User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 61
  2. Negative: 13 out of 61

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    Good debut album of the band's new name. Really this albums only needs a brother in it to be called Oasis. Great rock atmpspheres, Liam vocie seems to be recovered in another style. Good one!
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    7
    From the rubble of Oasis first comes the swaggering Liam Gallagher, ready to kick your balls in. ”Different Gear, Still Speeding” has it’s moments of ball kicking, but also has a lot of touching, ballady, almost whimsical moments; but not in the Noel sense. It’s about time someone re-awoken the charm of the Faces and The Kinks and all those other great, forgotten British Invasion bands.From the rubble of Oasis first comes the swaggering Liam Gallagher, ready to kick your balls in. ”Different Gear, Still Speeding” has it’s moments of ball kicking, but also has a lot of touching, ballady, almost whimsical moments; but not in the Noel sense. It’s about time someone re-awoken the charm of the Faces and The Kinks and all those other great, forgotten British Invasion bands. Though that charm wears off a little when you realize how obviously how Beatles, Stones and Who it is, but that’s the exact thing that makes it charming again; it has a truly classic property to it, even if it’s not considered a classic. Expand
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    10
    A great debut album by a great band. A huge surprise to see there s still life after Oasis with Beady Eye and their 'Different Gear Still Speeding" lp.
  4. Jun 8, 2013
    7
    This won't win Liam Gallagher any new fans but will definitely maybe please Oasis fans. Oasis sounded very jaded on their last album Dig Out Your Soul, this Beady Eye effort brings back some freshness. At 13 tracks it could have done with a bit of quality control (Perhaps this is where Noel is missed as much as anywhere else). I would say it has 3 great tracks, 6 other very good tracks andThis won't win Liam Gallagher any new fans but will definitely maybe please Oasis fans. Oasis sounded very jaded on their last album Dig Out Your Soul, this Beady Eye effort brings back some freshness. At 13 tracks it could have done with a bit of quality control (Perhaps this is where Noel is missed as much as anywhere else). I would say it has 3 great tracks, 6 other very good tracks and maybe 4 filler tracks not too bad. Not an all time classic but an enjoyable record all the same. The closer The Morning Son is the best track Liam's put down in 10 years Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2013
    8
    "Different Gear, Still Speeding". The title gives a good idea of this album. It remains more on less on the same level of Dig Out Your Soul. Maybe it's a bit worse. However I prefer Noel's album, even if this has a more rock sound. I really like The Beat Goes On and Millionaire. There are other six or seven good tracks, the rest is not impressive, but not bad. Good Album.
  6. Mar 25, 2012
    7
    This album is a huge success just because of the fact that it isn't the train wreck that many people were expecting. Liam sounds like he is having the most fun he has had in years, letting loose and just doing his own thing. You're not gonna find anything deep on this album, which is obvious because Noel is gone, but what you are left with is a light-hearted rock album that is a lot of funThis album is a huge success just because of the fact that it isn't the train wreck that many people were expecting. Liam sounds like he is having the most fun he has had in years, letting loose and just doing his own thing. You're not gonna find anything deep on this album, which is obvious because Noel is gone, but what you are left with is a light-hearted rock album that is a lot of fun to listen to. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Oh dear, oh dear. This album is a real stinker. It's hard to believe some of these songs were written by the same man who wrote Oasis' "I'm out of time". The limit of their creativity was summed up in one track, titled: "Beatles and Stones". Hard to imagine where they got that name from.

    The only redeeming features were "Four letter word" and the fact that Liam's voice hasn't sounded this
    Oh dear, oh dear. This album is a real stinker. It's hard to believe some of these songs were written by the same man who wrote Oasis' "I'm out of time". The limit of their creativity was summed up in one track, titled: "Beatles and Stones". Hard to imagine where they got that name from.

    The only redeeming features were "Four letter word" and the fact that Liam's voice hasn't sounded this good in five years. If you're an Oasis fan you might want to check it out for yourself. If you're on the fence; avoid like the plague.
