Donuts

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 69
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 69
  3. Negative: 4 out of 69

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 3, 2012
    10
    One of my favorite and best Hip-Hop producers of all time. I love them instrumental album. It's so moving, fun, raw, funky, and jazzy. He's a unique producer (among with Madlib, MF Doom, and RZA). One of my favorite album of all time.

    R.I.P J Dilla
  2. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    This is simply amazing. I don't usually listen to this kind of music but I've learned to appreciate greatness no matter in what form it comes in and this is certainly a great album I've listened to over and over countless times.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    10
    J Dilla's final album is important to any fan of Hip Hop. The album flows incredibly smoothly from start to finish and never has a dull moment. Jay most of these tracks were made while he was in the hospital, He more than likely knew that ''Donuts'' would be the last album he would ever release, with that in Mind he created one of the most important hip hop albums of the decade.
  4. Kash
    Mar 2, 2006
    8
    I've been an avid follower of Jay Dee for a long time now and it saddens me that the world has lost the greatest producer to have ever lived. The guys beats had raw emotion and donuts shows this in full affect. Ive given this album 8 purely because i prefer his older stuff, its still a 10 in comparison to other hip hop out there. RIP Dilla, you'll truely be missed.
  5. 3rDialect
    May 7, 2006
    8
    At first I was really disappointed in this album, mainly because I was expecting a cd full of beats I could use to rap over or learn techniques from. This isn't that kind of album. This should be treated as a dying man's projection of his internal emotions in dealing with an imminent death. James Yancey knew he was going to die, and the more I listen to this album the more it At first I was really disappointed in this album, mainly because I was expecting a cd full of beats I could use to rap over or learn techniques from. This isn't that kind of album. This should be treated as a dying man's projection of his internal emotions in dealing with an imminent death. James Yancey knew he was going to die, and the more I listen to this album the more it seems like an acoustic scream of anguish. He wrote this in hospital and I believe that if you listen to it without expecting 30 bangers or Jay Dilla hip-hop classics then you will appreciate it in a different light - and I don't think that's being sentimental. Expand
  6. TheTruth
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Tyrone B, Jahi D, and Nick J are just trying to make a name for themselves by being ridiculous. What a shame.
  7. FrankB
    Feb 18, 2006
    10
    RIP Dilla!
  8. professorlonghair
    Feb 28, 2006
    9
    Funky use of vocal samples, lovely vibe. Record of year so far.
  9. AkhbajrrP
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    Deep....
  10. L.C.
    Jun 20, 2006
    10
    With the realease of the album, Dilla has joined the Bruce Lee / Tupac club. They were creative geniuses who left us way too soon, but left us with gems that will be cherished 'till the end of time. I think the genius lies in the fact that not only does this album sound good, but it also contains messages to those who loved him and his music, and it contains plenty of creative fodder With the realease of the album, Dilla has joined the Bruce Lee / Tupac club. They were creative geniuses who left us way too soon, but left us with gems that will be cherished 'till the end of time. I think the genius lies in the fact that not only does this album sound good, but it also contains messages to those who loved him and his music, and it contains plenty of creative fodder for the true Djs and or producers to work with. This album deserves 10 for "Two Can Win" alone. This joint is for those who have open minds and appreciate good music, not those who like cornball TRL, hear on the radio until I puke types Expand
  11. mila
    Jun 30, 2006
    10
    this is really a great album, maybe even in the same league as the greatest albums of all time (certainly one of the greatest albums of the last 30-40 years). insane and all over the place, but sweet and sentimental and touching and personal, and the tightest beats ever ever ever. this is really an album that demands multiple listens. the first three times i listened to it, i was kinda this is really a great album, maybe even in the same league as the greatest albums of all time (certainly one of the greatest albums of the last 30-40 years). insane and all over the place, but sweet and sentimental and touching and personal, and the tightest beats ever ever ever. this is really an album that demands multiple listens. the first three times i listened to it, i was kinda disappointed. but once it hit me, i can't get enough of it. pretty much every single track is as near and dear to me as anything can be. this isn't just some instrumental hip-hop album, so don't expect it to be. it's just as much in the tradition of nina simone and stevie wonder as it is in the tradition of eric b. Expand
  12. JGwiz
    Jun 4, 2006
    9
    A very strong album which will be sampled and looped for years to come. Some of the tracks, like Mash, Two can win, Don't Cry, gobstoppers, and more are all fresh, creative, and genius. A pure hip-hop gold mine for any producers that can sample, too.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Feb 18, 2006
    9
    Excellent disc from start to end. Like a funky radio station.
