• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PisitD
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    He's Real but 50 is sh*t......
  2. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    Great production, tiring name dropping, great album.
  3. zelalemgbr
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    men it's can't be determine "Dreeeeeeeeeeeeams"
  4. joshs
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Westkoast is Back! wes wes ya'll.
  5. EmilS
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Quite solid. A few songs feels too much like pointless fillers but other than that very satisfying.
  6. WillP.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Surprisingly, this album is incredibly good. I have to admit that I was not a fan at all of The Game's first album (except for the ridiculously good beat on "Dreams"). That being said, either the Game has greatly improved his flow or he just isn't being tainted by 50 Cent and his awful rapping skills or lack thereof. My only two problems are the fact that he still name drops way Surprisingly, this album is incredibly good. I have to admit that I was not a fan at all of The Game's first album (except for the ridiculously good beat on "Dreams"). That being said, either the Game has greatly improved his flow or he just isn't being tainted by 50 Cent and his awful rapping skills or lack thereof. My only two problems are the fact that he still name drops way too much, and the fact that he decided to cover the beat from Public Enemy's absolutely classic "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos", one of the 10 least-needy-of-a-cover songs ever. Collapse
  7. herbc
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    all the track were hot, but what else can you expect from the game everything he touches blowes up. g-unot cant wait for the next album.
  8. JoeyD
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    your album is way better than 50 cent has ever made. keep doing yo thing
  9. DavidO
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    This album is the best rap-album on earth!!!!!!!!!!
  10. BarryM
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    People who discredit this album are either G Unit fan boys or POP music critics. Superb beats, mpre detailed rhymes and an over all triumph, only hampered by the weak track "Bang" and still too much name droppimg.
  11. JoseL
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    This is the album of the year either you simpathise with game or not
  12. BB
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    better than 50
  13. MASTAMINDE
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    Whoa, The Game has really impressed me this time around. While I appreciated The Documentary primarily for its incredibly solid production and generally good guest verses The Game himself had rather weak flow. He had virtually the same pace on each song. On the Doctor's Advocate the solid production is back, but the guests are even better. Verses provided by Snoop Dogg, Kanye West, Whoa, The Game has really impressed me this time around. While I appreciated The Documentary primarily for its incredibly solid production and generally good guest verses The Game himself had rather weak flow. He had virtually the same pace on each song. On the Doctor's Advocate the solid production is back, but the guests are even better. Verses provided by Snoop Dogg, Kanye West, Will.i.am, Kurupt, Nas and Xzibit easily beat anything that could've been provided by 50 Cent, G-Unit, or Eminem. Most importantly though, Games rapping has greatly improved. Lyrically its stronger (though the rampant name dropping is still present) and his flow is smoother and his pacing varied. There are genuine surprising moments like on the song Wouldn't Get Far. Where the Game adapts effortlesslyto any beat provided. All in all a great achievement, the incessant name dropping could be avoided and his rather bloated ego also detract a bit. Nonetheless, easily one of the best rap albums of the year. Expand
  14. durohard
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    if you like gangsta s*** it gets no better than this... the album is hard from begining to end. THE GAME is the king of rap. get you that sticky and follow me down FLORENCE AVE as we pump the king of rap just make sure you wear the right colors and dont get caught slipping..........
  15. AntonN
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    A very great album! Game really had something to prove and on this album and he proves it. His skills go beyond being associated with someone whose already made it(Dr. Dre and 50 cent). GAme is a talented lyricist and creator on his own accord with or without Dr. Dre!
  16. JasonV
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    I think the Game did a great job with this album. It has sweet beats and clever rhymes. GGGGG Unot!!!
  17. aL.cks
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    You can feel real emotion listening to this album and Game's flow has improved so much. In all, its way better than Jay-Z's KIngdom Come.
  18. Josue
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    Super great album
  19. ZooBar
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Solid production, even without dre
  20. GReed
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Best Rap album of the year, without a question.
  21. aDubb
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    This album is fiyah. It brings what was good from 90s west coast and integrates it into this album. One problem with the Doc was that it was too east coast. Songs like California Vacation and Remedy bring the west coast vibe to it. Plus game has better contest with one song talkin bout his relationship with his brother, his dr. dre letter, and pourin out liquor's for his family in This album is fiyah. It brings what was good from 90s west coast and integrates it into this album. One problem with the Doc was that it was too east coast. Songs like California Vacation and Remedy bring the west coast vibe to it. Plus game has better contest with one song talkin bout his relationship with his brother, his dr. dre letter, and pourin out liquor's for his family in ole english. The only thing that does not make this a 10 is the Hustla's Dream should have been on instead of Wouldnt get Far. It am impressed and i finally get to listen to a westcoast album Expand
  22. BlakeH
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    For West Coast Hip Hop, this is as good as it gets. Every track is a straight banger and The Game comes once again with the highest caliber production of any rapper in the industry bar none. His lyrical output has definitely been bolstered between albums, and The Game is as polished as ever. If you have ever enjoyed any West Coast album, this is what you're looking for. This is the For West Coast Hip Hop, this is as good as it gets. Every track is a straight banger and The Game comes once again with the highest caliber production of any rapper in the industry bar none. His lyrical output has definitely been bolstered between albums, and The Game is as polished as ever. If you have ever enjoyed any West Coast album, this is what you're looking for. This is the same attitude and bravado of NWA but with better lyricism and far better beats. Expand
  23. yaboygrillin'
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    dope album.....
  24. Feb 2, 2013
    10
    Best album of all time! Straight up. Better than his debut and his other releases, it deserves a better score from the critics but we know its straight fire. #StillPumpingIn2013
  25. Apr 26, 2015
    9
    Great sequel to his great debut album, even with his recent departure from G-Unit, he shows a lot of lyrical improvement on the album and adds even more drama to his songs. Dre isn't behind the beats, but they are still dope as ever with One blood and California vacation as my highlights of the album.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. It doesn't live up to the nihilistic brilliance of The Documentary... But [The Game] doesn't fall flat on his face, either.
  2. The Game has a lot to prove, but rather than establishing his own style he continues in the west coast tradition, with G-funk's squealing synths and endless references to "the chronic".
  3. Even though "Doctor's Advocate" has its failings, it's a prescription that comes recommended. [18 Nov 2006]