Devotion - Jessie Ware
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 78 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 78
  2. Negative: 4 out of 78

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    8
    Night Light and Taking In Water are individually not the most amazing of songs, but when with the rest of the album, although you may want to skip them, they blend in a little bit more with the sound of the album and work a little more. As a whole though, the songs on Jessie Ware's debut are generally tremendous, to make what is in itself, a generally flawless debut.
  2. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    "Wildest Moments" is definitely going to be added to my all-time favorite playlist. Together with all the other tracks, Ware's debut album is an instant winner. The albums is consistent in sound and Ware's vocal blends like nothing else with the music. As for the Gold Edition, I really like how the song has a new dynamic thanks to A$AP Rocky's lyrics on the remixed version of "Wildest Moments". This is a must-have masterpiece! Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    This is not the kind of music I m usually drawn to. I mean keep an open mind and whatever, but this R & B, slick pop, 80s throwback stuff tends to have a very short shelf life. That being said, this is one of the finest, slickest, most beautifully produced and charming records I have heard in ages! Every track is strong, memorable and instantly likeable. Most of them remain so after 60 listens (or so Jesse demonstrates strong, soulful, controlled vocals, just the right amount of honesty and oodles of charisma. When I saw her interviewed I wanted to stalk her and ask her to marry me.
    My one draw back is that on this album she showcases a wide variety of styles, from dancefloor fillers to smooth jazzy numbers to a bit of well timed, sugary pop. That's all well and good, but for e it detracted from the overall theme of the album. Perhaps it would have been too 'samey' had she gone with one genre, but the changes in style do not come fluidly and something gets lost in the process. That being said, 'Devotion' definitely makes me happy. Does anyone have her number?
    Expand
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    One of the most promising singers I've ever listened to, this album proved to be everything you could expect from a R&B artist, that is also flexible with her collaborations with electronic artists like SBTRKT and Disclosure.
  5. May 13, 2013
    10
    Before I start this review, this a review of the American release, not the UK which was already release back in august. Now that 's over, here's one word I can say about Jessie Ware's debut album "Devotion", Outstanding. It's one of the best albums of 2013, and one of the most interesting pop albums in a long time. Most of you might not know who Jessie Ware is, she's from the UK, and has first started off in the music industry guest appearing on other songs from other popular indie artists. She makes her debut with Devotion which describing what it's about may be difficult, at times it's about love, friendship, emotions, and maybe something unknown, but it all works out in great style. The beats, sounds, and Rhythm are perfectly balanced with each song, making each song sound different from the other, sometimes it's electronic, other times it's R&B, but the total package is Pop. All this making this interesting Pop. Jessie Ware does an outstanding job with her vocals, going along beautifully with everything going on in each song. The album has 13 songs (including a remix of Wildest Moments with A$AP Rockey.) and it never feels slow or too fast. Personal favorites on this album include "Wildest Moments", "Running", "Swan Song", and "Sweet Talk". In the end, this is an album to keep an eye on throughout the rest of this year, an album of almost pure perfection. Expand
  6. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    I love love love this album, really original, love the 90s influences, her voice is stunning, her live voice is even more stunning. I love how different every songs sounds. 9/10
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the album. I'm a huge fan of Sade and you hear her swag emulated here. It's synthesized sounds are nostalgic of the disco era especially within Running and its "never give up" intricate harmonies. It is understandable that Jessie Ware decides to name her album Devotion, however the title track was the opening of the album and it may have fell short too early, if it opened with wildest moments followed by running then it would've made a smoother transition and a nice introduction to Jessie Ware. The only issue I have with the album are the song choices and the ordering of the album. Personally, I did not need to hear running three times, it is repetitive enough (not that I'm complaining about the actual song, the repetition works in its favour in the aspect). However three of the songs there possibly could've been included in the deluxe edition as it just didn't flow well with the rest of the track list. To conclude, amazing introduction to Jessie Ware and I'm excited for her next move.
    Favourite songs: Wildest Moments, Running, If You're Never Gonna Move
    Expand
  8. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    The perfect definition of an album which only consists of single 4-out-of-5-stars-songs. But that doesn't stop the album from being great. Jessie Ware is one of the best newcomers of 2012, she is a great songwriter and I'm in love with her voice. Like so often in pop music she repeats her lines frequently. Anyway, when she gets to write a longer verse she shows how amazing she can express herself. The R&B beats under her singing are groovy too and there isn't a single song that isn't worth hearing. Yet, as I said before, not one of the songs stands out from the rest. Thus, I won't name anyone of the songs in my list for the best songs of the year, however I will definitely name this album. Expand
  9. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I'm not sure what album the others were listening to - the one I heard has mediocre songs and performances and is incredibly overproduced - doesn't hold a candle to the great R&B or soul singers of the past - not even close to Sade!
  10. Dec 1, 2012
    9
    This album is pure art and is so luscious. It's sweet. It's Gritty. It's Edgy. But It's soft all at the same time. Jessie Ware has a strong link between Sade and SBTRKT, with Lisa Standfield-like vocals and stunning undercovered musical tastes, This South Londoner's Debut has definitely become 'one of the best albums of the year.'
  11. Nov 18, 2012
    6
    Jessie's music is very contemporary, relaxing and artistic, however I felt cold after listening to this album. I have to admit that some - if not most - of the songs are purely fillers. Some of the songs sound identical. This is a very elegant album but it lacks much personality.
  12. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Although musically paved in 60's R&B and 80's ambient sound, Jessie Ware's debut album managed to be the most refreshing music that ever came to my ears this year. Her classy voice and dark melodies send shivers down my spine at each song of it. Even though her songwriting is obviously a bit raw and natural, it doesn't weakens the substance of the discussion of love made by her. Stellar debut, stunning career ahead. Expand
  13. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    All of these new R&B artists don't have the same soul feeling like early Stevie Wonder or Anita Baker. None of them have any stand out hits . I feel a certain weakness in their R&B where there should be solid hits. I have a yearning to want to like this music, but they are coming up just a bit short. Sorry...
  14. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    Despite Ware's assumed inspirations, Devotion is a wonderful piece of work concerning this current era of generic bubblegum pop. There's no place for auto-tune abuse here: everything is flowy, smooth and properly sultry when needed.
  15. Sep 4, 2012
    10
    One of most interesting albums of the year. The songs are a great combination of pure Jessie Ware's voice and broken rhythmically electronic sounds. Pop of the highest quality.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    86
    The new songs on this already-strong collection only elevate the ceiling of Ware’s potential.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    90
    If this isn't the album of the year, it's at least the art-pop album of the year, or the neo-sophisti-pop album of the year, or--beside Frank Ocean's Channel Orange--the alternative R&B album of the year.
  3. Dec 4, 2012
    83
    There's a youthful, warm energy emanating from Ware's vocals that enervates Devotion, making it more than a mere exercise in restrained, sophisticated sexiness.