Destiny Fulfilled

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2004
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. The album winds up sounding too reserved and heavy-handed, which makes it a disappointment not only compared to what the group has done before, but also to what the girls have achieved outside the group.
  2. Uncut
    40
    Feels for the most part like a vanity side project from Beyonce's solo career. [Jan 2005, p.115]
  3. Q Magazine
    40
    It's disappointing to find a glut of songs seemingly calibrated to appease the demographics. [Jan 2005, p.126]
  4. Despite a handful of strong cuts, Destiny Fulfilled sounds like the kind of album you make when you're saving your best material for your next solo album.
  5. New Musical Express (NME)
    60
    There are simply too many stodgy slowies. [13 Nov 2004, p.57]
  6. Destiny Fulfilled sounds distant and detached, and its pronounced ballad-fancy only occasionally raises a flag for the group dynamic it serves to restore.
  7. Once you get past the first two songs - the fantastic, legs-in-the-air Lose My Breath and the juddering Soldier, featuring rapper Li'l Wayne - you're stranded on a huge landmass of ballads.
  8. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Often moves at a molasses-like pace, weighted down with a preponderance of exquisitely executed but ultimately dull ballads. [26 Nov 2004, p.117]
  9. Blender
    60
    It's fun enough, until the interminable breakup theme that drags down the second half. [Dec 2004, p.136]
  10. A surprisingly perfunctory disc that never quite justifies its existence. [22 Nov 2004]
  11. The thing is, charisma and human warmth – or at least a plausible facsimile of them – are vital to the success of a ballad. And the bald fact is that Beyoncé and her handmaidens are utterly incapable of faking sentimentality.
  12. Unlike many R&B artists, Destiny's Child are actively bad at singing ballads, which mostly turn out mawkish, aimless and dull.
  13. The first word that comes to mind while listening to Destiny Fulfilled is: boring!
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 63 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. May 4, 2014
    5
    Not only the title of the album was a signal that the group was coming to an end, but you could also tell from the lack of effort and powerNot only the title of the album was a signal that the group was coming to an end, but you could also tell from the lack of effort and power displayed in all these songs. Full Review »
  2. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    Another good album from the girls of Destiny's Child, but like their other albums they never really master a solid album full of hits. TheAnother good album from the girls of Destiny's Child, but like their other albums they never really master a solid album full of hits. The singles are the stand-outs as well as one or two other tracks but there are one too many slower songs on this album. Full Review »
  3. AshleyS.
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    out of all of the tracks I loved and still love from "Destiny Fulfilled" from the ladies "T-Shirt" is my personal favorite song from the out of all of the tracks I loved and still love from "Destiny Fulfilled" from the ladies "T-Shirt" is my personal favorite song from the album because it makes me think of someone special and I know if my baby called me I would sing it to him every night we'll start to talk. I love DC. Full Review »