Darkel

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 1 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JD
    Oct 4, 2006
    3
    The first track "Be My Friend" is fantastic. If the album kept this sort of sound and quality for the other 9 tracks, we'd have a winner here. Unfortunately, the other 9 tracks are aimless boring meandering bland exercises of empty-headed wankery. Also of note, only the first track consists of any decent synthwork, the rest of the album is mostly piano and guitar. This is just a The first track "Be My Friend" is fantastic. If the album kept this sort of sound and quality for the other 9 tracks, we'd have a winner here. Unfortunately, the other 9 tracks are aimless boring meandering bland exercises of empty-headed wankery. Also of note, only the first track consists of any decent synthwork, the rest of the album is mostly piano and guitar. This is just a boring ego-trip, don't waste your money. Darkel is absolutely NOT Air quality material. Is Godin the real Air? Expand
  2. baronbaron
    Sep 21, 2006
    10
    This album is so much fun! Super gay, but lots of fun.
  3. Dan
    Sep 21, 2006
    8
    Maybe I'm just a total "Air"head, but Darkel makes me happy. It is at the very least a nice hold-over until another Air album, but I think it holds up on it's own.
  4. AlexA
    Nov 12, 2006
    6
    For Air fans only.
  5. mikes.
    Sep 21, 2006
    7
    Darkel is a pleasant surprise, and i'd say its on par with other Air albums. I'd disagree with most of the reviews thus far on this site. Album is lush, dreamy pop music; and is t more focused than the last 2 Air albums. It's not as ambitious, but in a good way. Darkel seems like a comfortable fit for the this air member's solo debut and is refreshing, fun, and gentle Darkel is a pleasant surprise, and i'd say its on par with other Air albums. I'd disagree with most of the reviews thus far on this site. Album is lush, dreamy pop music; and is t more focused than the last 2 Air albums. It's not as ambitious, but in a good way. Darkel seems like a comfortable fit for the this air member's solo debut and is refreshing, fun, and gentle at the same time. Expand
  6. LeoF
    Sep 30, 2006
    4
    I'm giving it 4 only for the production (which is good). He's trying too hard to be a pop star and there's nothing wrong in that. The problem is that the whole album sounds faceless and tepid and the songs are terrible.
  7. BrianF
    Nov 2, 2006
    8
    This is the poppy sound I wish Air had! I hope this influences the next Air album. It reminds me of John Lennon and George Harrison and the lyrics are kind of dreamy and psychedelic and mellow. I love that. I think it's highly original. Ace!!
  8. patip
    Dec 14, 2006
    9
    i know that not everybody liked it. but when you are a strong fan of Air, you can notice that this album is what it would be a step forward in Air's sound, if they published a new work. please, hear it with more attention. it sounds strange, maybe kitsch, but not exactly repeating Air. really! ... uh, Sorry.. i love this album ;0). pati from Mexico City
  9. PatricioE
    Dec 27, 2006
    9
    I think its a great work, if u are a big fan of air, you can notice the influence he has on air´s music, the complete album is very relaxing, perfect for a rainy afternoon!! greetings from monterrey, mexico.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Shot through with attention to detail and the lush production typical of Dunkel’s main concern, Darkel might have its moments of archness but it knows how to shake it’s booty, too.
  2. Without his band's usual deep-pile arrangements, these twinkling melodies and synth-prog twiddles sound rather insubstantial.
  3. Sometimes moody, sometimes optimistic, this doesn’t feel sure of what it wants to be and instead feels a little like an Air outtakes album.