Destroyer's Rubies

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Feb 21, 2006
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 118
  2. Negative: 15 out of 118

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisM
    Mar 7, 2006
    7
    Completely different to anything I've heard in a long while. The tracks on the album go on for what seems like ages though they never bore. Brilliant stuff.
  2. KristianF
    May 5, 2006
    9
    My favourite so far this year
  3. RogerS
    Mar 6, 2006
    10
    Vancouver sound? Is there such a thing? I heard this one was good so I tried it and liked it on the first listen. This is music to be creative with. I wanted to get my "watercolours" out and paint. There is poetry in this and sort of like My Morning Jacket or music for independance. Music that just sounds really good.
  4. MatsL
    May 2, 2006
    10
    just finished listen to this, this great shit...! easily his best album yet. could it perhaps be one of the best albums this year...?
  5. RossW
    Jun 5, 2006
    9
    And thus a new class of music listeners is born - the metacritic dilettante. He believes that universal acclaim translates into universal appeal, and thus blindly stumbles into whatever album happens to be sitting up there in the "top ten." Then, frustrated with having his limited musical aesthetic challenged, leaves comments like "i don't like his voice." This album is fantastic, And thus a new class of music listeners is born - the metacritic dilettante. He believes that universal acclaim translates into universal appeal, and thus blindly stumbles into whatever album happens to be sitting up there in the "top ten." Then, frustrated with having his limited musical aesthetic challenged, leaves comments like "i don't like his voice." This album is fantastic, and if you're silly enough to jump into it without knowing what you're getting into, you deserve to be disappointed. Expand
  6. ChaseH
    Jul 6, 2006
    9
    A fantastic album that tops the New Pornos critically acclaimed 'Twin Cinema'. Pianos and horns abound in this eclectic journey with Dan Bejar and his band. Lyrics are smart and clever while the vocals are.. interesting but fit nonetheless. In two words: "get this".
  7. PeytonJ
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    I can already guess this will be in my top 10 albums of the year, hands down. I'm a newcomer to Dan Bejar outside of the New Pornos, but i already like this album so much more than Twin Cinema. Brilliant!
  8. PeterP
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    This album is subtle where it needs to be and outright at just the right points. Destroyer fans will be handsomely rewarded with all the self-referential lyrics, and newcomers will be teased into the exhuberant literary and musical experience that we have come to expect from sex god Dan Bejar.
  9. scooss
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    This is a great album that gets better with every listen. If you're a fan of Destroyer you won't be disapointed.
  10. RyanS
    Feb 22, 2006
    9
    One of very few lyricists that challenges his listener to imagine, more and more. And the music shines but in a different light than before on his other albums, it's clean rock...perfect. All the emotion still intact. "You can huff and you can puff but you can't destroy this stuff"
  11. ChrisS
    Feb 26, 2006
    9
    More fantastic music from Dan Bejar. The lyrics are great, but Bejar lets the music do more talking here than he usually does. Check out "European Oils" - it's one of the finest tunes so far this year. Maybe after this, more people will know of Destroyer. One could only hope.
  12. massinissaDZ
    Mar 23, 2006
    9
    It was unforgettable listening experience. Thanks very much Dan!!!!
  13. mikes
    Mar 30, 2006
    10
    This is going to be in my top 5 this year no matter what, I can't stop listening to it.....furthermore I do not gripe about vocals....many great artists don't have an "ideal" singing voice(see Dylan,Waits,John Darnielle for example)...its fresh to hear music that is so creative!
  14. Erik
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    The best album of 2006 so far. (March 3rd) Worthy of multiple listens. Strikingly original.
  15. AaronS
    Apr 20, 2006
    10
    As of right now, my favorite album of the year. By December, this is certain to remain in the top five. Bejar's eccentric vocals and superior, at times surreal songwriting skills are evident on every single track, making this a treat from start to finish. One of Destroyer's best efforts. It's certainly the most accessible release from Bejar to date.
  16. ShawnV
    May 10, 2006
    8
    I love this album because it's absolutely terrible... and I hate it because it's still so amazing. That might sound ridiculous, but if you've heard it, you probably know what I'm talking about. Bizarre vocals (well, it IS Destroyer), basically nonsensical lyrics (another trademark)... this is an album that, by all means, shouldn't work. But it does. And it'll I love this album because it's absolutely terrible... and I hate it because it's still so amazing. That might sound ridiculous, but if you've heard it, you probably know what I'm talking about. Bizarre vocals (well, it IS Destroyer), basically nonsensical lyrics (another trademark)... this is an album that, by all means, shouldn't work. But it does. And it'll get stuck in your head longer than you could possibly expect. Expand
  17. DavidH
    Jun 8, 2006
    10
    I really don't think anyone who gives this album less than 8/10 has any idea about music/lyrics/poetry. But that's my opinion. I agree wholeheartedly with Ross W in the sense that if people are just buying albums because they are in the critics top 10....then disappointment through ignorance or lack of appreciation is the only outcome. Can these people go back and listen to I really don't think anyone who gives this album less than 8/10 has any idea about music/lyrics/poetry. But that's my opinion. I agree wholeheartedly with Ross W in the sense that if people are just buying albums because they are in the critics top 10....then disappointment through ignorance or lack of appreciation is the only outcome. Can these people go back and listen to Thief/Streethawk/Your Blues + New Pornographers for some background.......PLEASE!!!! Expand
  18. AlexF
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    This is the best album I've heard in the last decade. I loved it when I first heard it, but it actually grew better and better with every listen, surpassing Bejar's previous albums, lyrically and musically. It joins my personal collection of desert island albums. A masterpiece. All of those who have the gall to put Bob Dylan's Modern Times on a pedestal with his earlier This is the best album I've heard in the last decade. I loved it when I first heard it, but it actually grew better and better with every listen, surpassing Bejar's previous albums, lyrically and musically. It joins my personal collection of desert island albums. A masterpiece. All of those who have the gall to put Bob Dylan's Modern Times on a pedestal with his earlier classics are merely craving something in the absence of modern-day classics. This is that album they crave. This is the album they need. Expand
  19. rayray
    May 10, 2007
    10
    People who dont get it shouldnt hate. They should just ignore and go critic something else. This is a brillant record by a brillant artist. No one ever said he sings like Elvis. People said the same on Dylan and Dylan remains Dylan.
