De-Loused In The Comatorium

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 326 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 326

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Their Debut album is someting that only comes around once and a good long while! The blend of Latino/jazz riffs on top of what can only be described as poetic harmony on the drums, is something not heard very often in the realm of prog rock! These sounds are aided by the high pitched vocals of Cedric, that help tell the story of a friend who wakes up from acoma only to find his dream worldTheir Debut album is someting that only comes around once and a good long while! The blend of Latino/jazz riffs on top of what can only be described as poetic harmony on the drums, is something not heard very often in the realm of prog rock! These sounds are aided by the high pitched vocals of Cedric, that help tell the story of a friend who wakes up from acoma only to find his dream world stripped away and a sobering reality he had left behind, staring him right in the face! Very powerful, and a first listen, if you havent heard any other of the Mars Volta albums! Expand
  2. JasonP
    Jul 3, 2003
    5
    Interesting but miss the energy from the former ATDI. I agree with Pitchfork "it's not fun"....at all!
  3. gavin
    Jul 6, 2003
    5
    Useless, meaningless metaphors. Whiningly high vocal range. Unimpressive guitar work. Obnoxious, untrained drums. Electronics and effects add nothing. Hard to believe it took 5+ people to put together something so unwothy of my $10.
  4. JimR
    Feb 26, 2005
    0
    sucksass
  5. BobB
    Mar 4, 2005
    0
    The music on this CD is on par with the sound of gerbils getting slaughtered in a blender.
  6. patmcg
    Nov 3, 2005
    1
    i give 1 coz im nice but come on the guitarist is rubbish dunno wat u newbs listen to in a song but they all shit newbs!
  7. ChrisB
    Jun 15, 2005
    1
    Wow, simply awful-sounding with no sense of melody or message. Listening to the lyrics are akin to a drunk's babble after a long night of tequilla, cheap wine, and E&B brandy. If you like prog, stick to Rush.
  8. umpeik
    Aug 13, 2005
    2
    gets crappier with each listen.
  9. BigPaulP
    Apr 22, 2007
    5
    That one is just OK for me. It just can't be compared with At The Drive-In for me.
  10. Dec 1, 2011
    0
    It makes me laugh and cry and the same time! It runs DEEP. And leaves plenty of room 4 imagination. Poetic, explosive masterpiece. Its been my favorie album and an album is my favorite art form. Explores the psyche of a human psycho based on a true story. Perfectly produced in a haunted house and u can feel that energy in it. It gets better every time, i actually thought it was averageIt makes me laugh and cry and the same time! It runs DEEP. And leaves plenty of room 4 imagination. Poetic, explosive masterpiece. Its been my favorie album and an album is my favorite art form. Explores the psyche of a human psycho based on a true story. Perfectly produced in a haunted house and u can feel that energy in it. It gets better every time, i actually thought it was average until like after 5 times cause its very deep musicality and lyrically. Although lyrics seem nonsense they r combined and made up. Each song is a different story under 1 concept. And even gutair and other intruments tell part of the story. ITs not perfect and that makes it better cause its imperfect purposely. A tranformation of an band at their peak. Vocals r frantic and hi yet emoitional. Guitar runs on many levels dissonant, spacy, and fierce. Bass and drums r best in da biznas. Flea and theodore kik a@@ Owens and ward fill in the space great. Specail appearance by frustrate wat else could u want. Rick Rubin? My Fav so far Expand
  11. StevenH
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    Amazing album. 2002 we had little to no good music released but 2003 is already shaping up well with albums like this and Radiohead's 'Hail to the Thief'
  12. JcChavez
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    This is a bad album....every song is moving and you can just listen to the whole album....this has to be one of my favorite albums in my collection and i have a pretty big one!!!!
  13. TroyL
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    This album has revitalized my interest in Prog Rock and Art rock. This is a greatly put together album and i look forward to Frances the Mute on March 1st 2005
  14. Aidank
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    Simply a masterpiece, a brilliant jounrney
  15. JuliusW
    Sep 5, 2005
    9
    Not perfect, but very close. The only rock band I like. Bravo!
