Dirty Work - All Time Low
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. All Time Low made the catchiest record possible and have their fingers crossed for airplay in the upcoming months. For those who accept it, Dirty Work will be a staple in their summer playlist.
  2. Jun 7, 2011
    70
    Consider Dirty Work the band's ultimate bid for mainstream acceptance, and one of their strongest pop albums to date.
  3. 60
    There are way too many cooks in this kitchen. [May 2011, p.91]
  4. 83
    Dirty Work proves you can grow up and still act like a kid--just as long as your songs are this head-rushingly catchy.
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    60
    It's just that Dirty work is merely a good album, when it should be a great one. [4 Jun 2011, p.51]
  6. Jun 7, 2011
    70
    All Time Low's songs are more up-scale and better put-together on this record, and that takes some serious work.
  7. Jun 21, 2011
    60
    On their fourth album, All Time Low get stranded between bratty snot-rock and witty power pop.
  8. Jun 3, 2011
    40
    Much like the average modern-day Playmate, Dirty Work is essentially a manufacturer's dummy: air-brushed; soulless; custom-built to exacting specifications; aesthetically-pleasing but ultimately empty and devoid of any real distinctive character. At the risk of butchering a metaphor, All Time Low are New Found Glory with grotesque, misaligned implants.
User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jul 5, 2011
    5
    I've been a fan of ATL since So Wrong It's Right, so I was greatly anticipating the release of this album - especially since they kept us waiting so long. I was more impressed with Nothing Personal. Alex Gaskarth [lead] kept talking about how he felt this was a more "grown up" record, and it showed their growth as a band, but I have to disagree. Most of the songs seemed a little amateur to me. There are a few songs off this album I really enjoy, but most of them are just decent. I think the writing really took a turn for the worst. Their previous records were so much more raw, and honest feeling. On this album they were far too focused on rhyming words, that they seemed to have forgotten to let the songs flow on their own. "You're not a hero, you're a liar, you're not a savior, you're a vampire" really left me feeling like the victim of a bad pop band- the only thing missing was an over usage of auto-tune, even though they don't fail to saturate themselves in that with a few different songs. Most of the reason I was so disappointed with this record is because I know they could have done better. Full Review »
  2. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    Pretty much an average album. First half is catchy, then it's just generic.
    The first half is full of energy, and then the second half is
    full of "Ohmygodlifesuckssomuch" songs. I was just there like "PLZ STAHP". Full Review »
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    7
    While no Don't Panic, Dirty Work was the pinnacle of the bands career up until this point. It's a big progression from the endearing but vapid collection that was Nothing Personal. The pop songs here are shamelessly committed, the highlights of which are the first three tracks, Do You Want Me, the tongue in cheek party stomper that is I Feel Like Dancin' and Forget About It. Much of the rest of the album is a huge step up. The love songs are particularly poignant, with A Daydream Away, No Idea and Under A Paper Moon, while the possible pinnacle of the album is the charged Guts. Gaskarth's vocals are increasingly mature, a competent if uninspiring singer who gets to the heart of the songs in his delivery. Unfortunate is the musical repetition, with tame drumming from a talented craftsman and wall of sound delivery from the guitarist. Jack Barakat isn't the best guitarist in the business, as evidenced by his solo in Guts, but more augmentations during vocal parts would have considerably spiced up the songs. A good album from a band that is still yet to fulfil it large potential. Full Review »