  14. maxk
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    r.i.p. dilla donuts will melt in my deck
  15. Arnist
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    The world has lost a great musician and a pioneer in Jay Dee. It's hard to evaluate the influence he has had with his outstanding producting abilities but they were surely immense. I give this album 10 because it's fantastic. It will surely be one of the 10 best hip hop albums of the year.
  16. AdamR
    Feb 23, 2006
    10
    RIP Dilla. You will be missed.
  17. thatoldsoul
    Mar 22, 2006
    10
    I can't stop won't stop listening to this album
  18. LawrenceP
    Mar 6, 2006
    9
    Short but real sweet, and that's way it works. One of the years best. What a way to sign off, R.I.P.
  19. MikeB
    May 28, 2006
    9
    First off - great album. Beautiful collection of songs that have inspired the entire hip hop genre. Makes me wonder what bullshit hip hop those cats that rated it poorly listen to.
  20. Andrew
    May 4, 2006
    9
    Every now and then, an album like this drops and reminds hip hop of its potential. It's short because there isn't a wasted second. To what Jahi D says below, that the tracks are short reveal that Dilla had ultimate confidence in their ability to rock you head instantly. I'd rather have 31 tracks that finish before I get tired of them than 15 tracks that make me want to hit Every now and then, an album like this drops and reminds hip hop of its potential. It's short because there isn't a wasted second. To what Jahi D says below, that the tracks are short reveal that Dilla had ultimate confidence in their ability to rock you head instantly. I'd rather have 31 tracks that finish before I get tired of them than 15 tracks that make me want to hit the skip button 2 minutes in. There isn't a wasted second on the album, and how many albums can you say that about. Expand
  21. A.R.K.
    Jun 15, 2006
    10
    To the critics, who gave the album a 1 or a 0 on this message board, don't know what they're talking about. I appreciate the next persons opinion just fine, but you just sound like you don't know what you're talking about. Sentimentality is one of the driving forces in all music, good music relates to people and thats what sentimentality and nostalgia do. This album To the critics, who gave the album a 1 or a 0 on this message board, don't know what they're talking about. I appreciate the next persons opinion just fine, but you just sound like you don't know what you're talking about. Sentimentality is one of the driving forces in all music, good music relates to people and thats what sentimentality and nostalgia do. This album was a personal and off-the-cuff moment with the audience with what might be the last time. It was jazzy and improvisational. There was what even seemed like a narrative just through the selection of samples that were used. I think each song was meant for the most important people in Dilla's life on this album, and it's that kind of sentimentality that makes it a success. Go back to collecting Velvet Revolver or something... Expand
  22. EveD
    Feb 17, 2006
    9
    Donuts is such an extraordinary piece of work, it brings tears to my eyes when I think that J Dilla is gone! This album tugs at your very soul and reminds you what the essence of hip-hop is really about. I highly recommend anyone who claims to be a hip-hop aficionado to go and get this album. I anxiously am anticipating his next release due out in April, "The Shining". It is said to be Donuts is such an extraordinary piece of work, it brings tears to my eyes when I think that J Dilla is gone! This album tugs at your very soul and reminds you what the essence of hip-hop is really about. I highly recommend anyone who claims to be a hip-hop aficionado to go and get this album. I anxiously am anticipating his next release due out in April, "The Shining". It is said to be some of his best work to date with 4 definite hits!! Expand
  23. DawnP
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    Brilliant! Donuts should be in the "Top 10" best hip-hop albums of all time. If you understood this man's body of work, you would know that "Donuts" speaks directly to your heart.