  16. PatM.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    It's the best album of all time. Seriously, it's up there with Led Zeppelin IV and OK Computer. From start (incredible, tension building intro) to finish (pulse pounding 8 minutes of ambient, yet intense musical perfection wrapped up with an invigorating outro) this album will keep you on the edge of your seat, with your mouth wrapped tightely around the end of a joint. Omar It's the best album of all time. Seriously, it's up there with Led Zeppelin IV and OK Computer. From start (incredible, tension building intro) to finish (pulse pounding 8 minutes of ambient, yet intense musical perfection wrapped up with an invigorating outro) this album will keep you on the edge of your seat, with your mouth wrapped tightely around the end of a joint. Omar Rodriguez-Lopez takes the talent of Jimmy Paige, and injects it with originality unlike anything you have ever heard, while fellow frontman and lead singer, Omar Bilxer-Zavala, vocalizes pain, anguish, and uncertainty in a way that will send chills up your spine for the duration of the album. Songs on the album such as "Roulette Dares", "Cicatriz ESP", "Televators", and "Take the Veil Cerpin Taxt" remind you why music was made. At The Drive-In breaking up is one of the best things that has ever happened to music in my opinion. I beg of you: BUY THIS CD. Expand
  17. EdwardP
    Oct 15, 2003
    6
    It's not exactly my cup of tea but it's music that makes you think ... and that can only be a good thing. However, at times it is a bit over-indulgent and would have benefited from a tighter focus.
  18. RussellJ.
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    Absolutely the most pleasing, awe inspiring, fantastic album to ever be. I strongly recommend anyone who owns the album to see The Mars Volta play live.
  19. MattS
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    The CD takes you to a whole new world. Feverish and psychadelic, the songs rip at your mind in a frenzy of intense drum and bass rythme while the guitar breaks the barrier of reality for you. Guest musicians include John Frusciante (Guitar for Cicatriz) and Flea (Bass on all tracks), both from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Lyrically, this album is brilliant, and I could not ask for more.
  20. lynchhim
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    Forget every other band in the world. The Mars Volta create music that will make you realise just how shallow, meaningless and bereft of talent the music industry has been over the last few years. This album will make your ears bleed, your heart race and your brain explode. You need this album in your life. Do not waste your money buying anything else.
  21. seang
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    unbelievable, this album will take your breath away.
  22. branden
    Jul 20, 2003
    9
    a big step up from ATDI. great vocals and outstanding rhythm.
  23. ChrisH
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    Wow, just wow
  24. ChinoM
    Jul 7, 2003
    10
    They must be Irush because my penis is Dublin
  25. MikkoV
    Jul 9, 2003
    9
    spectacular album!!! What is best at it.. they have created their own music&style.. and once it got you there is no going back!!! i love this music...!! but is there an album you can give full 10.. maybe not? your own album?hmm
  26. MarkO
    Aug 26, 2003
    10
    Best Cd of the year 2003
  27. stevec
    Dec 8, 2004
    9
    awesome and enjoyable, there is something missing though (paul, jim and tony) it will never sound complete to me, but this is the closest it can get, cedric is god of emo
  28. wackyman
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    this is a remarkable album, I think it will inspire a lot of bands to take new directions in music. their musical vision/abilities are astounding. Listening to the album it feels like you are listening to a mix of several albums different in style but flowing together to create an atmosphere that is really intense.
  29. justins
    Sep 9, 2004
    10
    it doesnt get much better than this!
  30. Anonymous
    May 11, 2005
    9
    Three words: Mind-blowing and bewildering.
  31. WagnerT
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    I am loving this CD. So excellent and sexy. It makes me want to smoke the happy. You know. Peace outside!
  32. BSmith
    Jun 1, 2006
    10
    It's amazing how wrong critics can be about an album at it's time of release. Everyone is SO quick to praise Zoso or Moving Pictures, but I really wonder what people these days would think about them. De-Loused is what happens when you fuse elite musicians at EVERY instrument (vocals included) and make an unbelievable conception a reality. I can honestly say that this is It's amazing how wrong critics can be about an album at it's time of release. Everyone is SO quick to praise Zoso or Moving Pictures, but I really wonder what people these days would think about them. De-Loused is what happens when you fuse elite musicians at EVERY instrument (vocals included) and make an unbelievable conception a reality. I can honestly say that this is probably the best album I will ever listen to, and that I am still not tired of it, even after having purchased it two and a half years ago. Yes, it takes a while to get used to. Yes, the songs are long. GET OVER IT! This will change your idea of how much music can really impact you. Expand
  33. Matt?A
    Jun 10, 2007
    9
    This album is pure tastiness. Me only gripe with it is the "nothing" sections, where all u can hear is the epic sounds of nothingness, u kno? I must say that Televators IS agony, in the most beautiful and amazing way possible. Albeit, Frances the Mute is a bit more of my style...this album is gangsta, tho! Like a 9.3/10, I'd say.
  34. wannabebixler
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    speechless
  35. SableG
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    best album ever. enough said.
