Death Magnetic

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 667 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 667

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarcF.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Now they finally are using more Dynamics, Key/Time Changes, different Rythms, tempos, and style that balances of what Music real is at a professional Level 6. Don't get me wrong I love their old Music, but the today is more complete. This is a Masterpiece Album!! The CD should have a Label: WARNING: Songs are highly addicting, please listen at your own risk!!
  2. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2008
    8
    Lots of so called "Old School" Metallica fans have been slamming the guys from the bay area for some time. I grew up on these guys from Kill'em All to what I felt was their weakest album...St. Anger. Not to say it wasn't heavy...just wasn't Metallica to me. This is the closest they have been to the Glory Days of Puppets. I like Rick Rubin and his approach he took with the Lots of so called "Old School" Metallica fans have been slamming the guys from the bay area for some time. I grew up on these guys from Kill'em All to what I felt was their weakest album...St. Anger. Not to say it wasn't heavy...just wasn't Metallica to me. This is the closest they have been to the Glory Days of Puppets. I like Rick Rubin and his approach he took with the guys this time around. Everyone ages with time....and so do musicians...you have to take it for what its worth. They still kick some a$$ in my opinion and always will...their Metallica! Expand
  3. JasonB.
    Sep 11, 2008
    9
    Brilliant return to form.
  4. JohnN.
    Sep 11, 2008
    10
    Best Metallica Album in 20 years!
  5. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    Although not the best Metallica album it's at least better than everything else after the black album

    Think as if Master of Puppets and And Justice For All... had a baby, this is it.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    A vast improvement over the previous 15 years' work. Metallica are back to writing solid songs, and the decision to record at standard E-recording, thus stretching Hetfield's vocals, was the best decision they could have made.

    Metallica have reinvented themselves several times over the years, so you certainly can't expect this to sound like Kill 'Em All or Master of Puppets, but why
    A vast improvement over the previous 15 years' work. Metallica are back to writing solid songs, and the decision to record at standard E-recording, thus stretching Hetfield's vocals, was the best decision they could have made.