  24. HolyParsnip
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    R.I.P Sometimes a mans body of work won't truly reach his audience until long after the fact. The contributions that this man has made, to hip hop, and production, has inspired, and help push a movement. This album is bitter sweet, there won't be another Jay Dee for awhile.
  25. RipJdilla
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    A great man who will truly be missed!
  26. JimmyP
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    I like it...I thought it was a very interesting listen, not the best from J Dilla, Welcome to detroit is a better album, but Donuts isn't a bad album...I like it, and it's getting plenty of play in my cd player...
  27. JonG
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    I don't' know how dilla did it nor do i have any clue about recording and its techniques. neither did i know about his death, but... yes but... the first moment i heard this album i immediately loved it. and as it is with every good album, i didnt "loved" every song the same as earcatchers like waves, airworks, one eleven u-luv or last donut of the night. but after hearing it I don't' know how dilla did it nor do i have any clue about recording and its techniques. neither did i know about his death, but... yes but... the first moment i heard this album i immediately loved it. and as it is with every good album, i didnt "loved" every song the same as earcatchers like waves, airworks, one eleven u-luv or last donut of the night. but after hearing it for some times, especially the earcatchers, i couldn't stop hearing every song of this awesome album day after day after day! its just amazing and touches me in a way just few songs every did. i don't understand the critics in any way if they say "there is no heart in this recycling of music" or "the songs are just short snippets thrown at the listener". YES, they are short snippets thrown at you, YES its made out of samples and all of them make me shudder and shake every time i listen to them. its just music how it should be. soulful, touching your beating heart with of which i cant put in a word. it makes me feel alive, happy, sad and thousand other things at the same time. Expand
  28. ToddS
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    J Dilla's "Donuts" is a delicious treat for any beat junkie. Created on his deathbed, Dilla shows why he is revered as one of hip-hop's all-time greatest producers. RIP Jay Dee and thanks for leaving your listeners with one more bangin' album before your passing.
  29. SamD
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    Like the 'Outro' and 'Intro' imply, this album needs to be put on repeat, and never, ever taken off. I haven't stopped listening for days. Sentimentality? Shame on you guys voting zeros to make a point. My buds and I will put his records on around the house and just sit and listen silently. This record has it.
  30. Nick
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    I loathe rap but listen to this every day without fail. There moments in herein that will leave wondering how, just how.
  31. VincentH
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    Infinitely beautiful and rewarding...and I'm only talking about "Two Can Win", probably the most exciting and amazing song on this album (there are 30 others!!). I regret that I was so late to the game (I've been a Dilla fan for 5+ years now, but I just copped this album a week ago), but I am so glad I picked it up. It's honestly as good as everyone Infinitely beautiful and rewarding...and I'm only talking about "Two Can Win", probably the most exciting and amazing song on this album (there are 30 others!!). I regret that I was so late to the game (I've been a Dilla fan for 5+ years now, but I just copped this album a week ago), but I am so glad I picked it up. It's honestly as good as everyone says...seriously...it's that good. The last album that made me shed a tear was the final Elliott Smith, and I didn't think any kind of music could affect me like that again. Parts of the album were recorded by Dilla when he was on a hospital bed, sick from an incurable disease, which makes the record all that more poignant. It's hands-down the most emotional, honest, and straght-up dopest hip hop release of 2006 by far. As other reviewers have said, Dilla seemed here like he was almost inventing new ways of sampling and new ways of looking at beat production, which makes the record even more sad in a way. The man probably hadn't even made his masterpiece yet...but this is it. Expand
  32. ToluO.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    When we elaborate on the ingenuity of this man, it is impossible to fully cover all grounds. Donuts is merely a justification of his magic. When you hear songs like lightworks, the composition alone is enough to give you the quick jitters, let alone Time: Donut of the Heart. To all Dilla fans, Cherish this album, cause you most likely would'nt get anyone identical in the next "bleak" When we elaborate on the ingenuity of this man, it is impossible to fully cover all grounds. Donuts is merely a justification of his magic. When you hear songs like lightworks, the composition alone is enough to give you the quick jitters, let alone Time: Donut of the Heart. To all Dilla fans, Cherish this album, cause you most likely would'nt get anyone identical in the next "bleak" future. SHINE ON DILLA!!!!! Expand
  33. KevinY
    Sep 3, 2006
    10
    This album is beautiful. J Dilla was the most passionate producer the hip hop community will probably ever know. This album is packed with lots of hidden messages and stuff too. I don't want to give anything away but an example is that each track represents a year of his life that the doctors told him he would live....