  36. JoseS
    Oct 3, 2003
    10
    The album is great becaus it's a fusion of great instrumentals, calm ,and loud vocals that sound great. The songs are constantly up beat, with the exception of number 9 because it's more melancholic song, but I like it. I can tell that theses guys, worked hard on every song inorder to produce album has a unique balance of great lyrics and music. The album is excellent and motivating.
  37. JaberJ
    Jun 22, 2003
    10
    Simply blow your body and your mind...
  38. S
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    mars volta has proven that downloading is not killing music, crap music was killing music. This CD proves that music as an art form is alive and well.
  39. seana
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    I have not heard anything this mindblowing ever in my life. Simply amazing. One of the best albums in modern rock history.
  40. FoxizofBurnice
    Jun 26, 2003
    9
    It's a comatic structure, it's for everybody who wants sleeping, being arise, it's about all the true story of a the clone of you when you take any products in your head...
  41. KyleA
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Though it may just be the initial shock, De-Loused in the Comatorium is quite possibly the greatest album I've ever heard, and if I ever go back on that statement, it is still the best debut album ever released, and ranks in the top five of all time, at least. The entire album is worth babbling on about for hours, but in this short area I have, I will say that "Cicatriz ESP" is the Though it may just be the initial shock, De-Loused in the Comatorium is quite possibly the greatest album I've ever heard, and if I ever go back on that statement, it is still the best debut album ever released, and ranks in the top five of all time, at least. The entire album is worth babbling on about for hours, but in this short area I have, I will say that "Cicatriz ESP" is the most powerful single track of music I have experienced in my lifetime. Expand
  42. RyanV
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    truly amazing. Now i know what it feels like to be in the presence of greatness. completely enthralling.
  43. TonyF
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    The Mars Volta man the ship to take the music lovers out of the corporate asses.
  44. mattm
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    Finally an album I can listen to over and over without getting sick of the same candy coated "verse, chorus, verse" crap. Think of Pink Floyd but instead of just acid, toss is some meth and you have a good idea of what is going on here. Alot of through went into crafting each song. Great Album
  45. sabrinac
    Jun 30, 2003
    10
    all i can say is....ORGASMIC!
  46. MaxG
    Jul 1, 2003
    9
    a bit of pink floyd, some sounds and ambiance taken from ATDI (alright) spanish and latin influences. My only regret: where is "cut that city"!!!!
  47. JonH
    Jul 4, 2003
    10
    what the hell was that guy from pitchfork thinking? he needs to re-examen this album and realize its full potential. this is the best album i've purchased in years.
  48. Thomas
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    It was hard to believe that somebody that gets paid to review music and to have an extensive knowledge of music would have given this cd a rating of 49/100. It is suprising to see all of the allusions to other bands and their works and to fail to see the outstanding difference that this cd gives the listener from any album out right now. I strongly believe that anybody who looked down on It was hard to believe that somebody that gets paid to review music and to have an extensive knowledge of music would have given this cd a rating of 49/100. It is suprising to see all of the allusions to other bands and their works and to fail to see the outstanding difference that this cd gives the listener from any album out right now. I strongly believe that anybody who looked down on the cd, the band, or the artist would have a complete change of perspective if they ever saw Mars Volta live. I love this album. Expand
  49. CourtneyS
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    Best album I've ever heard!
  50. TobyS
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    One of the most beutiful things I have ever heard.
  51. zzasakr
    Jul 9, 2003
    10
    100/100 points. each time i listen to it, it is surprising me again
  52. sparticus
    Sep 21, 2003
    10
    Jake, you dont know sh*t about music. Theres no way you can talk so much gripe about TMV, and say you are a fan of At the Drive In.
  53. andrewg
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    Even after repeated listens, I still can't fully comprehend what it all means. All I know is that it's completely different than anything I've ever heard. A complete work of art.
  54. BrianF
    Feb 18, 2004
    10
    fucking incrediable. how could any of those fucking "stylus magazine", "pitch fork" and "Neumu.net" call it a mess?? boy they know thier music huh?
  55. AngelA
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    Best CD ever. This record oozes salsa (I should since I live in Puerto Rico and I know the members of The Fania All-Stars personally) I mean it makes you want to get up and dance just like Omar does (it's called salsa dancing btw) at the shows. Best meltdown of salsa and everything genre of music in the world I've heard (Punk, Psychedelia, Rock, Jazz, Etc...) Don't you agree?
