. Standout track: I'm Made of Chalk, PapaSmear, Celestica. Expand
  5. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Crystal Castles sophomore effort is far from a slump. They take what made their first album so great, and add a polished, refined sound, butCrystal Castles sophomore effort is far from a slump. They take what made their first album so great, and add a polished, refined sound, but still manage to have that lo-fi, edgy sonic noise that only they can make. Do I prefer this album over their first? No. Is it a good album? Absolutely. All In All, Crystal Castles have yet to make a bad album. B+ Expand
  6. Sep 23, 2010
    8
    Crystal Castles's 2008 debut album established their sound as something most listeners either love or despise with few falling in between.Crystal Castles's 2008 debut album established their sound as something most listeners either love or despise with few falling in between. This album follows up on a similar note while being more developed and richer then it's predecessor. This time around the songs feel fuller with regular use of distorted noise to back up their trademark 8 bit synth and generally stronger melodies. Tracks like Vietnam and Year of Silence continue their dance vibe while tracks like Doe Dear show they can still do quality layered noise pop. Basically if you loved their first album it's likely you'll love this one just as much if not more. On the other side though chances are if you hated their debut album this one won't win you over either. Expand
  7. KevinK.
    Jun 12, 2010
    2
    This album absolutely sucks compared to the first one. So horribly disappointed.

See all 17 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. May's Best New Music

    May's Best New Music Image
    Published: May 25, 2010
    What made our list of the best-reviewed albums from the past month? The debut LP from Janelle Mon