  20. TravisB
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    Although the songs vary in length, ranging from three to nine minutes, each and every one on the album is phenomenal and inspiring. The picaresque lyrics alone could be enough for you to fall in love with this album, but they are just the tip of the emotional iceberg. The production allows every instrument to soar across the musical canvas and strike your eardrum in a delicate and Although the songs vary in length, ranging from three to nine minutes, each and every one on the album is phenomenal and inspiring. The picaresque lyrics alone could be enough for you to fall in love with this album, but they are just the tip of the emotional iceberg. The production allows every instrument to soar across the musical canvas and strike your eardrum in a delicate and enchanting manner. In a nut shell, we have a great progressive rock album Expand
  21. hondaj
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    Sit down and listen, and you'll find lyrically dense, surprisingly melodic affair
  22. LGrace
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    with this fantastic release, dan should be able to expand his listening audience outside beyond its small, rabid, internet-bound fan base and become extraordinarily wealthy.... even beyond his wild fantasies.
  23. BuddyH
    Feb 24, 2006
    10
    Absolutely classic!!!
  24. Veg
    Feb 26, 2006
    10
    Dan Bejar is truly one of the best songwriters of this decade and this record confirms it. For a Destroyer fan, this album is a whole hell of a lot more than you could ever have expected. For the new fans this is a great introduction to a classic songwriter.
  25. matta
    Feb 27, 2006
    9
    I have only heard Your Blues, so I'm not an expert on Bejar and his music, but the songs on here are incredible. I always thought that his songs on the NP's albums were weak and therefore shyed away from his stuff until a few months ago when I heard Your Blues. It was pretty good, but still, nothing could have prepared my for the sheer brilliance of this disc. Great lyrics and I have only heard Your Blues, so I'm not an expert on Bejar and his music, but the songs on here are incredible. I always thought that his songs on the NP's albums were weak and therefore shyed away from his stuff until a few months ago when I heard Your Blues. It was pretty good, but still, nothing could have prepared my for the sheer brilliance of this disc. Great lyrics and unique voice as usual, but it's the backing band that makes this album so solid. Great tunes. This is the best album that I have heard so far this year and I can't imagine it not appearing in my top ten at the end of the year. Expand
  26. justinb
    Feb 27, 2006
    10
    repeated listens needed to find out how great this one is.
  27. TBone
    Mar 11, 2006
    10
    If starting with this and trying to figure out the hype, I'd start with 3000 Flowers and Your Blood. I was torn on first listen whether this was contrived BS or really really good. After a few weeks, I say the latter. And I keep wanting to listen to it. And on top of that I'm not a New Pornographers fan or fan of Canadian music in general. I give this a 10 because it's hard If starting with this and trying to figure out the hype, I'd start with 3000 Flowers and Your Blood. I was torn on first listen whether this was contrived BS or really really good. After a few weeks, I say the latter. And I keep wanting to listen to it. And on top of that I'm not a New Pornographers fan or fan of Canadian music in general. I give this a 10 because it's hard for me to figure out how this won't end up in my top 5 for the year, not because it's the next Pavement. Expand
  28. BenW
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    As a massive David bowie fan, i now feel i have another artist, in a comparable way, that I can listen to and love for many years to come. This will definitely be in my Top 5 at year end.
  29. BrianO.
    Mar 31, 2006
    9
    From an on-again, off-again Destroyer fan - this is really excellent stuff, and puts me firmly back in the fan camp. It is a real treat to hear this album unfold all at once.
  30. rollandb
    Mar 3, 2006
    10
    no words necessary...
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    His insider snipes at indie-rock pretense show Wildean wit. [24 Feb 2006, p.64]
  2. Encapsulating and elevating the best of Destroyer's back catalog, Destroyer's Rubies serves as a potent reminder that the intelligence of Bejar's songs has never obfuscated their emotional weight.
  3. Bejars songs have, in the past, sometimes seemed like vehicles for his lyrics, yet with Destroyer’s Rubies he seems to have made peace with the musical element of his work as well.