• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Apr 26, 2005
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 100
  2. Negative: 5 out of 100

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    One of Springsteens best solo records. Every song on this is a carefully crafted piece of work. In his typical style, each song has a story accompanied by beautiful melodies. Surely up there in the class of Dylan as a lyricist. The boss is a living legend and the fact that he's still putting out albums of this quality is astounding.
  2. zenrazz
    Feb 8, 2007
    0
    turnoff
  3. LuisJ
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    O seu melhor album a solo... Brilhante
  4. MarkK
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    A strong sequel to Johnny Cash's spiritual side.
  5. SimenG
    Jan 28, 2006
    9
    I thought I'd heard the best of him, but this album definetely proves that he still has "it". He "paints" stories like only Dylan can... SimenG - Norway
  6. KNudP
    Jan 13, 2006
    10
    Best ever from Springsteen....
  7. JanF
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    Fantastic!
  8. oliviierb
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    AMAZING
  9. melissar
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    The reason why I rate this cd a ten. because it is the greatest cd I have ever heard in my lifetime. melissa lisalove richardson
  10. GerardoL
    Nov 18, 2005
    10
    Marvelous album, Springsteen's vision of the human experience ever insightful, colorful, adventurous, an artist that's learned a thing or two along the way, yet as wide-eyed in wonderment as ever! A triumph!
  11. AndrewL
    Jul 24, 2005
    10
    With each song, the stories are so enthralling and well-told, I felt like I was there as each story was happening. It was like reading the best collection of short stories ever written, set to music.
  12. BillyB
    Jul 8, 2005
    9
    Springsteen fan for many, many years. The lyrics are the best he's done. Black Cowboys? is there any other song in recent memory that inspires more reflection? He's the greatest!
  13. MattP
    Jun 30, 2005
    9
    Devils & Dust is Simple and beautiful . 'Reno' reads and sounds like a harder edged version of 'Blind Willie McTell'. Alone woth the price of admission.
  14. hatimj
    Jun 19, 2005
    9
    As a fun of the Boss, I would like to say that his new album is incredible and it concern our dialy life Devils & dust is special and deep, it reachs the heart's inside.
  15. ScottY
    Jun 17, 2005
    8
    More like Tunnel of Love and less like The Ghost of Tom Joad, which is a good tihng. This is not dark and dreary like GOTJ, and even has a rocker or two. If this were grouped with Tom Joad and Nebraska, this one buries all of them.
  16. RyanG
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    A more reflective Springsteen provides a very deep and soul-searching Album.
  17. Matt
    Jun 10, 2005
    9
    The only slight weakness on this album is that it owes itself a lot to Dylan's sound. Otherwise, it combines the lyrical excellence of Ghost Of Tom Joad with some more punch.
  18. DavidS
    Jun 8, 2005
    5
    Village Voice critic Robert Christgau, in his review of the 1988 live EP Chimes of Freedom stated the following: "...the self-importance he's always accuded of drips from his all-American drawl like Vitalis off a DA". The hayseed accent he affects on this "little" album are no less annoying - though I'm drawn to "Leah" his "Streets of Philadelphia" remake.
  19. PatrickD
    Jun 7, 2005
    5
    It's hard to rate this one. I'm giving it a five on a "Bruce scale," as compared with his other albums. But I'd give it much higher compared with most other CDs. As is always the case with Bruce, this is high-quality, thoughtful, well-produced music. But there's no way it's in the same pantheon as any of Bruce's classics. It's been compared with Nebraska It's hard to rate this one. I'm giving it a five on a "Bruce scale," as compared with his other albums. But I'd give it much higher compared with most other CDs. As is always the case with Bruce, this is high-quality, thoughtful, well-produced music. But there's no way it's in the same pantheon as any of Bruce's classics. It's been compared with Nebraska and Ghost of Tom Joad, but I'd say it's more similar to Tunnel of Love in its pacing and tone. One more thing: give it a chance...a lot of the songs really grow on you after several listens. Expand
  20. GeorgeBush
    May 27, 2005
    0
    Never heard it but no i won't like it. Viva la resistance, the king is not dead!
