David Archuleta

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2008
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 307 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 307

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MollyK.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David's first CD delivers a lovely blend of top 40 pop along with more intimate and sometimes quirky ballads. The singing is flawless and expressive. Surprisingly, the most moving and memorable pieces--those that best represent Archuleta the artist--are the bonus tracks available only from ITunes, along with one delightful R & B number on the Walmart Delux CD. These are also songs David's first CD delivers a lovely blend of top 40 pop along with more intimate and sometimes quirky ballads. The singing is flawless and expressive. Surprisingly, the most moving and memorable pieces--those that best represent Archuleta the artist--are the bonus tracks available only from ITunes, along with one delightful R & B number on the Walmart Delux CD. These are also songs that Archuleta either wrote himself or co-authored, namely, "Falling" (the most evocative song of the bunch and one penned entirely by Archuleta), "Somebody Out There" (touchingly intimate with a wonderfully simple yet jaunty guitar intro), "Works for Me," and the vocally soaring "A Little Too Not Over You" (with the most clever lyrics of all and fun metric play between duple and triple time). "A Little Too Not Over You" is one of the 12 standard tracks available on all versions of the album. Jive set out to display David's vocal versatility, and they succeeded ten fold. And to think the entire 17+ tracks were composed and recorded in only a few months (on days off during the American Idol tour and slightly after) leaves me breathless and amazed. David Archuleta the album is not only fun and catchy, the stuff of top-of-the pops, but in its best moments, extremely touching. Regardless of how critics and pseudo-critics love to pan anything American Idol, one cannot deny that this is a well-crafted and beautifully delivered first CD. Buy it! Expand
  2. ReginaR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This CD by David Archuleta is beautiful and smooth music that will amaze and enlighten listeners. It's a great pop album that includes some R&B and Soul sounds also. You should check it out!
  3. ArleneJ.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta's album rocks! I love the variety of different styles of music, and his voice is one of the best I've EVER heard!
  4. AnneW.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Very good music and vocals from a 17 year old. Also the lyrics are well composed! Love each song Love "Works for me" the best
  5. MaryO.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Fantastic! Especially love the bonus track "Falling," written by David at age 14. Can't wait to see what this immensely gifted young singer does next.
  6. SharleeD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I LOVE this entire album. I actually like the bonus tracks (available on iTunes) the best. What an amazing singer!
  7. AldyC.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Great pop album and really great vocals! Love all the songs including the bonus tracks!
  8. NancyR.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    This is the best album I have owned in 45 years. I love every track and can't get enough of it. Awesome debut album with a great variety.
  9. RebeccaB.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    David Archuleta at his finest. His musicality shines though each and every song. Listen and feel the raw emotion he is able to bring with each note. You will be drawn in to the songs.
  10. BiancaN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    9
    A super debut by a charming young vocalist, this album contains mostly poppy songs with great hooks. However if you look deeper you find that the 17-year-old artist has begun to co-write his own material. Plus the lyrics are very thoughtful and the styles are diverse. A very listenable album!
  11. TarynP.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    I love this CD, including all the bonus tracks. Of course Crush is great, but I'm also really enjoying Your Eyes Don't Lie and To Be With You a lot. The songs all get stuck in my head and I find myself humming them without realizing it.
  12. ClaraS.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    ABSOLUTELY AMAZING, best album I've ever owned! BEST voice I heard in a long time WOW
  13. PhilipD.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    Great debut for an amazing young man!
  14. DoreenN.
    Nov 19, 2008
    10
    He is an amazingly talented singer and to think he's only 17! The CD is awesome and he only had 6 months to work on it while performing on the AI tour. I'm a fan of David's for life.
  15. LiseM
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    A beautiful voice from a beautiful (inside & out) and enormously talented person.
  16. KIMK
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    Love David's new CD! Such great fresh new music to listen to that is not all covered by that tecno processing stuff! The new cool!
  17. brendab
    Nov 25, 2008
    10
    I love this album. david Archuleta has an amazing voice that is perfect and flawless. Looking forward to many more albums.
  18. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Amazing Debut from David. I hope his next album "The Other Side Of Down" will showcase more of David himself. He'll be able to create music more to his liking/style. His first album was time constrained along with too much pop suited for the younger audience. I hope everyone gives his next album a listen.
  19. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    For a debut album, this is charming. First comes a heavenly, silky, tenor that we only hear such beauty from once probably every decade. The songs are sweet, and are filled with powerful, strong, and catchy choruses.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. So, it delivers exactly what Archuleta promised on the show: something sweet and safe, utterly old-fashioned and forgettable.
  2. A silky tenor with a natural melancholy that makes him a heartbreaker by default. His charming debut exploits that very quality with some strokes of pop genius.
  3. Happily, in a genre where the urge is to err on the side of overwrought, someone smart decided to stick with tasteful, understated production. Archuleta's delivery is likewise low-key and attractive, if predictably generic.