    Expand
  8. Sep 22, 2011
    9
    Being the avid Oasis fan I am I was very curious to see how Beady Eye's album was going to turn out and I am pleasantly pleased by the album. Straight out rock and roll with some pretty ballads (for anyone). Nothing fancy just solid rock tunes that are great to listen to. The Roller is a great song and the Morning Son, in my opinion is the best song on the album. It seems to echo shades ofBeing the avid Oasis fan I am I was very curious to see how Beady Eye's album was going to turn out and I am pleasantly pleased by the album. Straight out rock and roll with some pretty ballads (for anyone). Nothing fancy just solid rock tunes that are great to listen to. The Roller is a great song and the Morning Son, in my opinion is the best song on the album. It seems to echo shades of Champagne Supernova and the build up to the end is skying, just brilliant. The band is solid without Noel, Beady Eye should be bringing us good tunes for a long time. Expand
  9. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    I'm quite a fan of Oasis, so I was looking forward for the first solo album by one of Gallagher brothers. Firstly, it seemed to be a bit boring, monotonous and secondary. But after some time, I discovered a power of this album. You won't find any super hits in it, but Different Gear, Still Speeding may be more interesting than Heathen Chemistry and Don't Believe the Truth. Liam's songsI'm quite a fan of Oasis, so I was looking forward for the first solo album by one of Gallagher brothers. Firstly, it seemed to be a bit boring, monotonous and secondary. But after some time, I discovered a power of this album. You won't find any super hits in it, but Different Gear, Still Speeding may be more interesting than Heathen Chemistry and Don't Believe the Truth. Liam's songs more like old school rock-n-roll, than classic oasis songs. Any way, great album. Expand
  10. May 29, 2011
    6
    For those who have approached recent Oasis albums with a degree of tired trepidation, Liam Gallagher's badly monikered Beady Eye will hold no sense of revelatory optimism. http://hackskeptic.com
  11. Apr 4, 2011
    7
    On the whole it's a good album, certainly better than many had expected. Not really like an Oasis album, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, although lacks that a bit of drive that Oasis injected into their songs. None of the songs on DGSS are quite as exhilarating as 'Four Letter Word' but it still has some top tunes ( the Roller, Kill For a Dream, Millionaire).
  12. Mar 19, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Back to 2009 when Oasis split. Noel Gallagher, the groups main songwriter, guitar player and part-time singer, leaves the group to do the solo album he always wanted to do. But that's appart from Liam and the others, they decided not to sit and wait for his solo stuff, but get themselves back on track! But who would've tought they'd do it like this? To be fair, my bet was on Noel. But almost 2 years later, we still havn't heard anything about him, not even an official confirmation about a solo album. Meanwhile Liam Gallagher & co have not been lazy. I was not a big fan o Bring The Light at first, but then we got Four Letter Word and The Roller. Started to look forward to the album, and here it finally is, released onto the world about 2 weeks ago: 'Different Gear, Still Speeading'. I must admit, the album is far better then I ever expected! Millionaire (next single btw) with is lyrical referations to Salvador Dali, the anthemic and fans favourite The Beat Goes on, the architypical Wigwam, the Oasis type ballad Kill For A Dream and the epic album closer The Morning Son Has Rose are my favourite tunes. Great great album! Expand
  13. Mar 18, 2011
    9
    Different Gear, Still Speeding is a truly surprising album that manages to be on par with most of the later Oasis albums even though chief songwriter Noel Gallagher is absent. While his catchy melodies and guitar play are missed from time to time, singer Liam Gallagher, Andy Bell and Gem Archer have really developed as songwriters and have put out some amazingly good songs. Opener FourDifferent Gear, Still Speeding is a truly surprising album that manages to be on par with most of the later Oasis albums even though chief songwriter Noel Gallagher is absent. While his catchy melodies and guitar play are missed from time to time, singer Liam Gallagher, Andy Bell and Gem Archer have really developed as songwriters and have put out some amazingly good songs. Opener Four Letter Word is as good as any later Oasis lead single and a rock tune worthy of Noel himself (although actually written by Andy Bell). The fresh, catchy and uplifting Millionaire features some great lyrics as well as a melody no Oasis song has ever come close to.
    Lead single The Roller sounds a lot like John Lennon, but that's not a bad thing - it has a perfectly catchy chorus, a very refreshing sound and great vocals by Liam. Beatles and Stones and Wind Up Dream are the two weakest tracks on the record without being as boring or repetitive as many Oasis fillers; Bring The Light invokes the spirit of 50s piano riff rock and has a unique touch with female background singers and extremely simple lyrics ("Baby come on/Baby hold on").