  21. MicahK
    May 20, 2005
    9
    Springsteen' s stripped down music, clear melodies, and intensely personal themes of life and death, and the love which binds events occurring between these, reflects unnervingly true of America's disposition in 2005. What resonates in this album is Springsteen's advocacy that American ideals should not be sacrificed--not in the interest of national securitiy, not ever. And Springsteen' s stripped down music, clear melodies, and intensely personal themes of life and death, and the love which binds events occurring between these, reflects unnervingly true of America's disposition in 2005. What resonates in this album is Springsteen's advocacy that American ideals should not be sacrificed--not in the interest of national securitiy, not ever. And it confirms that the personal relationships cultivated between each mother/son, each man/woman, each person/America, is valuable. 'Devils and Dust' is bleak. 'Matamouros Banks' for instance, tells of a Mexican immigrant dying in search of a better way/life for his family, by escaping across the border in search of the American dream. Didn't we used to root for this guy? Why don't we care about him anymore? When did our fear of terrorism overrun the ability of 'land of opportunity' and 'home of the brave' to embrace him? ' Have we lost already, and can we gain it back?' I don't know, but Springsteen's America has clearly changed for the worse in recent years. 'Devils and Dust' reminds us that in 2005, fear controls America, and its once lofty ideals no longer seem relevant to the powers that be. And the world is suffering along with us because of it. Expand
  22. JohnH
    May 18, 2005
    1
    A huge disappointment. I'm reminded of that 'Do you recal, when they build that ladder to heaven' post 9/11 claptrap. Bruce wants us to believe all he has left is 'Devils and Dust' keep rattling on Bruce I'm sure someone will believe your boring long winded preechy 'I've got them poor man blues' - pure fantasy. The Boss is now The Bore.
  23. MikeM
    May 15, 2005
    10
    Beauful and painful stories. Bruce evokes emotion in his music in a way that no other musician in his generation has.
  24. michaelk
    May 15, 2005
    10
    A superb album. Springsteen is a rare talent, never afraid to challange his audience. Devils and dust challange's us and more.
  25. MarkR
    May 15, 2005
    8
    Some of the songs are among his best, and none among his worst, but many could be better with a different voal treatment, such as Silver Palomino, All I'm Thinkin' About and Matamoros Banks. But overall, an excellent album.
  26. MartyD
    May 13, 2005
    10
    This is an album lover's album. Reno is one of his best.
  27. acavanah
    May 12, 2005
    10
    this is a dark album, sparse musically, but the narratives are vivid and poignant. There are one or two dire tracks, All Im thinking about and the hitter but overall I found it and thought provoking and intriguing.
  28. BenH
    May 12, 2005
    10
    I give Devils and Dust an A+. Bolstering Brian
  29. CurtM
    May 10, 2005
    8
    Nice, but a bit monotonous singing.
  30. LukeS
    May 8, 2005
    10
    Like sitting around a campfire, staring at the stars, and contemplating life with Bruce--nothing better.
  31. SimonW
    May 8, 2005
    7
    Some high points, especially the title track & Long Time Coming, but Reno, why?
  32. daxk
    May 7, 2005
    9
    this is a fantastic album. probably destined to be a little underrated by most, and overrated by those of us who love it. the only misgiving i have about the album is that it's a little overproduced at times (like the background vocals particularly on maria's bed, leah, and all i'm thinkin' about). these songs, like most springsteen songs, are stories, and the this is a fantastic album. probably destined to be a little underrated by most, and overrated by those of us who love it. the only misgiving i have about the album is that it's a little overproduced at times (like the background vocals particularly on maria's bed, leah, and all i'm thinkin' about). these songs, like most springsteen songs, are stories, and the overproduction of them takes away from their immediacy. this is what made nebraska and, to a lesser extent, the ghost of tom joad, so chilling. the stories were the first things you heard as a listener Expand
  33. MikeA
    May 6, 2005
    9
    Moody, soft folk music, along with beautiful, often moving lyrics. Another great Springsteen album, which makes one wonder, can the Boss fail?
  34. AdamG
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Very good album. It could not be more different than the Rising. (which I thought was great) My personal favorite on this album is the magnificent "The Hitter."
