• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 14, 2006
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 79
  2. Negative: 4 out of 79

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. [Anonymous]
    Dec 15, 2006
    0
    One of the worst rapper of all time!!!! All he raps about is 64 Impalas, Dr.Dre, Compton & NAME DROPS TO F***ING MUCH!!!
  2. carls
    Dec 17, 2006
    0
    wack...
  3. SeanC
    Dec 18, 2006
    0
    This album sucks(totally).
  4. PisitD
    Dec 2, 2006
    9
    He's Real but 50 is sh*t......
  5. BrannonM
    Apr 2, 2007
    9
    Great production, tiring name dropping, great album.
  6. zelalemgbr
    Apr 4, 2007
    10
    men it's can't be determine "Dreeeeeeeeeeeeams"
  7. joshs
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Westkoast is Back! wes wes ya'll.
  8. EmilS
    Dec 3, 2006
    9
    Quite solid. A few songs feels too much like pointless fillers but other than that very satisfying.
  9. GeraldA.
    Jan 2, 2007
    7
    No i'm not your G-unot fan. or F*ck game for name dropping fan. so my review is the best for those like me. the thing i love about this CD its its the first time we hear a westcoast CD (without dr. dre involved) that makes you knod your head. yes he does say jigga more than jay, and yes he loves dre and cherry red 64's. but i suggest u buy it.
  10. WillP.
    Mar 2, 2007
    9
    Surprisingly, this album is incredibly good. I have to admit that I was not a fan at all of The Game's first album (except for the ridiculously good beat on "Dreams"). That being said, either the Game has greatly improved his flow or he just isn't being tainted by 50 Cent and his awful rapping skills or lack thereof. My only two problems are the fact that he still name drops way Surprisingly, this album is incredibly good. I have to admit that I was not a fan at all of The Game's first album (except for the ridiculously good beat on "Dreams"). That being said, either the Game has greatly improved his flow or he just isn't being tainted by 50 Cent and his awful rapping skills or lack thereof. My only two problems are the fact that he still name drops way too much, and the fact that he decided to cover the beat from Public Enemy's absolutely classic "Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos", one of the 10 least-needy-of-a-cover songs ever. Expand
  11. herbc
    Nov 15, 2006
    10
    all the track were hot, but what else can you expect from the game everything he touches blowes up. g-unot cant wait for the next album.
  12. CM
    Jan 10, 2007
    5
    For every sick beat or killer line, there's another instance of Game rhyming a word with... yup, the same word. Dear Game: Dre called. He wants his voice back and says get off his d!@k.
  13. JoeyD
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    your album is way better than 50 cent has ever made. keep doing yo thing
  14. DavidO
    Feb 14, 2007
    10
    This album is the best rap-album on earth!!!!!!!!!!
  15. BarryM
    Jul 23, 2007
    9
    People who discredit this album are either G Unit fan boys or POP music critics. Superb beats, mpre detailed rhymes and an over all triumph, only hampered by the weak track "Bang" and still too much name droppimg.
  16. ajulio
    Nov 14, 2006
    8
    check it out if you want westcoast hip-hop this is it. nate, snoop, dpgc,xzibit and many more. the album is smooth with a very classic gangsta feel. if you are a true fan cop this no doubt.
  17. SteveH
    Nov 14, 2006
    7
    When I thought about it, The Game may have been better off doing this album without Dre and 50's help. This gives him a chance to show how good he can be on his own. I'm sure it made him work that much harder on this album and appreciate the help Dre and 50 gave him-not at good as the last album, but pretty good considering this one was on his own.
