User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 59
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 59
  3. Negative: 3 out of 59

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SimonR
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    This album kicks so much ass it's hard to describe. I had to sit on a block of ice after listening to it. Silver Moons is a wonderful opener, and the piano-and-voice bridge is nothing short of sublime. Apollo and the Buffalo is essentially a pop song with some obscure lyrics about Greek God's and some girl named Anna playing the guitar, and it's one of the catchiest This album kicks so much ass it's hard to describe. I had to sit on a block of ice after listening to it. Silver Moons is a wonderful opener, and the piano-and-voice bridge is nothing short of sublime. Apollo and the Buffalo is essentially a pop song with some obscure lyrics about Greek God's and some girl named Anna playing the guitar, and it's one of the catchiest song's Sunset's ever done. You Go On Ahead is awesome. That's about it. Nightingale features some of the best (and most understandable) lyrics Spencer's ever written and it's a big departure from the rest of the album. Dragon's Lair is, without a doubt, the greatest song Spencer's ever written. This thing is huge. It's fucking epic. And even though it's 10 and a half minutes, it flies by and I wouldn't mind it being longer. The only weak song is Paper Lace (and that's weak by Spencer Krug standards, which is still better than most things out there today) - I preferred the Enemy Mine version. But this one's still good.... The only thing I wish they would have done with this album is make it longer. Maybe add that guitar version of Coming to at Dawn they've been playing on tour. That would have been great. But alas, I guess I'll just have to wait for the next Spencer Krug album - it shouldn't be more than a few months. Get it. Expand
  2. Pas
    Aug 30, 2009
    10
    Perfect!
  3. StianS
    Sep 12, 2009
    10
    This album is amazing and it's getting even better for each listening, even after two months!
  4. FredR
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in 2009 so far.
  5. MatthewH
    Jul 10, 2009
    9
    It's a bigger departure from past Sunset records than the critics have let on, but's it's just as great. Pay close attention to the lead guitar playing, because it might be the best thing about the record.
  6. JeffreyE.
    Jul 21, 2009
    10
    My favorite album so far this year....Have listened to this over 25 times!
  7. sharpmath
    Aug 24, 2009
    9
    Well. I never thought I would vote on mc as a user. But I have to say. This album made me realize how amazing Spencer Krug, and more importantly even, Sunset Rubdown is. Before this it was all Spencer, and Spencer is amazing. But this album was the one that, while Spencer still brought it all together, everyone else got to give a bit. 'Silver Moons' is amazing, forget how it Well. I never thought I would vote on mc as a user. But I have to say. This album made me realize how amazing Spencer Krug, and more importantly even, Sunset Rubdown is. Before this it was all Spencer, and Spencer is amazing. But this album was the one that, while Spencer still brought it all together, everyone else got to give a bit. 'Silver Moons' is amazing, forget how it ties into the last song. 'Idiot Heart' was my fave song at first easy. And that "hope you die line" was on par with previous amazing SR lines. But I totally fell in love with "Apollo..." because of the lyrics and the music. But the thing this album did the most for me, is made me realize just how awesome everything is Spencer Krug has done with Sunset Rubdown. Every single song on this album is one of my favorite songs. Expand
  8. RoryC.
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard this year. On par with Wolf Parade's (One of Krug's other bands) last album, but more accessible and hopeful of finding beauty in the world. Hopefully the album that will give Sunset Rubdown the recognition they deserve.
  9. KurtC
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    Exceptional album. This one really surprised me and continues to give me goose bumps while I'll rock out to it. One of the only albums I own with a perfect rating of 100. A must-by and my #1 album of 2009; it also placed at #4 for the decade behind My Morning Jacket, Wilco, and Fleet Foxes to give you some reference for what I'm in to.
  10. BlueMeanie
    Oct 3, 2009
    9
    Wow, as an old school punker around snice the '70's, I go pale when somebody says "The New Bowie' or "neo-glam". However, this is the real thing! I'm amazed that this is a current band. The have the retro chops but simultaneously sound like they dropped in from the future just as Ziggy did. Every song is great. This is a classic. No bull. Classy & sleazy all at once Wow, as an old school punker around snice the '70's, I go pale when somebody says "The New Bowie' or "neo-glam". However, this is the real thing! I'm amazed that this is a current band. The have the retro chops but simultaneously sound like they dropped in from the future just as Ziggy did. Every song is great. This is a classic. No bull. Classy & sleazy all at once which the best rock n' roll always is. Expand
  11. JohnW
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    Outstanding album from start to finish.
  12. JoseC
    Jun 23, 2009
    10
    The best album that I have heard this year.
  13. KymP
    Jun 27, 2009
    9
    Sensational. Krug delivers another unique landscape.
  14. K.L.G
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Fantastic, beautiful, grandiose rock - with a brain, a tortured, poetic heart and a fantasic propulsive rhythm!
  15. GW
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    A great band which normally spins in some other ethereal orbit, deciding to swoop in like a blazing comet into a closer, more accessible orbit..all the better so more of the world can see their unique brand of spectacular, complex, off-kilter progressive pop.
  16. MS.
    Aug 13, 2009
    7
    'Bowiesque' without the pretentiousness of previous albums. There are some solid tracks on here.
  17. GeorgeM.
    Aug 16, 2009
    10
    This is an album with so many layers. You can listen it when lying on bed on the dark or play it loud enjoying the power of chorus and guitars. And after a fwe listens, it becomes even better. In resume, 10.
  18. LucasW.
    Aug 17, 2009
    10
    Oh my god amazing! Song writing at its peak!
  19. ES
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    This album through and through is the best of 2009. You go on ahead (trumpet trumpet II) is undoubtedly my favorite song. At first i liked silver moons the most, but after a couple listens i realized just how epic it is. On par with Shut Up I am Dreaming.
  20. Matthewa
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    Just praying this score holds up. This is the record of the year for me so far. I have always loved Krug and, in many ways, this represents his finest moments yet. He has taken the quirkiness displayed on Random Spirit Lover and the more accessible rock elements from his Wolf Parade output and combined them almost perfectly. The only song that just feels out of place is Paper Lace. It has Just praying this score holds up. This is the record of the year for me so far. I have always loved Krug and, in many ways, this represents his finest moments yet. He has taken the quirkiness displayed on Random Spirit Lover and the more accessible rock elements from his Wolf Parade output and combined them almost perfectly. The only song that just feels out of place is Paper Lace. It has a great second half, but the beginning is awkward and sludgy and it just kind of ruins an otherwise perfect album. Still though, fantastic stuff. Expand
  21. NachoC
    Jun 28, 2009
    10
    Aside from Grizzly Bear's album, Sunset Rubdown's Dragonslayer is by far one of the best this year. Nothing short of magical, literally, magical.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. As carefully crafted as it is, this is the group's most accessible record yet. And it's a damn fine one at that.
  2. It’s another astounding album from a great band and one that we should get much, much more music from for many years to come.
  3. Whatever all this means, Dragonslayer is an album to get your teeth into. As on the final chorus, it's: "a bigger kind of kill". You need this.