  35. Brian
    May 4, 2005
    9
    This is Springsteen's most original work in 10 years. And for that I recommend it over 95% of the recycled garbage out there now. The lyrics and songs are gorgeous. His experimenting with vocal stylings and adding more country sounds than ever before are two reasons I love this CD (album). This is definitely one of Bruce's better efforts. Better than the overrated Nebraska, but This is Springsteen's most original work in 10 years. And for that I recommend it over 95% of the recycled garbage out there now. The lyrics and songs are gorgeous. His experimenting with vocal stylings and adding more country sounds than ever before are two reasons I love this CD (album). This is definitely one of Bruce's better efforts. Better than the overrated Nebraska, but not quite as good as Ghost of Tom Joad. The fans seem to have more credibility than the critics these day. After reading their reviews, now more than ever I know to take critics comments with a grain of salt. It's obviously based on their own tastes and experiences and there's nothing objective about it. When I hear ridiculous things said like the Onion saying it's a better effort than Joad or especially the Village Voice saying it's long and boring it makes me roll my eyes and wonder how many Britney CDs they own, or how many U2 CDs they have praised for the 2-3 major chord style songs they repeat over and over. Joad is a masterpiece. Devils comes close to that work. Expand
  36. SteveR
    May 3, 2005
    9
    Springsteen has managed to find diversity within a small toolbox. The range of arrangements, vocal styles, tempos and emotions make this a more rewarding experience than his previous explorations in this folk troubador world. With the rare exception, Springsteen succesfully crafted detailed stories while not forgetting his gift for melody. A winning combination.
  37. TimM
    May 3, 2005
    8
    This album needs to be listened to many times and in many venues to be apreciated. Another gem.
  38. LornaA
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Love it Love it, a bit more sexy and mature like me!
  39. DougD
    May 2, 2005
    9
    A serious upgrade from the musically schizophrenic and need I say plodding, The Rising. This is lean and - at times - harrowing musical imagery that is far from perfect. But in its imperfection seems to perfectally encapsulate life during Bush II: War, prostitution, death; and man's struggles therein. A stunning achievement.
  40. KimS
    May 2, 2005
    9
    The worst song on this album is still 100 times better than anything I have heard on the radio this year. You will not hear any of these songs on the radio, and that is a damned shame. America needs to hear these songs.
  41. markb
    May 2, 2005
    10
    quite simply stunning!
  42. FortunateSon
    May 1, 2005
    10
    Bruce's best record since "Tunnel Of Love".
  43. JerryK
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    The focus is on the songs and they are among Springsteen's best. The music ebbs and flows between light and dark, hope and despair. If Steinbeck or Hemingway could have reinterpreted their best stories as songs they might sound a lot like 'Devils and Dust'. Better than 'The Rising', and that's high praise indeed.
  44. hane
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    excellent from start to finish not for the e-street fans
  45. patrickb
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    that what a song should be, just a little story.
  46. JonN
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    The Boss makes _albums_. Thematically cohesive and emotionally poignant pieces that are meant to be listened to front to back in order to get the full idea of what the artist is going for. The album is filled with gorgeous imagery, some of his best. Some of the seemingly simple upbeat rocking numbers belie their complexity and darker undercurrents - the kind of songs that Reagan would The Boss makes _albums_. Thematically cohesive and emotionally poignant pieces that are meant to be listened to front to back in order to get the full idea of what the artist is going for. The album is filled with gorgeous imagery, some of his best. Some of the seemingly simple upbeat rocking numbers belie their complexity and darker undercurrents - the kind of songs that Reagan would quote in a speech without investigation a la Born in the USA - but there is more than is immediately apparent. This isn't an album for the Ipod download-one-song-at-a-time masses, it's meant for a headphones on and lyrics in hand journey. It's a brilliant album. Expand
  47. GeorgiaW
    Apr 28, 2005
    6
    It's not nearly as good as "Nebraska," but "Devils & Dust" is a step up from "Ghost of Tom Joad." "GOTJ" had good stories, some good lyrics, but was severely lacking musically, and sounded too affected. "Devils & Dust" has some more memorably melodies, and the songs are better, but it doesn't get under your skin like "Nebraska." It also feels affected: the singing doesn't It's not nearly as good as "Nebraska," but "Devils & Dust" is a step up from "Ghost of Tom Joad." "GOTJ" had good stories, some good lyrics, but was severely lacking musically, and sounded too affected. "Devils & Dust" has some more memorably melodies, and the songs are better, but it doesn't get under your skin like "Nebraska." It also feels affected: the singing doesn't sound natural, it often sounds too studied. Though the production is minimal, it still adds a little too much polish, too. Regardless, the title track, "The Hitter, the explicit but sad and depraved "Reno," and a few others are good songs worth hearing over and over again. Taken on its own terms, it's still a fine album, but very flawed. Expand
  48. BrandonS
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    When I heard it was going to be in the vein of Nebraska and Tom Joad, I was worried that it would be a real yawner, a step back from the extraordinary The Rising. I was pleasantly surprised to see that, though not an arena-rock-friendly album, the pace is varied, the sound is textured, and the songs are first rate. A very welcome surprise indeed.
