User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KoryM.
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Simply, one of the greatest albums I have ever heard. It will be a d@mn shame if this piece of art never sees the light of day. NPR has had a stream up for at least a month...listen while you can.
  2. dannys.
    Jul 20, 2009
    9
    This is a beautiful combination of efforts grounded by Lynch, SH & DM... exactly what you would hope for from this crew.
  3. Sjoerd
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    It's dark and brooding. I love the atmosphere of the album, and apart from that, the music is just great.
  4. SlobodanR.
    Jun 28, 2009
    9
    Beautiful.
  5. FelipeR.
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    Awesome album!
  6. VT
    Aug 27, 2009
    9
    Quite unique and just great!
  7. Oct 17, 2010
    8
    I'm glad this was finally released. It's great music, and I love Danger Mouse producing it. His stuff is always good, and this is definitely one of the better albums this year. Many of the songs have found their way onto my playlists, and that won't change for awhile.
  8. Aug 30, 2010
    7
    Pretty solid indie album with guest appearances from Flaming Lips, Julian Casablancas, Iggy pop and others. Particularly like the "Everytime I'm With You" track, as well as "The Man Who Played God", featuring Suzanne Vega. Recommended!
  9. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    I could have potentially written about this album last yearâ
  10. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Dark Night of the Soul is a collection of great songs with an all star cast of collaborators but in the end the result is less than the sum of the parts. I say this as I was expecting a total beast of a record but instead just found a really good one. The who's who of indie is present on a record that mixes excellent songwriting with sharp production and is well worth getting hold of. WhatDark Night of the Soul is a collection of great songs with an all star cast of collaborators but in the end the result is less than the sum of the parts. I say this as I was expecting a total beast of a record but instead just found a really good one. The who's who of indie is present on a record that mixes excellent songwriting with sharp production and is well worth getting hold of. What goes against the record slightly is the number of different collaborations. This tends to take away for the continuity of the album. For example we get a trio of rock numbers in Little Girl, Angel's Harp and Pain in the middle of an otherwise very laid back and chilled out record. These songs kind of come out of nowhere and disappear again. I will say that I did come to the record expecting a little bit more but the record is nothing if not interesting and I'd recommend it to anyone into either Dangermouse or Sparklehorse. Expand
  11. Dec 7, 2011
    9
    WOW WOW WOW WOW very awesome songs, nice work Danger Mouse and friends
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. For the most part, it sounds like the most joyous exploration of death and madness since, perhaps, "They're Coming To Take Me Away Ha-Haaa!"
  2. It's the airtight beats of Danger Mouse and the surreal songwriting of Linkous that make this a fascinating set.
  3. It's a complex, winding late-night soundtrack that doesn't move too fast, but never stops to question the judgement of its own unique outsider logic.