Day After Tomorrow

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SaskiaC.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Day After Tomorrow is going to go straight to No. 1 - good on ya Joan - Love you Saskia Melbourne Victoria Australia
  2. JimC.
    Oct 5, 2008
    2
    Badly produced and amateurish recording especially the first three cuts where the out of tune guitar overwhelms her voice. Low production values spoil some interesting songs. One hopes her current tour does not feature too many efforts like this.
  3. GeorgeM.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    A lovely mellow sound throughout this Cd with Joan Baez's gorgeous vocals and exquisite instrumentalisation from the ensemble of musicians - brilliant!
  4. PattM.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Having discovered Joan Baez when I was 19 years old ( I am 60 now), her music , personna,ethical beliefs...have brought me thru many a dark night. She has been like a companion on a murky road. This latest album is magnificent...the choices of songwriters...her voice..I must admit i love when she brings it down a couple of octaves. I'm so pleased to see her finally reaping the Having discovered Joan Baez when I was 19 years old ( I am 60 now), her music , personna,ethical beliefs...have brought me thru many a dark night. She has been like a companion on a murky road. This latest album is magnificent...the choices of songwriters...her voice..I must admit i love when she brings it down a couple of octaves. I'm so pleased to see her finally reaping the rewards that 50 years of struggle can bring. God bless you Joan!!!!!! Expand
  5. GregoryS.
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Deeply inspiring, strong and moving songs delivered simply from her heart to the listeners heart.... a very moving litany of stories.
  6. DickC.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    Joan's soprano is gone, but her witty style and warm embrace of this acoustic material bookend a career begun in 1959, which launched the folk music revolution. She is the Goddess of folk , and Steve Earle's production reveals the adoration of an acolyte to the matriarch of a genre. Best in years.
  7. GalenB
    Aug 1, 2009
    0
    Nothing could be sadder than this attempt at capitalizing on the "kiss goodbye" she got at the Grammys. What the "devotees" have posted here about "aging voice" is literally out of tune backing or vocals or both. Only burned out stoners could find this collection of "whine" artistic. She has a following as large as Kabuki theater in the USA and for good reason. She was vinegar when she Nothing could be sadder than this attempt at capitalizing on the "kiss goodbye" she got at the Grammys. What the "devotees" have posted here about "aging voice" is literally out of tune backing or vocals or both. Only burned out stoners could find this collection of "whine" artistic. She has a following as large as Kabuki theater in the USA and for good reason. She was vinegar when she was younger, and now shows us even vinegar can go bad. She kicked her 60s gravestone over with this pitiful attempt. And I am being kind. Expand
  8. Trina
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    Haunting and awe-inspiring, as only Ms. Baez can deliver time and again!
  9. LizT.
    Sep 10, 2008
    9
    A deep and deeply spiritual album, with the title track a brilliant song, all the more powerful for being so understated. It is 'God on our side' for the new millennium. The one mistake is 'Rose of Sharon, which isn't right for her voice now - it exposes the flaws caused by aging that are otherwise skilfully sidestepped. Still and all, Baez' voice retains its A deep and deeply spiritual album, with the title track a brilliant song, all the more powerful for being so understated. It is 'God on our side' for the new millennium. The one mistake is 'Rose of Sharon, which isn't right for her voice now - it exposes the flaws caused by aging that are otherwise skilfully sidestepped. Still and all, Baez' voice retains its power to move and she remains a compelling performer. Expand
  10. AlC.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    Joan has always been a superb interpreter of other artist's material. This album is no exception. Although her voice has aged a bit, she continues to use it as an instrument of beauty and conviction. Great CD.
  11. JeffreyM.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    Joan at her mellow mature best, an incrediby cohesive set, and arranged in a poignant journey, true to her beginnings and her present. Wonderful simple production, just spontaneous enough, rich and powerful, SO joan.
  12. CeliaT.
    Sep 9, 2008
    10
    Bought the CD on its first day of sale in the UK - brilliant!
  13. CarolM.
    Sep 19, 2008
    10
    As Joan ages, so does her wisdom as does her devotion solidify. This is a beautiful album, filled with images and themes that has long been the foundation of her life, vaues and ideals. Excellent job, Joan, once again, you have been a beacon,a guiding light in the storm and fog.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. At 67, Baez betrays some vocal aging, but she uses it wisely to impart extra feeling into what is often a downbeat collection of quality songs, and Earle has succeeded in his attempt not to reinvent her, but to re-create her sound and message in contemporary terms.
  2. Grasslands, wind in your hair, long, dusty roads travelled - it's all evoked in Joan's fine 24th studio album, and her voice, high and flowing, low and gravelly, flows timelessly through it like a mountain stream.
  3. It's a fruitful partnership: Earle's hard-won earthiness acts as a counterweight to Baez's ethereal tendencies, and Day After Tomorrow leans toward tough-minded material with blues and Appalachian overtones.