  34. MikeM
    Mar 1, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most moving pieces of hip hop music and it's entirely instrumental... Classic - in my top ten best albums ever I own it on wax and cd.
  35. An'DreH.
    Jun 28, 2008
    9
    The CD sounds like a different Jay Dee than usual. Tracks like "Lightworks" prove this. I just love "Mash". Its one of the greatest beats I've heard along with "The Red" and "The Light" (both by Jay Dilla. But, Donuts too me is the perfect project. Its set up perfectly, It has the perfect track titles, and Jay Dee just communicates with us through instrumentals. Keep in mind though, The CD sounds like a different Jay Dee than usual. Tracks like "Lightworks" prove this. I just love "Mash". Its one of the greatest beats I've heard along with "The Red" and "The Light" (both by Jay Dilla. But, Donuts too me is the perfect project. Its set up perfectly, It has the perfect track titles, and Jay Dee just communicates with us through instrumentals. Keep in mind though, that this was made on Jay Dilla's death beath while he was suffering from an incureable sickness!! C'mon now. I can't even watch cartoons the right way when I catch a minor cold. Jay Dilla is the best producer thats ever roamed the earth!! Expand
  36. NVWhite
    Aug 11, 2008
    10
    It was released more than 2 years ago, and I still listen to it daily. This album will still be relevant in 15+ years. How many other recent releases can you say that about?
  37. PaulW
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    I don't really see how anybody can trash this record - just look at it from a production standpoint. Every track is brilliantly crafted, every sample perfectly selected, and all effects like panning and reverb are so well placed. I can understand the feeling that each track is too short, but to me that's one of the bases of Dilla's charm -- his constructions never tire I don't really see how anybody can trash this record - just look at it from a production standpoint. Every track is brilliantly crafted, every sample perfectly selected, and all effects like panning and reverb are so well placed. I can understand the feeling that each track is too short, but to me that's one of the bases of Dilla's charm -- his constructions never tire because they are never overwrought or overloaded, simply the way they need to sound and the length they need to be. While that's kind of an ambiguous statement, I think listening to this album (truly listening -- on repeat) will give anyone with a deep rooted love for music insight into one of the most overlooked and consistently brilliant beatmakers/musicians of his time. If you've slept on the D'angelo, the Tribe stuff, the De La stuff, etc... you might as well do yourself a favor and check this record out and then work your way backwards because it's all great and needs to be heard. Expand
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Free from the constraints of perfunctory pop structure, Dee funnels seemingly dissonant patterns into pulsing tides of harmonious congruence.
  2. It’s entirely too richly tragic and fitting that the man’s last release is the apotheosis of his work, the finest and most representative example of what he contributed to music and, in turn, how music inspired him.
  3. A schizophrenic palate of honeyed soul, downbeat electrix, timeless hip hop and bare-knuckle beats, these 31 tracks (spread over 44 minutes) are packed with triple the hooks – and suffer from attention deficit disorder (to the listener’s benefit).