  18. AhmedS
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    A lot of the Tracks have different melodies...however many do stay close to the "west coast" rap formula. By far the two songs i enjoy the most on this album are, "Let's Ride" produced by scott storch, and "Too Much" Ft. Nate Dogg. This album has its chron-licks, picthfork didn't give it an 81for no reason. As for the people say its not as good as "The Documentery" because Dre A lot of the Tracks have different melodies...however many do stay close to the "west coast" rap formula. By far the two songs i enjoy the most on this album are, "Let's Ride" produced by scott storch, and "Too Much" Ft. Nate Dogg. This album has its chron-licks, picthfork didn't give it an 81for no reason. As for the people say its not as good as "The Documentery" because Dre and 50 didn't help... That is utter BS. The Game has some amazing producers and features that make this album better then the last, however, the fact is that the style varies heavily (due to the fact the game is trying to reach various audiences) this only makes a few songs prominent to each individual...for some tracks are less/more appealing then others. All in all, if you have G-Unot, and love West Coast rap, this is an album for you. Why the 8? Simply because I felt the album/direction of the game was confused. He tried doing to much, and did not restrict the median of his album. Hence some of the songs are a hit and miss with me. Hope this helped. Expand
  19. JoseL
    Nov 15, 2006
    9
    This is the album of the year either you simpathise with game or not
  20. MusicS
    Nov 15, 2006
    6
    I felt like it was just a bit boring. I've heard it all before a thousand times. I suppose it gets an above average score because the producers are good, and he's keeping the true spirit of the West alive, but on the whole, I'm not that impressed. And he really needs to stop name-dropping. It was novel on his first joint, but now it's just annoying. He literally says I felt like it was just a bit boring. I've heard it all before a thousand times. I suppose it gets an above average score because the producers are good, and he's keeping the true spirit of the West alive, but on the whole, I'm not that impressed. And he really needs to stop name-dropping. It was novel on his first joint, but now it's just annoying. He literally says "Jigga" more than Jay-Z does! The Just Blaze-produced Nas collabo is the high point. Expand
  21. BB
    Nov 16, 2006
    10
    better than 50
  22. MASTAMINDE
    Nov 17, 2006
    9
    Whoa, The Game has really impressed me this time around. While I appreciated The Documentary primarily for its incredibly solid production and generally good guest verses The Game himself had rather weak flow. He had virtually the same pace on each song. On the Doctor's Advocate the solid production is back, but the guests are even better. Verses provided by Snoop Dogg, Kanye West, Whoa, The Game has really impressed me this time around. While I appreciated The Documentary primarily for its incredibly solid production and generally good guest verses The Game himself had rather weak flow. He had virtually the same pace on each song. On the Doctor's Advocate the solid production is back, but the guests are even better. Verses provided by Snoop Dogg, Kanye West, Will.i.am, Kurupt, Nas and Xzibit easily beat anything that could've been provided by 50 Cent, G-Unit, or Eminem. Most importantly though, Games rapping has greatly improved. Lyrically its stronger (though the rampant name dropping is still present) and his flow is smoother and his pacing varied. There are genuine surprising moments like on the song Wouldn't Get Far. Where the Game adapts effortlesslyto any beat provided. All in all a great achievement, the incessant name dropping could be avoided and his rather bloated ego also detract a bit. Nonetheless, easily one of the best rap albums of the year. Expand
  23. durohard
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    if you like gangsta s*** it gets no better than this... the album is hard from begining to end. THE GAME is the king of rap. get you that sticky and follow me down FLORENCE AVE as we pump the king of rap just make sure you wear the right colors and dont get caught slipping..........
  24. AntonN
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    A very great album! Game really had something to prove and on this album and he proves it. His skills go beyond being associated with someone whose already made it(Dr. Dre and 50 cent). GAme is a talented lyricist and creator on his own accord with or without Dr. Dre!
  25. JasonV
    Dec 1, 2006
    10
    I think the Game did a great job with this album. It has sweet beats and clever rhymes. GGGGG Unot!!!
  26. aL.cks
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    You can feel real emotion listening to this album and Game's flow has improved so much. In all, its way better than Jay-Z's KIngdom Come.
  27. Josue
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    Super great album
  28. ZooBar
    Dec 26, 2006
    10
    Solid production, even without dre
  29. GReed
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    Best Rap album of the year, without a question.
  30. andyc
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    good shit.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. It doesn't live up to the nihilistic brilliance of The Documentary... But [The Game] doesn't fall flat on his face, either.
  2. The Game has a lot to prove, but rather than establishing his own style he continues in the west coast tradition, with G-funk's squealing synths and endless references to "the chronic".
  3. Even though "Doctor's Advocate" has its failings, it's a prescription that comes recommended. [18 Nov 2006]