  49. terryv
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    One of his best.
  50. renes
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Devils needs several listen to be appreciated. It is not a random set of songs. They all fit together very nicely. Lyrics are simply breathtaking, and the music fits just right. Black Cowboys, Jesus, Silver Palomino are outstanding.
  51. ThomasT
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    Not as dark and dreary and as "Tom Joad", "Devils" mixes songs of despair with songs with hard won hope for better things. Richer musical textures make this the most varied and yes, enjoyable of the three "acoustic" Bruce LP's.
  52. B.B.
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    This record is not for the masses. It's for people who listen to "records" rather than download a song here and there. If you sit through this from start to finish, with the lyrics in hand (or watching them off the dvd on your tellyscreen) you'll be struck in awe. Great lyrics, great poetry. Standout tracks: "Reno" great story of sadness and sure ti stirr up a lot of emotions in This record is not for the masses. It's for people who listen to "records" rather than download a song here and there. If you sit through this from start to finish, with the lyrics in hand (or watching them off the dvd on your tellyscreen) you'll be struck in awe. Great lyrics, great poetry. Standout tracks: "Reno" great story of sadness and sure ti stirr up a lot of emotions in puritan circles; "Long Time Coming", an instant classic; "Matamoros Banks", a narrative told in reverse, from the corpse at the bottom of the river 'till the man trying to cross the Mexican- American border, "All I'm Thinkin' About" a sneer/ode to Neil Young, Van Morrison, Canned Heat???, "Jesus was an only Son", Bruce goes Waits/Zevon,... Definitely NOT a rock record: two rock tunes, couple of ballads, some alt-country, folk, but mainly brilliant storytelling and characterdepiction. Nice packaging too. Good job, once again, Boss. Expand
  53. TimG
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    Tremendous work that really brings it you right into Springsteen's mercurial songwriting world. Agree that this will take a few listens but in the end see how it actually slips perfectly into his repertoire and wait with anticipation to see him play this live both alone and with the E-Street Band. Yo won't be disappointed.
  54. RodD
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    Yep...great album. Apart from All I'm thinking About .... that is ordinary...
  55. RickT
    Apr 26, 2005
    8
    This is a wonderful CD and most likely takes a few listens before fully appreciating the music. It took a while for Tom Joad to grow on me but ended up being a favorite disc.
  56. janicem
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    masterpiece
  57. billj
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    A mature resonating work
  58. RussellB
    Apr 26, 2005
    10
    Better than "The Rising," possibly Springsteen's best record since "Born in the USA." The album sounds like a smarter, more polished and mature version of "The Ghost of Tom Joad," for which Springsteen won the Best Contemporary Folk Grammy when it came out.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Alas, it's not as consistently satisfying as 'Born To Run' or 'Born In The USA', and Springsteen's voice, always gravely at the best of times, has taken on an increasingly wizened air that sometimes renders it frustratingly impenetrable.
  2. The Rising sounded like a formulaic album made out of patriotic duty. Despite its flaws, formulaic is not an adjective that applies to most of Devils and Dust, an album that rarely does what you expect it to.
  3. Devils is a more mature effort than Joad and Nebraska, for being a little less bleak. [29 Apr 2005, p.144]