    For Anyone is Liam's take on an acoustic love song in the La's style. Extremely catchy and sweet, Liam's vocal performance is incredible here. Absolutely single-worthy and good enough for most Oasis albums. Kill For A Dream is the only real ballad on the album and is reminiscent of Liam's Little James (from 2000 Oasis album, Standing on the Shoulder of Giants) with better lyrics and a touching chorus. Standing on the Edge of the Noise is a bit too loud and, well, noisy, and totally rips off the Beatles classic Get Back - the most forgettable track, yet catchy and uplifting.
    The last four tracks are the best the album has to offer. Liam's Wigwam and Andy Bell's The Beat Goes On are masterpieces - the psychedelic Wigwam unites three parts and ends in a great, if a bit repetitive "I'm coming up" sequence. The Beat Goes On is a classic song, catchy, a bit corny, but unforgettable.
    Three Ring Circus is an Oasis-style rocker, which isn't a bad thing; it has a great melody, and it stands out as one of the few tunes that really sound like they're old Oasis material.
    The album finishes with the epic anthem The Morning Son - Beady Eye's Champagne Supernova, a truly inspiring and calm song that turns into a psychedelic, dreamy experience and is a perfect last track.
    There is no obvious filler on the record, no obvious hit single either, but many songs that you won't grow bored of soon, a great mixture of rock songs, acoustic, psychedelic and folksy elements. of course, longtime Oasis influences like The Beatles and The Kinks are omnipresent, but by putting all their 60s heroes together, Beady Eye create their own sound and manage to get away from their past as Oasis with a magnificent album. The freshness and joy that went into the making of this album is something Oasis obviously lacked in its waning years, and it might just be that the Oasis split was really for the best. Liam and the boys have shown what they're capable of, and it's great - now it's Noel's turn.
    Score: 9/10
    Expand
  14. Mar 15, 2011
    4
    As someone who has seen Oasis live about 10 times and owns everything they have released, I have to say that this album has only 1 good song. One good song is not an album, it is a single, which means this is like a B-Side release from a bad Oasis dream. Most of the songs on Different Gear are unbearable. Further, the quality of Liam's lyrics on this album are embarrassing... no amountAs someone who has seen Oasis live about 10 times and owns everything they have released, I have to say that this album has only 1 good song. One good song is not an album, it is a single, which means this is like a B-Side release from a bad Oasis dream. Most of the songs on Different Gear are unbearable. Further, the quality of Liam's lyrics on this album are embarrassing... no amount of koolaid or other substances could make my brain think otherwise. Liam altered his singing style on a couple of these new tracks which really does not work. With so much musical talent between these guys I am hoping next time they will just be more patient and take their time.... and write music for the sake of creating good music. Expand
  15. Mar 5, 2011
    9
    This CD i a modern day revival of rock n roll with sounds from The Who, The Beatles and Oasis with its own signature of Liam's voice that so recognizable. Its defiantly a break in the charts from the Pop and R'n'B that has plagued us in recent years. The CD is a great Mixture of quick up beat songs you can tap to the beat 'Three Ring Circus' and slow songs that send shivers down your spineThis CD i a modern day revival of rock n roll with sounds from The Who, The Beatles and Oasis with its own signature of Liam's voice that so recognizable. Its defiantly a break in the charts from the Pop and R'n'B that has plagued us in recent years. The CD is a great Mixture of quick up beat songs you can tap to the beat 'Three Ring Circus' and slow songs that send shivers down your spine that you sing along with 'Kill for a dream'. The debut album, that everyone expected to be dismal with out Mr Noel Gallagher, has a ability to grow on you each time you plate with songs like 'Bring the light' and 'Beatles and Stones' that become your favorite songs after playing a couple times. So overall this has been a complete success by Liam, Gem, Andy and Chris that is a classic in anybodies rock collection and should go along with the likes of Defiantly Maybe and Don't believe the truth. Expand
  16. Mar 3, 2011
    8
    Solid rock & roll sounds, catchy melodies and reckless attitude. This could show other bands that introspection is not that fun to listen to anymore. Besides, it's a good album to get drunk to.
  17. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    This album is truly remarkable. Whoever said Liam needed Noel to put together a great album was wrong. I listened to this album 16 times in one week it is truly amazing. 13 amazing tracks that really showcase just how great Liam's voice still is. Be sure to check out their b-sides as well.This album has so many remarkable sons not to mention 2 songs that are over 6 minutes. This is a wellThis album is truly remarkable. Whoever said Liam needed Noel to put together a great album was wrong. I listened to this album 16 times in one week it is truly amazing. 13 amazing tracks that really showcase just how great Liam's voice still is. Be sure to check out their b-sides as well.This album has so many remarkable sons not to mention 2 songs that are over 6 minutes. This is a well crafted album that is sure to make a splash. Collapse
  18. Mar 2, 2011
    1
    well i am 1 one those that get an ear on that collection of songs, just becuz of mister G. Curiosity, and i must admit, that the art concept... is something, that bring to mind freshness.... compared to the former band those musicians played afore. The bowels? Well... i cant tell i remember right now, what i've heard (i wouldnt have heard b4) or rather, must admit, i dont wanna remember,well i am 1 one those that get an ear on that collection of songs, just becuz of mister G. Curiosity, and i must admit, that the art concept... is something, that bring to mind freshness.... compared to the former band those musicians played afore. The bowels? Well... i cant tell i remember right now, what i've heard (i wouldnt have heard b4) or rather, must admit, i dont wanna remember, what i've heard in this nice packaged CD. Expand
  19. Mar 2, 2011
    7
    Still absorbing the album, but first impressions are good. Liam´s performance far from brilliant, but don´t compromise the final work. this is a work made by former oasis musicians, so it´s not only Liam. Some good tunes, the roller, millionaire, the beat goes on, kill for a dream, the morning son... good stuff, cheers OASIS fans!!!
  20. Mar 2, 2011
    6
    10/10 for this album eh? The guy who wrote that review must either be Liam Gallagher or be on some pretty hardcore drugs. So maybe this debut album is as good as any Beatles album? Or maybe it's better than Oasis themselves? I think not. It's not awful, i like Four letter word and some of the tunes are o.k but that's where it ends. I fear that the follow up will be panned because you can10/10 for this album eh? The guy who wrote that review must either be Liam Gallagher or be on some pretty hardcore drugs. So maybe this debut album is as good as any Beatles album? Or maybe it's better than Oasis themselves? I think not. It's not awful, i like Four letter word and some of the tunes are o.k but that's where it ends. I fear that the follow up will be panned because you can clearly see that they are running out of ideas. Who will they rip off next? The Beach boys? They've done The Who, Beatles and Stones to death. And as for Liam thinking he is John Lennon? I look foward to Oasis getting bac together in 5 years. Expand
  21. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    Oasis, no...But still really really good. Great guitar sounds and Liam has a snarl that's still the best in the biz. Snapy snaps y'all......................................................
  22. Mar 1, 2011
    10
    "Different Gear ,Still Speeding" is an album about love, hope,life & dreams.It sounds fresh
    free,uplifting,soulful,happy,and sensitive.A great new start for Liam Gallagher and co , a huge surprise for everyone , even for Oasis fans.Perfect in its imperfection and that's finally how a rock n roll record should sound.These guys should be proud and we should feel lucky to hear that great
    "Different Gear ,Still Speeding" is an album about love, hope,life & dreams.It sounds fresh
    free,uplifting,soulful,happy,and sensitive.A great new start for Liam Gallagher and co , a huge surprise for everyone , even for Oasis fans.Perfect in its imperfection and that's finally how a rock n roll record should sound.These guys should be proud and we should feel lucky to hear that great voice singing again classics such as "The Beat Goes On" , "Four Letter Word", "Wigwam" or "Kill For A Dream" to name a few!Best debut album of the year by the best new band of the year!
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    50
    The erroneously titled debut, Different Gear, Still Speeding, plays much like a latter-day Oasis album. [May 2011, p.83]
  2. Different Gear, Still Speeding shows that the band is comfortable with themselves and their follow-up has every chance to be a stronger album – especially if they are brave enough to include more styles, even if they won't move beyond their British Invasion inspirations.
  3. Apr 5, 2011
    60
    Whether Liam Gallagher's band is the start of a new story or a diverting subplot to an on-going saga remains to be seen -- and you can imagine where the smart money lies. [Mar. 2011, p. 92]