Direct Hits

  • Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Nov 11, 2013
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Direct Hits is a solid, predictable, and wholly enjoyable look back at the Killers’ tumultuous first 10 years.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    A nifty encapsulation of the group's style and attributes--the Killers cannily use the singles-centric conceit to showcase the band at their overblown best, emphasizing their arena-sized neo-new wave just slightly over their Springsteenisms
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    70
    A nice refresher, if a little unnecessary.
  4. Nov 19, 2013
    40
    Ultimately, with too few albums to warrant a truly outstanding collection and a top-heavy chronological ordering the hits may be direct, but the death feels painfully slow.
  5. Magnet
    Dec 18, 2013
    60
    Their grandiose mini-operas and stadium-size choruses can thrill. But to hear the relentless string of outsized anthems in a row is exhausting. [No. 105, p.55]
  6. Nov 21, 2013
    64
    Direct Hits proves the Killers have fewer actual hits, let alone great ones, than you thought and makes you wonder if they made their Greatest Hits album too early or whether they can ever legitimately put one together at all.
  7. 58
    It’s just a quick way to get to what’s relevant about them, an I.V. drip of catchy tunes from a time when your emotions were still raw and tender.
  8. Q Magazine
    Jan 7, 2014
    80
    This is the rarity of a hits collection from a band still at the top of their game. There's plenty more to come. [Jan 2014, p.131]
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Dec 12, 2013
    9
    For me, this album has too few Killers hits on it. I would've liked 'Jenny was a friend of mine' and 'Bling' as well. I don't think it's tooFor me, this album has too few Killers hits on it. I would've liked 'Jenny was a friend of mine' and 'Bling' as well. I don't think it's too early for this, they've had 10 fantastic years and they're taking a break now. If you only like the first album, like 'imthenoob', don't bother buying this one and just stick to Hot Fuss. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Nice, if little unwarranted. Their label is the douchiest label I have come across. Let's Hope they sign onto a much better label now. TheyNice, if little unwarranted. Their label is the douchiest label I have come across. Let's Hope they sign onto a much better label now. They could have added a few more songs, non singles to be specific Full Review »
  3. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    This album and the junction of all the best and greatest masterpieces of the band, and the oddly enough all songs fell together in anThis album and the junction of all the best and greatest masterpieces of the band, and the oddly enough all songs fell together in an unbelievable way. The songs seem to have been launched as a follow up each other , incredible . Full Review »