Donuts - J Dilla aka Jay Dee
Donuts Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Acclaimed hip-hop producer James Yancey released this instrumental disc shortly before his death at the age of 32.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Years from now these "Donuts" will still be just as fresh as the day they first hit the store.
  2. Donuts is a big black pot of sonics, comparable only to Madlib's 2002 effort, Blunted in the Bombshelter, the difference being that this is all original material.
  3. Donuts just might be the one release that best reflects his personality.
  4. Be forewarned: Donuts can be a frustrating tease when the average instrumental clocks in around the one-minute mark. But for those who hold a true appreciation for Dilla and his avoidance of predictable sounds and mainstream beats, Donuts will sound right on track.
  5. 80
    Experiencing multitudes of brief bangers is a rare treat. [Mar 2006, p.113]
  6. The end result is akin to Norman Smith and DJ Shadow sitting in on a RZA-produced session-- spry, voiceless prog-hop by any other name.
  7. Fresh and interesting. [Mar 2006, p.138]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 40
  3. Negative: 3 out of 40
  1. Nov 3, 2010
    10
    This is simply amazing. I don't usually listen to this kind of music but I've learned to appreciate greatness no matter in what form it comes in and this is certainly a great album I've listened to over and over countless times. Collapse
  2. TheTruth
    Jul 29, 2006
    10
    Tyrone B, Jahi D, and Nick J are just trying to make a name for themselves by being ridiculous. What a shame.
  3. HolyParsnip
    Feb 19, 2006
    10
    R.I.P Sometimes a mans body of work won't truly reach his audience until long after the fact. The contributions that this man has made, to hip hop, and production, has inspired, and help push a movement. This album is bitter sweet, there won't be another Jay Dee for awhile. Expand
  4. ToluO.
    May 26, 2007
    10
    When we elaborate on the ingenuity of this man, it is impossible to fully cover all grounds. Donuts is merely a justification of his magic. When you hear songs like lightworks, the composition alone is enough to give you the quick jitters, let alone Time: Donut of the Heart. To all Dilla fans, Cherish this album, cause you most likely would'nt get anyone identical in the next "bleak" future. SHINE ON DILLA!!!!! Expand
  5. JimmyP
    Apr 22, 2006
    9
    I like it...I thought it was a very interesting listen, not the best from J Dilla, Welcome to detroit is a better album, but Donuts isn't a bad album...I like it, and it's getting plenty of play in my cd player... Expand
  6. Nick
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    I loathe rap but listen to this every day without fail. There moments in herein that will leave wondering how, just how.
  7. JahiD
    Apr 10, 2006
    0
    There is nothing worse than when people give in to sentimentality. This album alludes to good ideas but never applies them fully, the end result being a collection of forced and contrived themes. The production and composition of the album occasionally reveal brilliance, but the end result is a repetitive jumble of loops and samples (how many times do we have to hear that Expand

See all 40 User Reviews