    Metallica have reinvented themselves several times over the years, so you certainly can't expect this to sound like Kill 'Em All or Master of Puppets, but why would you want it to? You have those albums, go listen to them. The band have bravely followed there own path. It doesn't always work out for the best (Lulu, I'm looking at you), but this album proves they are still able to write killer songs, and perform them with the passion they're known and loved for.
    Expand
  7. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    1981-2003. R.I.P Metallica....2008: Metallica has spoken and will live on!! Yes, Metallica fans, Metallica is back! Better than ever! Songs heavier than ever, and more meaning. Only problem is that their songs in this album were depressing. But besides the depressing lyrics, their music has came back!! METALLICA IS BACK!!
  8. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    2008 marks 25 years since Metallica's very first release, and they're still amazing. Also, this proves that DEATH MAGNETIC is not just a celebration of 25 years since KILL 'EM ALL--it's original, and every song is worth listening to--over and over and over.
  9. JasonM.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    Metallica is back in my life. Like scores of once rabid fans, I was VERY turned off by the whole Napster circus. This was followed by "St. Anger," which I continue to convince myself was recorded by a tribute band called "Shmetallica." Anyway, I've been waiting over ten years for this. Since "Re-Load," Metallica released a cover album, a live album, and an unspeakably awful album. Metallica is back in my life. Like scores of once rabid fans, I was VERY turned off by the whole Napster circus. This was followed by "St. Anger," which I continue to convince myself was recorded by a tribute band called "Shmetallica." Anyway, I've been waiting over ten years for this. Since "Re-Load," Metallica released a cover album, a live album, and an unspeakably awful album. Death Magnetic has brought me back to new, AWESOME Metallica music. The album honors their roots, draws upon their years of stardom, and yet still has a tinge of metal progression to it. Like "Back In Black," every single track of this quasi-masterpiece is infectious. A must for any Metallica fan, 18 to 45. Expand
  10. Fred
    Oct 2, 2008
    10
    There's just nothing to complain. Death Magnetic is a 100%-Metallica album, and everyone who gives it less than 10 points probably forgets that Metallica is Metallica oder just doesn't like the real, original Metallica sound.
  11. ChrisG
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    This is a return to glory for Metallica. If you don't like this album it is probably because you were a fan of the black album pop-metal era of Metallica. This album reminds me of Justice. The music is awesome, but the lyrics and subjects they now right about keep them from receiving a perfect score.
  12. JeffM.
    Oct 9, 2008
    9
    If this album had come out between Justice... and the Black Album, it would have been hailed as the natural progression, the forth 'conclusion' to the 'holy trinity', aka the 3 Ride/Master/Justice album series - but more accessible. The songs on this disk are catchy as hell, and addictive. If anything, critics unfairly down-rate this album, because it is not cool in If this album had come out between Justice... and the Black Album, it would have been hailed as the natural progression, the forth 'conclusion' to the 'holy trinity', aka the 3 Ride/Master/Justice album series - but more accessible. The songs on this disk are catchy as hell, and addictive. If anything, critics unfairly down-rate this album, because it is not cool in some of the the 'art' circles to give props to Metallica, and many people have still not forgiven them for the Load/St Anger era. Expand
  13. MikeG
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Metallica have reinvented the term metal with this stunning new album. After the very poor St Anger, metallica have reinstated themselves as the slaves to metal. Epics such as The Day That Never Comes and the latest in tune to the Unforgiven it's not hard to see why Metallica are the most successful band in Metal.
  14. NikhilM.
    Sep 12, 2008
    10
    Best Metallica album since Justice. Enough said. Haters of the album have no arguments, and just want to hate. This is too good to describe. The main draw back is the drums, but I still give it 10/19.
  15. UlrikG.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Simply the best album ever!
  16. JohnS.
    Sep 13, 2008
    10
    Great album, boys are back in town with thrash metal !
  17. MartinK.
    Sep 13, 2008
    9
    Not single bad or filler song here, just great all the way through. Two thumbs up for Metallica!!
  18. RishiG.
    Sep 14, 2008
    8
    It is Metallica tapping into their hey day for inspiration but it is very good and worth listening to.
  19. HamesJ.
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    Kirk, James and Lars were recently taken off life support and to everyone's surprise they regained consciousness, suffering only minor brain damage (debatable in Lars' case). They went into the studio and recorded a "Metallica" album! "Death Magnetic" deserves the stamp of the original Metallica band logo but I would argue that they should have named it "Awakenings" in reference Kirk, James and Lars were recently taken off life support and to everyone's surprise they regained consciousness, suffering only minor brain damage (debatable in Lars' case). They went into the studio and recorded a "Metallica" album! "Death Magnetic" deserves the stamp of the original Metallica band logo but I would argue that they should have named it "Awakenings" in reference to the DeNiro film because DAMN... where the hell have these guys been? I first heard Metallica around '84 or '85 when a friend popped "Ride the Lightning" into his cassette deck and let "Fight Fire with Fire" rip. Since that moment I was a fan and no amount of change in my musical tastes throughout middle and high school changed that until the black album was released. I threw in the proverbial towel and retired any Metallica T's in the closet and fed off the carcass of their 80's output, another one bites the dust. Now in my mid-thirties, I'm enjoying the popular resurgence of metal, bands like High on Fire and Mastodon (among many others) carry the torch of "real" metal to the masses and finally it seems an old friend wants to join the party. Welcome back, leave your Armani shopping bag outside and have a beer. Expand
