Drums And Guns Image
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The slowcore trio (including new bassist Matt Livingston) reunites with producer Dave Fridmann.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. It’s still identifiably Low, but richer and more diverse than before.
  2. I doubt Low fans who've held on this long will rebel against these new textures, more the way they're employed-- the band has added an almost disconcerting levity, and subtracted the gentleness.
  3. At times, it can be a difficult piece of work and its dark themes may require a few spins to grow on the listener. Irrespective, Drums and Guns is a fine piece of work, Low's best since Things We Lost in the Fire.
  4. The trio have discovered a few new sonic tricks, but it's the celestial duel-vocals of Parker and Sparhawk which continue to ensure that Low always reach such beautiful highs.
  5. Some of the most expressive tracks of Low's career. [Apr 2007, p.57]
  6. It’s not quite the doom-laden disaster that provisional plays suggest but neither is it an easy-to-recommend addition to the Low catalogue.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. RichardH
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    Each Low album is a new experience. Very few of their albums sound 'the same', but each is undeniably "Low". This album continues their experiments in sound by going in a completely opposite direction from their last album. On "Great Destroyer" they went full on distortion and lush atmospherics. Here they've stripped their music to the very bone. The voices are honest, the production is sparse. With the introduction of more complex and more skittering drum patterns and the re-introduction of looped samples their sound has taken yet another turn. It's as though they've combined all their knowledge and experience to craft yet another signature sound. They've forgotten the distortion pedals of Destroyer and crafted another spacial realm for their sound to exist in. It's an enjoyable and rewarding listen. Expand
  2. RuthV
    Mar 28, 2007
    10
    Incredibly progressive. Spot-on commentary regarding wartime.
  3. mleee
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    Some of the most amazing, haunting music I've ever heard. I absolutely love it and cannot stop listening to it.
  4. IanM
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    Fourteen years after their inception, Low continue to slowly but surely unfurl new elements of what would have seemed a myopically limited palate. Stripping down to the bone on most tracks, perhaps beyond on others, Low move not quite so slow as spartan, but the fire here is more convincing than on 'The Great Destroyer' because of its deep, smoldering burn. Amongst the bands best three albums, along with 'Secret Name' and 'Trust'. The production methods will be divisive for some, turning away the last of the rockist fans who wanted Low to stay frozen aesthetically in 1995; but likely to win new fans amongst the non-rock-oriented cognoscenti, if there's any way they'll let themselves listen and ignore the "indie rock" pigeonholing that never really fit. Not quite perfect, but exciting as both a risk and a reward. Expand
  5. Kyle
    May 2, 2007
    8
    No weaknesses in this album, pretty solid.
  6. RickH
    Apr 17, 2007
    8
    After many many listens, on headphones and on a home stereo, I still don't get the point of putting all the vocals in the right channel. And I still don't get some of the things Fridman did on the new CYHSY album either, like basically destroying the first track to the point of being unlistenable. I've had the chance to see Low perform material from Drums and Guns four times now live and within that live context, these songs are some of my favorites. Murder, Sandinista. There is some very very strong material here. But on the album, there's so much bitterness and emptiness, that it's a painful experience. The production takes these songs, which are dark and frought with anxiety and makes them even more sinister by taking out all the warmth that comes across on most Low albums and is ever present during a live show. I'm an advocate of production being an art in itself, but Fridman really puzzles me at this point. He almost seems to sabotage beautiful songs out of spite. I love noise bands, I love experimentalism, I love the avant-garde, but sometimes a song should be given a chance. Expand
  7. BobM.
    Jun 9, 2007
    4
    A huge disappointment. The production sounds like the earliest stereophonic vinyl discs, where instruments and voices were placed at the extremities of the sound stage, leaving a sucked out centre stage. When listening to the tracks, through high quality headphones, music and lyrics take second place to the "arty-farty"electronica. My verdict: remix and Low will have a little masterpiece on their hands. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews