Destiny Fulfilled

  • Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2004
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Huzthingy
    Jan 2, 2005
    5
    I think the first 2 songs were catchy but not particularly original. I had expected more from the later tracks but was equally, if not more dissappointed. Now I wonder what the next rack will be. . .
  2. aydenm
    Dec 6, 2004
    4
    i bought this cd when it first shipped to new zealand and i am a huge DC fan but am very very disappointed at the lack of catchy and upbeat tunes that have been produced previously...im bummed out as i was really lokoing forward to this album !
  3. MariahL
    Jan 31, 2005
    5
    I think the songs should have been a little bit better. But, because of one bad album that doesn't change me from liking the group
  4. MimieS
    Nov 28, 2004
    5
    I'm going to give them the benefit of the doubt, half and half! It's about time that Kelly and Michelle get a chance to sing! They might enjoy each other for the moment, but as always Beyonce' just has to have the spotlight, and they all will be doing their own things again! Michelle sounds better singing gospel anyway!
  5. Scout*
    Nov 28, 2004
    4
    You have to give it to these three grls .. they harmonize like crazi. But their music doens't exactly live up to their voices. Some of its catchy, some of its dull, and most of it is just has you longing for Beyonce's next solo project. A good plus is the new sexed up, muscled out Kelley Rowland. A horrible minus are songs like 'T-Shirt' and 'Soldier'. You have to give it to these three grls .. they harmonize like crazi. But their music doens't exactly live up to their voices. Some of its catchy, some of its dull, and most of it is just has you longing for Beyonce's next solo project. A good plus is the new sexed up, muscled out Kelley Rowland. A horrible minus are songs like 'T-Shirt' and 'Soldier'. Hopefully, like the title indicates, this will be the last of Destiny's Child and we can have good ol' Beyonce back. Expand
  6. BobbyH
    Dec 11, 2005
    4
    Pros: Lose My Breathe is a good pop cut; Soldier hits of there hip-hop roots; Cater 2 U is a pleasing ballad; Girl, the best cut on the album, is a sweat sounding r&b cut Cons: Only the singles are worth listening to, the ballads other than Cater 2 U and Girl are all crap Overview: Just buy the singles off iTunes, and get the ONLY good part of the album
  7. richardj
    Nov 27, 2006
    4
    To be honest never been a fan of destiny child only good song is "Say My Name", the rest is mediocre, her solo album okay not worth 5 grammys. This is toilet the only decent songs are Lose my Breath and Girl but even these are forgettable, i am glad this will be the last album for them as i think thsi is a con on their fans and the music industry, if you ever come up with another album To be honest never been a fan of destiny child only good song is "Say My Name", the rest is mediocre, her solo album okay not worth 5 grammys. This is toilet the only decent songs are Lose my Breath and Girl but even these are forgettable, i am glad this will be the last album for them as i think thsi is a con on their fans and the music industry, if you ever come up with another album please write better material! Enough of the drab crap! Also Beyonce stop cat screeching, we know you can sing but cut the over singing, you are not aretha franklin or tina turner. Expand
  8. DareA
    Nov 23, 2004
    6
    it seems that Beyonce,Kelly and Michelle have forgotten bout the millions of little girls who buy there albums....with the exception of the first 2 songs...there isnt anything for the younger ones! i like it the album but it just lacks some essentiallities!
  9. May 4, 2014
    5
    Not only the title of the album was a signal that the group was coming to an end, but you could also tell from the lack of effort and power displayed in all these songs.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Unlike many R&B artists, Destiny's Child are actively bad at singing ballads, which mostly turn out mawkish, aimless and dull.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    58
    Often moves at a molasses-like pace, weighted down with a preponderance of exquisitely executed but ultimately dull ballads. [26 Nov 2004, p.117]
  3. Destiny Fulfilled starts off pitifully and only gets worse.