  56. JamesJ
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    Timeless, epic, demands your attention, even on the 50th listen. Been waiting for our generation to reach a musical crescendo for a long time? i think this is it -=theMarsVolta=-
  57. g_/\/\_b
    Apr 12, 2004
    9
    Quite the listening experience. The only problems I found with it were the periods where, four minutes into a song, it would get dead silent and revel in nothingness. Just experimental sounds here and there, echoes, etc. but..it dragged on too long. Then, two minutes later, the song picks up where it left off (still rocking your f*ucking socks off). But, those minutes of scrathes and Quite the listening experience. The only problems I found with it were the periods where, four minutes into a song, it would get dead silent and revel in nothingness. Just experimental sounds here and there, echoes, etc. but..it dragged on too long. Then, two minutes later, the song picks up where it left off (still rocking your f*ucking socks off). But, those minutes of scrathes and samples, which could have been cool were they cut to the bare minimum, became overused and trifled the, otherwise, flawlessness of this great album. That's my only gripe. And I also enjoy the lyrics because they're up for interpretation, pulling you in that much more. If you can't do that..then you're just lacking imagination. Go watch xXx and listen to Slipknot to satisfy your delusions of fine tastes. As for myself, I'll be listening to De-Loused in the Comatorium. Collapse
  58. Christian
    Jul 1, 2004
    10
    Takes you on a musical journey and a rollercoaster of emotions, lopez and bixler never been better, Prog rock given a complete make over
  59. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    another bixler masterpiece
  60. Cyberxero
    Sep 21, 2004
    10
    Hi every one.This band is one of the best bands out there.Its fresh,new,unique and everything about it is awesome.Get all the albums and I hear a new one is coming out soon so get that one to lol.Anyway for further awesome music,check out At the drive-in and Sparta.I am sure anyone will like At the drive-in and Sparta if they like Mars Volta because all the band members in At the drive-in Hi every one.This band is one of the best bands out there.Its fresh,new,unique and everything about it is awesome.Get all the albums and I hear a new one is coming out soon so get that one to lol.Anyway for further awesome music,check out At the drive-in and Sparta.I am sure anyone will like At the drive-in and Sparta if they like Mars Volta because all the band members in At the drive-in split up,two of the members formed Mars Volta and the others formed Sparta so I am sure you will enjoy both bands.Anyway buy this cd and the others and buy all of Sparta's and At the drive-in's albums aswell :p Expand
  61. NeilC
    Jan 9, 2005
    10
    This album presents hope for the future of music. In an industry dominated by dance music disguised as rock, MV have managed to bring back the creativity and intesity birthed by the likes of Pink Floyd and the Beatles. This album, like PF's The Wall, goes beyond simply music; it is truly a work of art.
  62. VitoL
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    the most underated band out there
  63. RobertG
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    I believe that De-Loused in the Comatorium will prove it side to be the "Dark Side of the Moon" of our generation
  64. miker
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    this album is trippy and when summer comes ill definetly smoke a bowl and listen to this one.
  65. stevenB
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    satisfaction guaranteed
  66. harryk
    Aug 19, 2005
    9
    fucking good
  67. Yoel
    Apr 19, 2006
    10
    It's like a story. There's a temptation, then a problem, then a hero. cool
  68. KyleS
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    Amazing. I have had this album playing in my car for weeks on end. I simply cannot get enough of it. A+
  69. BrianK
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    One of the very best CDs in a long time. Just a great, great example of progressive, experimental rock. I love this album, and can't stop listening to it. Thanks to this CD I bought the other 2 TMV album in a span of a week! Pitchfork sucks, who ppays them to write bad reviews about the best bands out there!! Deloused is amazing!
  70. DevinJ
    May 23, 2007
    9
    i am a big fan of at the drive-in aswell and i think that the mars volta is amazing, idk why everyone says that atdi is better by far, i think that the talent that is in this band is amazing. Cedric and omar are still crazy at what they do and can seirouslly change the future in the prog. rock world
  71. MichaelW.
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Can't be compared to At the Drive-In for me either. This is light years ahead.
  72. DanielB
    Feb 6, 2008
    10
    Fantastic; simply fantastic.
  73. Dave
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  74. GregC
    Jun 16, 2003
    10
    One of the most innovative and exhilarating albums to come out this year... pure genius!
  75. PhilG
    Jun 23, 2003
    10
    De-Loused in the Comatorium is fantastic in many ways. Not in many many years has an album been so musicly groundbreaking. If TMV doesn't gain acclaim and success off this album, the music industry is worse off than I thought.
  76. Mike
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    Amazing album, so much intensity and beautiful music to listen to.
