Drawing Restraint 9 OST Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enlisted as composer for boyfriend Matthew Barney's latest experimental film (which loosely concerns whales and Japan), Bjork responded with a largely instrumental score. Will Oldham guests.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. It’s certainly another step forwards and upwards for one of our only real musically emotional geniuses.
  2. An album that's inspiring in its ambition.
  3. Though Drawing Restraint 9 is more expansive and abstract than Medúlla, it's in a similarly challenging and rewarding vein.
  4. 70
    Beauty comes in all forms, even if it might be over our heads. [Oct 2005, p.76]
  5. Björk’s biggest drawback, then, is that while “Holographic Entrypoint” is an enlightening rarity, most of Björk’s fans will find it boring. Very, very boring.
  6. Haunting as the results may be, they are distinctly lacking in Bjork's own musical personality and her greatest asset: her inimitable voice. [8 Sep 2005, p.112]
  7. Children moan, accordions groan and Bjork's disembodied voice occasionally growls into earshot. [Sep 2005, p.114]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. JacobD
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This album is beautiful, haunting, powerful, and most of all, essentially Bjork. The best song is Storm by far.
  2. AntonR
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Abstract ,this soundtrack creates the space , which is set to be never covered by any human being. It takes an effort to understand, but in Abstract ,this soundtrack creates the space , which is set to be never covered by any human being. It takes an effort to understand, but in return it rips you out of this world, at least for 11 tracks of it. Collapse
  3. LeonardoF
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    breathtaking abstract music. "ambergris march" and "storm" are the highlights.
  4. AlanS
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    Some truly beautiful and poignant moments. Bonnie Prince Billy is amazing on Gratitude. Didn't quite like the length of the chanting Some truly beautiful and poignant moments. Bonnie Prince Billy is amazing on Gratitude. Didn't quite like the length of the chanting bit, interesting but far too long. Expand
  5. ClifC
    Mar 16, 2009
    8
    It's obvious she is one of the most accomplished, talented and original artists that music has always known. She is, for me, everything It's obvious she is one of the most accomplished, talented and original artists that music has always known. She is, for me, everything that I've just said. This is my humble opinion. This is her worse album, but hey! If anybody else could pretend to have an album like this creative and good as his/her/their worse album... they'd definitely lie! Björk is a pure genius, that's all. Some sounds may be hard to stomach... and I can understand but the facts are here: this is art and greedy mainstream music lovers are not invited listening to this. Björk invites and transports the listener into a surrealistic but down-to-earth (at the same time) world and landscape. The mix of very ancient japanese chants and ultra-modern sounds is really powerful. Standout tracks: "Ambergris March", "Storm" and "Gratitude". Expand
  6. DwightM
    Sep 9, 2005
    8
    Bjork's soundtrack is very admirable work. This is a side project, so its all experimental . Those expecting Bjork maybe be Bjork's soundtrack is very admirable work. This is a side project, so its all experimental . Those expecting Bjork maybe be dissappointed, she only appears in a few tracks. I would reccommend this to fans only. Very similiar to "Medulla". Expand
  7. FilipeO
    Aug 29, 2005
    7
    Nobody will waste time listening to this record. "Gratitude", "Storm" or "Ambergris March" are wonderfull "songs" (if you can call them that Nobody will waste time listening to this record. "Gratitude", "Storm" or "Ambergris March" are wonderfull "songs" (if you can call them that way...). But I can't feel the same enthusiasm for this record as I did for "Medúlla", "Homogenic" or maybe even "Selmasongs". Expand

See all 13 User Reviews