  20. BhaskarR.
    Sep 17, 2008
    10
    Amazing album. Just what I expected out of Metallica. I actually didn't hate St Anger as much as most people do. They just went too far from their roots trying to be different and sounded very weird. I've got no complaints with this one. Double thumbs up and I hope they can dish out a couple more albums in the next few years.
  21. RodS.
    Sep 20, 2008
    10
    Eventhough critics are unfairly comparing it to their earlier works, Death Magnetic stands on its own as a great album... although the post Black albums were'nt up to expectations, you still have to give the band credit for trying to evolve musically (I'd like to think Death Magnetic is just the first of many albums showcasing that evolution)... Well done!
  22. JuuKaB
    Mar 26, 2009
    10
    Many may say that Metallica lost their touch throughout the last decade or so. In reality, Metallica has always had that fresh enticing feeling to their music that I personally love. Those who complain about the changes Metallica went through are ignorant. The alteration in their style was necessary to their progression as the dominant band in the heavy metal genre. Nobody wants to listen Many may say that Metallica lost their touch throughout the last decade or so. In reality, Metallica has always had that fresh enticing feeling to their music that I personally love. Those who complain about the changes Metallica went through are ignorant. The alteration in their style was necessary to their progression as the dominant band in the heavy metal genre. Nobody wants to listen to a band that always sounds the same! That, however, does not deduct from the fact that I am glad about Metallica's return to their original ear pounding sound. As previously stated, they always manage to seem unfermented. Metallica is usually far ahead of their time. In addition, I find it ridiculous when individuals bring Metallica's member's age onto the table. Musical expression has nothing to do with age. On the contrary, the soul gains experience and expressive ability with age. Expand
  23. JesseK
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    This is a fantastic rebirth of Metallica. St. Anger was nothing to be proud of, sure the album has its low spots, but so does any other album. Sure Metallica sold out with Bob Rock, following the huge sucess of the Black Album noone knew he was going to steer Metallica straight into the ground with the double shot of Load and on top that St. Anger. That pretty much explains why he was This is a fantastic rebirth of Metallica. St. Anger was nothing to be proud of, sure the album has its low spots, but so does any other album. Sure Metallica sold out with Bob Rock, following the huge sucess of the Black Album noone knew he was going to steer Metallica straight into the ground with the double shot of Load and on top that St. Anger. That pretty much explains why he was fired now doesn't it? This is the album that most fans will say "should have came after ..And Justice For All." Metallica has regained their unique sound that made them famous in the first place. This is a must own for any Metallica and metal music fan. I do believe James Hetfield says it best "what don't kill ya, make ya more strong" Cheers to the long anticipated album fans have been awaiting for the past 15 years. Expand
  24. AndreiC
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    It took them more than 10 years to become metallica again...better later than never.
  25. ScottJ
    Dec 10, 2008
    10
    Best album since ...And Justice For All! Faith has been restored - later Bob Rock; may you harm us no more!
  26. GiòF
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    10 tracks on this album each one is absolutely fantastic. Each song is arranged like ã classical composition. Comparable to ''...and justice for all'' in heaviness and song length. This one is an instant classic.
  27. Ret
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    Finally, a proper metal album.
  28. NileshP.
    Oct 24, 2008
    10
    Metallica Rules... !!!
  29. MusicMaven
    Oct 7, 2008
    7
    It's a return to their hardcore, thrash-metal style, but without the superior songwriting of their 1980s albums. Several songs come close to matching those high standards, but the overly long album is burdened by too many rehashed riffs that they did better back in the day. The over-compressed mix doesn't help either. While it is their best since 1991, it is nowhere near their It's a return to their hardcore, thrash-metal style, but without the superior songwriting of their 1980s albums. Several songs come close to matching those high standards, but the overly long album is burdened by too many rehashed riffs that they did better back in the day. The over-compressed mix doesn't help either. While it is their best since 1991, it is nowhere near their best work overall. Expand
  30. GwynneH
    Oct 8, 2008
    9
    no matter what the negative critics say - this album kicks. if it were relabelled with another 'age suitable' band they would certainly approve. remove the 'idea' of what metallica are supposed to be and you have one kick ass album. At its core is killer riffs, great breakdowns and some of the best head busting double bass metal flows that you have ever heard - check no matter what the negative critics say - this album kicks. if it were relabelled with another 'age suitable' band they would certainly approve. remove the 'idea' of what metallica are supposed to be and you have one kick ass album. At its core is killer riffs, great breakdowns and some of the best head busting double bass metal flows that you have ever heard - check broke, beat and scarred and I challenge any critic to not bang that head like their life depended upon it. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Sometimes the album's mini-epics come off as we've still got it! stunts. But when it's working, the effect is like ceding your senses to a particularly well-engineered roller coaster in the dark.
  2. The best ones spit in the face of death; this album instead finds aging men trying to reclaim their youth.
  3. The musicianship feels thrillingly live throughout, and nimble new bassist Robert Trujillo helps, even though he's mostly heard as a distant, ominous rumble.