  77. ShaneD
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    Holy holy holy crap; Tremulant set my expectations high, but this CD just shattered them completely. I'd be more than willing to predict right now that this will end up being the CD of the year for me. Incredible songwriting, punchy production (I'm typically not a fan of Rick Rubin's work, but here, the production absolutely shines, especially the guitarwork. Omar's Holy holy holy crap; Tremulant set my expectations high, but this CD just shattered them completely. I'd be more than willing to predict right now that this will end up being the CD of the year for me. Incredible songwriting, punchy production (I'm typically not a fan of Rick Rubin's work, but here, the production absolutely shines, especially the guitarwork. Omar's creativity on the instrument has never shone through better.) It's about time something like this was released again on a major label. Buy buy buy buy buy. Expand
  78. ChrisM
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    Great Original Music. An epic album that tells the story it was meant to portray. Can't wait to see them live.
  79. PedroF
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    At last real music what I been waiting for. I am a big fan I have seen them live. Best live band ever. By the way ATDI still kick ass and so does Flea!
  80. MotorCityRollie
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    Carlos Castaneda on a steady diet of Fugazi... me likes'
  81. mike
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    i could listen to this album 50 times in a row and still stand in amazement and its perfection.
  82. joeys
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    amazing.
  83. steve
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    absolute insanity.
  84. terryb
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    Tremulant was amazing. Deloused is phenominal. Omar is a god
  85. ElliotJ
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    This album sounds like nothing I have every heard. Blending aspects of punk, rock, and latin flavor into a flawless masterpiece. It was well worth the wait. If you don't buy this cd your not a music fan.
  86. AENIMASOUNDZ
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    Awesome!!! This is the most intense record I've heard in years... Can't wait to get the lyric-booklet
  87. ernie
    Jun 27, 2003
    10
    this album shows how much the mars volta rocks from the crazy! sounds of omars guitar to the voice effects of cedric bixler this album tells a story of a fallen hero that try's to commit suicide and your narrator is cedric bixler this album is really well put together and shows that the mars volta is one of the most unique bands out there i suggest you go out and buy the album!
  88. JonS
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    The hype was worth it, so was the wait, after a couple listenings you'll definitely make this one of your favorites
  89. EmmanuelG
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    Cedric and Omar are musical geniuses!! Though at the drive-in is still one of my favorite bands of all time, The Mars Volta has seemingly broken themselves away from the limitations of musical genres. They have changed the defenition of music!
  90. TomB.
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    You're goddamn crazy if you don't agree with this rating.
  91. Fug
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    The most origional album iv heard in a very long time, it should be ranked up among the greatest ever. For those who have not had the chance yet, their live show is just as spectacular and should not be missed.
  92. JasonS
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    This CD is what music is all about. It has the ability to make nothing else in the world seem to exist. I am a fan of all kinds of music especially classic rock and this is the best album I have ever heard. Thank you the Mars Volta.
  93. GabrielE
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    This album will change music as we know it, it will hopefully take over all the KoRn-rip-off bands that are out today(Disturbed, Staind, Godsmack), and hopefully Fred Durst listens to it and quits the bussiness. Best album for decades to come Mars Volta=pink floyd-santana-Led Zepellin.
  94. jonathana
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    The best album I have ever heard. The Mars Volta warps you to a world of dreams and won't stop fucking with your head.
  95. nooneknows
    Jun 29, 2003
    10
    forgett At The Drive-In....this Cd kicks Ass
  96. jethro
    Jul 14, 2003
    9
    great album.... starts out smoking than tapers off towards the end. the drumming is solid throughout the entire album. requires a couple of listens to sink in. highly recommend
  97. BrianM
    Jul 15, 2003
    7
    Not as good as one would have thought it would have been. But still an interesting debut.
  98. jillianv
    Jul 3, 2003
    10
    exactly what this world needs.
  99. DanS
    Jul 4, 2003
    10
    This album is a trip, it's the best way to describe it. The raw emotion of the entire album takes you to strange new musical places. It's a really nice blend of countless musical influences and styles. I bought the album without ever hearing anything by TMV beforehand, and I couldn't be any more satisfied.
  100. Scott
    Jul 4, 2003
    10
    Awesome CD. Great prog-metal. Buy this one
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. A disjointed mess- brilliant songs gone so awry that I find myself no longer excited by the prospect of listening to the album through, but disappointed.
  2. Recall[s] both Fugazi's punk slam and early Santana's psychedelic sheen.
  3. Contrary to nearly every other band in music today, the Mars Volta suffer from an abundance of ideas and concepts, not a lack thereof.